Lambo ends Gallardo production, teases replacement

Last_Lamborghini_Gallardo_

The last Lamborghini Gallardo ever – a Rosso Mars LP570-4 Spyder Performante – has rolled off the production line in Sant’Agata. It’s the 14,022th Gallardo made, making the V10 star the company’s longest-running model to date. In fact, the junior supercar accounts for nearly half of Lamborghini’s all-time production total since its foundation in 1963.

Wasting no time at all, the Italian sportscar maker has opened a teaser microsite for the Gallardo’s replacement – widely tipped to be called the Cabrera. The site (www.hexagonproject.com) shows an Aventador-style flip-up-and-press push start button, and will play a short burst of the engine sound – but only if you share it on your Facebook first.

Lamborghini_Teaser_

No official details on the Gallardo-replacing model yet, but expect it to have a 5.2 litre V10 engine with more power than its current peak of 570 PS. The latest Audi R8’s seven-speed S tronic transmission should be making an appearance too, making it the first Santagatesi supercar to feature a dual-clutch ‘box.

More weight-saving carbon-fibre – using some of the tech showcased by the sub-tonne Sesto Elemento Concept – would mean that the Cabrera’s 0-100 km/h time should be closer to three rather than four seconds. Top speed? Anything above 320 km/h would be a good guess.

2014 Lamborghini Cabrera

2012 Lamborghini Gallardo MLE

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• spock1976 on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:55 pm

Sigh. Cant even afford the used lambo.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 27, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Stupid car. People pay so much for an undisguised VW engine. Buyers are so stupid. You want real car, its Ferrari. Lamborghini is a VW in disguise. Wolf in sheep clothing.

My Hilux is far better than this junk. You see Lambo vs Hilux in a 1KM race in KL, the winner is Hilux. Why? Every hump and bump, the lambo must slow down so much. Sometimes, 10 seconds just to clear a bump/speed breaker.

My Hilux is long gone after that. Bodoh, buy sports car but drive like tortoise in KL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 50
      • TheDrift on Nov 28, 2013 at 1:22 am

Wow, comparing a lambo to a hilux. You sir, bring stupidness to a whole new level!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • brownkids on Nov 28, 2013 at 3:23 am

and who owned Ferrari or maybe Bentley or Porsche or Rolls Royce . . .

get a life

• BLUR SOTONG on Nov 27, 2013 at 3:31 pm

New soup , old ingredients.
    Chassis shared , suspension shared , drive train shared ,only interior and exterior and most importantly the Badge is a Raging bull.
    The rest is Re – packaged Audi R8 .
    The Lamborghini has lost it Soul and principle of the Original when VW take over .
    Perhaps only Ferrari is the Real espresso left in Italy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • fatchicken on Nov 27, 2013 at 3:41 pm

you r right! give us free also we dun wan!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
      • thecarguy on Nov 27, 2013 at 4:38 pm

I think you are the only one in this world that dun even want a free lambo. How rich are you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • You never knew any sarcasm right?

• brownkids on Nov 28, 2013 at 3:25 am

base one the fatchicken ‘like or dislike’ stats, seem like many of the commentator don’t even know sarcasm . . .

• brownkids on Nov 28, 2013 at 3:28 am

and that how VW Groups success . . . . its not a charity company, any idea as long it generate profit and cut cost.

• gOOsh on Nov 27, 2013 at 4:44 pm

even product End of Life we can’t afford to buy…
    just look & see only… siighhh…

• Dream car on Nov 28, 2013 at 12:11 am

If it’s affordable to everyone, it won’t be so special and desirable anymore right?

• benzs on Nov 28, 2013 at 9:16 am

At least lambo knew how to end production rather than continue its old model. How bout Proton? Never ending model for so long. If cant afford lambo, look for fake 1 in US. Cost around 30usd, roughly 60k plus plus in Malaysia. Solution to all lambo dreamers.