Google Maps with Navigation for Android now in M’sia

The latest update for Google Maps for Android mobile phones and tablets, officially rolled out yesterday, now offers turn-by-turn navigation with voice guided driving direction in Malaysia. A major refresher, the update encompasses of a thorough visual overhaul while introducing more features.

For us motorists the biggest news is the new Navigation (Beta) function. Critically it uses mobile data to gather traffic info, taking into account road congestions and other delays to offer alternate routes to get you to your destination as quickly as possible. With dynamic, on-the-fly rerouting also on offer, it operates much like the popular, equally free-to-use (and now Google-owned) Waze app, really.

Google Maps can be useful to public transport users too, as it can map out all the possible routes using a combination of buses, LRT and Komuter lines, offering the suggested arrival time as well as fare prices for each choice. You can also fine-tune the search to your preferred parameters (least walking, minimal bus use, among others) as well as set your own depart time to plan ahead.

The entire user interface has been revamped, using a new vector-based map that looks and feels better and smoother in operation. There are default, satellite and Google Earth (now fully integrated into Google Maps) viewing options too. The search function (for addresses, point of interests, etc.) has been given a Malaysian focus, and you can also access user generated reviews and pictures while searching.

Google Maps version 7.0 runs on Android 4.0.3 and above, while version 6.14.4 (also with Navigation) require Android 2.1+. Equivalent iOS versions will be made available soon.

For a more in-depth look, check out our sister site TechAttack.my’s coverage on the latest Google Maps for Android update here.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• shawal on Jul 11, 2013 at 11:04 am

Xcellent news

• dididi on Jul 11, 2013 at 11:43 am

Nice app….been google map user since android invent ….new update just polish it good into better^^

• Nice apps. With real time traffic navigation, is it meant to take over waze’s functions since google has recently acquired waze? It will be interesting to see how google positions google maps and waze alongside each other

• Painter on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:56 pm

Google Nav against Waze?

• Both apps owned by Google. It makes no difference for which side is doing better

• drBirdie on Jul 12, 2013 at 1:31 am

Just tested the app using same familiar destination, Google map estimated 22min, whereas Waze 10min. Waze is the correct one. So gonna stick with waze atm.

• My google map still ver 6.14.4 on android 4.2.1

• stealth on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:19 pm

finally avail in Malaysia! I waited long for this

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Jul 14, 2013 at 10:27 am

Google just bought Waze to accelerate their development of GPS and Navigation aids….

Basically, Google Navigation took so long time to develop to remote areas, whereas Waze oredi had the platform running, and a successful one i must say….

But, always the consumer benefits……

• Finally Google Nav on Sep 17, 2013 at 6:14 pm

Use Waze the other day, notice that it was not accurate most of the time and I hate those bubbles. Reported jam at J. Sultan Ismail but not that many cars on the road. Suspected it may be using historical data and assume that it will be jam during rush hour. Google Nav more reliable. It was showing yellow, means not that jam. Waze map coverage is bad at most areas out-skirt of KL. Jinjang, Cheras, etc. Google far more better. I’ll stick with Google Nav for now.

• I want have a try

• Ahmad fauzi bin yahya on Feb 13, 2016 at 9:03 am

Kg bukit gading 17500 tanah merah kelantan