Bigger Range Rover Evoque XL planned for 2016

rr-evoque

The highly successful Range Rover Evoque is set to get a larger variant called Evoque XL, according to Autocar UK, citing a report by analysts at Bernstein Research. Expected to be launched in 2016, the new model, codenamed L560, will slot in between the current Evoque and the Range Rover Sport.

The report adds that Evoque XL will share the same aluminium platform with a new family of compact Jaguar models. All will be made in the same new facility that is currently being built at Solihull. The Bernstein report suggest that the Evoque XL could achieve sales of up to 80,000 units per year, and could become the most profitable model of the five body styles (four Jags and Evoque XL) planned for this new platform.

The lightweight aluminium underpinnings, combined with the new ‘Hotfire’ four-cylinder family of engines currently being developed by JLR, should combine to make the L560 Range Rover’s most economical model. With the Evoque XL onboard, Range Rover will have a full house for the medium term, starting from the Evoque to a long-wheelbase Range Rover that is coming soon.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Black Dog on Oct 16, 2013 at 9:29 pm

They sure will capitalise on the success of Evoque.

My dream…my baby!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 17, 2013 at 9:24 am

This car got bad RV. You want to sell, nobody wants to buy. That is why 1 year old Evoque is half the price. People know it is a problematic car that breaksdown too often. In UK, it is No 1 most unreliable car…proven in many surveys.

• everybody now please assist Sam Loo campaigning toyota sales since now we are heading to year end. lol

• michelin on Oct 22, 2013 at 5:36 pm

Paul, can you banned this guy please? always creates unhealthy conversation in lots of your posts.

Guys, hit LIKE if you are with me please.

• worthy on Dec 23, 2013 at 10:28 pm

Just admit it,you are poor to afford one meh

• since its affordable. they dont concern about “RV”perhaps. thinking how fantasy i get a new range rover and bang your car and i can simply just pay for summons and leave it to insurance. maybe u hv to cycling for work? haha just a joke.take it easy

• Autohead on Oct 17, 2013 at 10:57 am

@SamShowedMeTheHilux, i think u rather walk or get urself an old car for 1K which u can forget about RV.

Get a life man … always on RV… dont tell u wanna sell after 1 year of using it… at the end of the day everything depreciates…

get a life man rather than looking at the downside of everything….

• No worries, sir.. he just acting on behalf of our dear Mr. Sam Loo. Don’t blame him.

• west end boys on Oct 18, 2013 at 1:02 am

I rather they change the engine,the current 240hp engine is too slow for a vehicle that large

• gOOsh on Oct 18, 2013 at 9:10 am

when grey importer bring in the recond evouque, maybe then will be affordable for me to buy this beauty…
    biasa la… budget…