RON97 price drops by 10 sen to RM2.75 today

photo-3

The price of RON97 was quietly dropped by 10 sen effective today, bringing the price of the premium fuel down to RM2.75 per litre. This decrease comes just over two months after the last price change, where the price of the fuel was increased by 15 sen from RM2.70 per litre. RON95 remains at RM2.10 per litre and diesel at RM2.00 per litre. Unlike RON95 and diesel, the pricing of RON97 is minimally subsidised and claimed to be derived by market forces, so price changes happen more often than RON95, and diesel.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Promitus on Nov 14, 2013 at 7:05 am

RON95 being used more than RON97. Gov need to spend more money bcoz of the consumption of RON95. Smart move BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 45
    • Gov just wanna get c****** support…since many of them kaya2 n control economy..n making major etnic suffer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 56
      • If the others are so kaya….then why major ethnic also also suffer? Bodoh punya analysis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
        • I do not need to explain…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
          • Nothing to Subsidise! on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:55 pm

To all those fools who believe in the word subsidy, there is no such thing as subsidy lah in the first place. We produce our own oil. There is nothing to subsidise. If you grow kacang panjang and bendi in your backyard for your family to eat, you cannot go around and tell people I am eating subsidised kacang panjang and bendi.

Look at the Sultan of Brunei. He believes charity begins at home. He gives his rakyat first very cheap petrol, then the rest he sells it overseas at market rates. We have hundred times more oil and reserves than Brunei. Infact, ask many oil consultants, Malaysia has one of the richest reserves of oil in the world! We also produce the highest grade of oil in the world, but that is exported to first world countries. We don’t see it. In fact Petronas discovered the largest oil field int he world last year but that news was quickly covered up. What this means is that, Petronas might be the richest oil company in the world. But of course, the money Petronas makes all goes into crony pockets. Yes, we may have the largest discovery of oil field in the entire world, but we rakyat will NEVER see a cent of it.

So, to all those fools out there who is talking about subsidy, there is no such thing lah. We don’t buy oil. We mine our own oil. What we mine, we cannot subsidise. I hope our Government can become like Brunei government, think about their rakyat first. Don’t compare with Singapore also. Singaporeans earn 5x more than Malaysians. Their GDP per capita is 5x more than us. That means if you are earning RM5000, the same Singaporean in the same position is earning RM25,0000. With that kind of purchasing power, even RM5 per litres also is no big deal lah. Please lah people of Malaysia, don’t be stupid and believe the bull the government tells you. They are so clever to publish in the media the prices of oil all over the world. But they fail to tell you, all over the world, they earn far more than what we earn. To make matters worse, our ringgit is so low and our currency is like Japanese Banana money. Singapore dollar now 2.5, expected to hit 2.8 soon. When we travel overseas, Malaysians are like pariah cause our money is nothing globally. Whilst the Singaporean or the Bruneian is having latte in a posh restaurant in Europe, the kutu who goes overseas from Malaysia is having maggi mee in his budget hotel room. Why? Because our money is so small and have no global meaning.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 21
          • Obviously on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Sorry to say, Mr. Nothing to Subsidise!, but your brain failed you.

You yourself said that our mined oil reserves are exported to first world countries. Thus, where is our oil coming from? It’s imported, of course. They’re selling good quality oil for high price and buying lesser quality oil for lower price (They openly teach this in school as part of the curriculum). This should help government revenue but government spending far exceeds what revenue they can generate…

Still, what is mined up also has a cost. It isn’t as simple as “I found this crap in the ground so it’s free for me!”. You are forgetting the cost involved in the exploration and production of said crap as well as the value that it has on the international market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 47
          • farizY on Nov 15, 2013 at 8:52 am

Your ignorance never cease to amaze me. While the global oil price is currently low, Malaysia as a nett oil exporter (yes, we export more than half of what we use), yet our oil price remained one of the highest among oil producing nations. What does that say, besides clear signs of poor governance.
            Besides, if ron97 goes down, logically, so to will ron95. Thanks BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • But the cronies are oso from the major ethnic. Actually G planned to make everyone suffer. Just that major ethnic like where u from tend to rely on the G. Im not saying u but ur community. Thats sad. I have Malay frens and they are awaken to realized they are being cheated. The minorities like where am I from dont give a shit about the G. Whatever G does, we still can survive by any means.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 24
        • haa…haa…hu…hu…
          do not be too sarcastic and over ly optimistic. check your stup id.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
        • AutoFrenz on Nov 14, 2013 at 1:15 pm

Why must everything be turned into a racial slur…watch your mouth dude…just don’t generalise everything…mind your manners thank you…the so-called minorities also rely on subsidies…petrol, sugar, education, you name it…oh please tired and bored of this immature accusation…grow up…don’t be like crying babies…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
        • Hellhole on Nov 15, 2013 at 1:03 am

If you can survive stop fXXXing complaining. I am a bloody ethnic majority (not major ethnic – Your English is damned bloody pathetic). I don’t rely on govt. I probably pay more income tax then you circa RM150K a year.

• kzm, stop being a racist bigot and turn this topic into a racial one. We all know that it is not one race that controls the country and economy. It is CRONIES (of all races) that run this country to the ground, using race card to keep dividing the ppl (exactly like what kzm just did) and continue to suck the country’s coffers dry. So ppl, please wake up and reject racism, reject CRONIES (whether M, C or I) and save Msia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
        • kambinganas on Nov 16, 2013 at 12:00 am

Terima kasih for your komen. Kepada orang kita yang bangang, kembangkan minda anda. Jangan jadi pak turut mana-mana pihak.

• chinz on Nov 15, 2013 at 10:59 am

dear Mr Obviously! i think ur mind even worst then Mr Nothing to Subsidise(i support Mr Nothing to Subsidise) maybe paralyze! think before u say anything,malaysia is world number 27th producing oil country! pls do some research before bark at here!

• Drive Your Own Car To Langkawi NOW! on Nov 14, 2013 at 7:09 am

Finally, the price of the goods will come down much more than 10cents…….IN YOUR DREAM!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 10
  • Confirm Utusan will post big big headlines at front page for kampung people to see… Results: Betul2 bagus BN ini, memang rakyat didahulukan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 39
    • R u sure…what i see in front page of utusan is bout hudud..n their online portal berita terkini is on china provocation at spratly island..maybe i read wrong utusan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 25
  • Sam Loo on Nov 14, 2013 at 7:58 am

So what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • Painter on Nov 14, 2013 at 8:15 am

Oil has been trading around 92 – 94 dollars per barrel. Down from 110 dollars since early this year. The US domestic producers are ramping up production.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • wiralution on Nov 14, 2013 at 8:17 am

Damn. It doesn’t affect me. I was hoping it was ‘Minyak petrol rakyat 1Malaysia’ Ron95. In my dreams, I guest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Bongcs on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:27 am

Minyak masak 1Malaysia got higher possibility

• noname on Nov 14, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Minyak Petrol Rakyat 1Malaysia Ron95 – RM1.00 per litre. hahaha… (MPR1M) new gov policy.

• Low Budget on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:58 pm

You can only buy bottled drinking water for RM1 per litre.

• Ron95 price without subsidy is d same as Ron97. Then y not subsidise Ron97 n abolish Ron95????? F BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 12
  • will prices of goods go down? prftt..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • kadajawi on Nov 14, 2013 at 8:46 am

Nice. Helping rich people and Singaporeans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • ronnie on Nov 14, 2013 at 10:20 am

i think it helps thai ppl tooo…sawadeekarp

• _xXx_ on Nov 14, 2013 at 10:53 am

http://www.thestar.com.my/story.aspx?file=%2f2012%2f3%2f17%2fsarawak%2f10935213

Malaysian are no better. Unless you tell me Miri ppl are not Malaysian.

• Mirikia on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:40 pm

I am from Miri. We used to pump petrol in Brunei long long time ago but nowadays we see no purpose of it anymore since crossing the bridge (1-way) before immigration will take RM10 and petrol station in Brunei charged foreign vehicles $1/litre..

• Low Budget on Nov 14, 2013 at 10:03 pm

Some one MiriKias might want to start smuggling Petrol business from Brunei.
          Just like the smuggling beers business, went to Miri market sometime ago and saw many ‘mabok’ kakis there drinking very cheap smuggled beers, cheers!

• _xXx_ on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:07 am

morale of the story is – anyone will buy from the cheapest source, not just the S’porean, the rich, Mirikias or Malaysians. It’s human nature so stop blaming anyone…

• Unfortunately Pakatan doesn’t understand that and wanted to make Malaysian fuel even cheaper so that fuel smugglers can make even more money. So while BN are thief, Pakatan are idiot.

• _xXx_ on Nov 14, 2013 at 8:55 am

[kneeling down]”THANK YOU, THANK YOU…(50X)”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Naik 20 sen turun 10 sen saja?

• abuya123 on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:24 am

Aiya, minyak turun pun komplen. Korang mau petrol turun sampai RM1/liter ke? Hahaha….

Klu aku, aku nak free terus. Alasan sebab negara pengeluar minyak, hasil negara so aku patut dapat free.

Wake up my dear friend…. no matter what you complain, you’re not prime minister. Choose political party that you trusted? Again, you’re not prime minister

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
  • perodua on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:27 am

Unsubsidized petrol now is RON 95 RM2.73 vs RON 97 RM2.75.

• La Tok Amat Masalah … haiya onli 97 ka … macam mana itu 95 atau itu lisel? manyak olang pakai … ma

• parang on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:38 am

Petrol shd not be subsidised. nuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Zapruder on Nov 14, 2013 at 9:57 am

Drop 10 sen today, increase 20sen 2 or 3 months later.. wayang kulit je ni..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Menteri Minyak on Nov 14, 2013 at 10:00 am

hahaha…I naik 20sen lepas tu turun 10sen….gembira?? Screw you lah! A G that runs by a bunch of Morons & idiots!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • ron95 user on Nov 14, 2013 at 10:20 am

ape ni??? for what reduce ron97 price?!! the quote that “kalau petrol mahal, jgn pakai kereta” is suit for those who are using this expensive petrol, not the ron95 users.. also ron97 is where we sold to foreigners..

• Gov already said before that..ron97 is control market driven price that will be revise for every 2-3 month cycle..u clearly can see the trend may (down 20 sen to rm2.70), august (up 15 sen to rm2.85) n now november (down 15 sen to rm2.70)..n u must expect ron97 revise in feb2014

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • why not BRING DOWN the price of RON95 by 10 sen and RAISE the price of RON97 by 10 sen?? Rich Rakyat DIDAHULUKAN…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • Pee End on Nov 14, 2013 at 10:47 am

BN Y U DROP D PRICE?

Should just keep increase and increase then include GST lah, baru gahmen got more money for more project, more kroni can songlap more together! Wawasan 2020!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
  • Marcy on Nov 14, 2013 at 10:54 am

Well, good news for me!.

• Tokong on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:40 am

Finally those vote for BN has something to brag than always kena.

• 中山郎 on Nov 14, 2013 at 12:20 pm

good news to fd2r owners! yeah!

• motorhead on Nov 14, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Turun also complain2.. Bla bla.. You should complain why you re born.. Xde kerja lain..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • john, i think your life has been deprived, do not by what or who, otherwise you will not have this kind of attitude. wake up, open up and see the real thing.

• Denaihati on Nov 14, 2013 at 2:40 pm

this is good, even though only sometime use ron97.

• Lilian Chee on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:57 pm

who cares? drop 95 please!

• Rich ppl on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:22 pm

Rich ppl becoe richer! poor ppl become poorer! yay!
    G sucking money faster bofore they runtuh

• Well done government! Rakyat didahulukan! I love BN!

• heybadigol on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:04 pm

Yahooo… Can take out the Ferrari from the garage :) Just kidding. I mean, can fill up my cheap overpriced car with some 97 goodness.

• Just opinion on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:08 pm

If you are using Ron97 it really doesnt matter if the price goes lower by 10cents or up another 10cents. Its still expensive anyway, and Doesnt effect many people. Only effects the rich.

• norman on Nov 14, 2013 at 6:28 pm

Nothing to subsidised:Are u sure Singaporeans earn 5x more than Malaysian?Singaporeans indeed is suffering mind you cause lots of foreigners take up their jobs and positions..Im a Singaporean and my spouse is a Malaysian so stop making a clown out of yourself please and do you know how much is the house and car price here?How much is the tax,gst etc?Our cleaners and odd job workers still earning less than 1k as basic pay mind you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • BN Cybertrooper on Nov 15, 2013 at 4:02 pm

Thank you Norman, you will be promoted soon.

• pelam on Nov 16, 2013 at 5:18 am

HOW TO MAKE MALAYSIA RICH
    1. stop subsidising petrol to lessen the no. of cars on the road –> reduce global warming
    2. reduce the ministers salary, especially the 3 special envoy to US, china and india. we r paying these 3 envoy RM 1 million a year.

• jib kangkung on Oct 02, 2014 at 11:26 pm

najib should announce fuel is free