formula e malaysia

The Malaysian round of the inaugural 2014/2015 FIA Formula E Championship season was officially launched by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak yesterday. Putrajaya is set to host the second round of the Formula E season on October 18, 2014, after the opening race in Beijing.

The event, held at the Putrajaya International Convention Centre (PICC), also witnessed the signing of the city agreement between Tan Sri Aseh Haji Che Mat for the city of Putrajaya and Datuk Seri Johann Young, founding partner and investor of series promoters Formula E Holdings.

“I believe this event will be a very significant event, not only from the perspective of this race exclusively for electric cars, but for Malaysia it is a testimony of your confidence in us hosting this momentous event. Electric cars are the cars of the future and represent the next generation of vehicles for the global community,” Najib said at the launch.

2014-15 formula e provo calendar

The launch saw the Spark-Renault SRT_01E Formula E single-seater on display, only the second time the fully-electric race car has been shown in Asia. Guests were also treated to a sneak preview of the proposed Putrajaya circuit layout, which incorporates many of the city’s main landmarks.

The 2014/2015 race calendar will incorporate ten city venues spanning four continents. Aside from Putrajaya and Beijing, the cities involved in the championship are Hong Kong, Punta del Este in Uruguay, Buenos Aires, Los Angeles, Miami, Monte Carlo, Berlin and London.

Ten teams, each with two drivers, will go head-to-head in the series, which will use the SRT_01E car. All Formula E races will feature a free practice session, qualifying session, one-hour race and live music concert taking place in a single day – this being Saturday – in order to minimise disruption to the city and its surrounding areas.