DRB-Hicom Autofest 2014 @ EON Complex Glenmarie – eight car brands and two bike brands gathered

DRB-Hicom Autofest 2014-34

The DRB-Hicom Autofest 2014 gathers all automotive brands which the conglomerate has an interest in – Proton, Lotus, Volkswagen, Audi, Honda, Mitsubishi, Isuzu, Suzuki, Modenas, Can-Am and Tata are all displaying their wares at the EON Complex in Glenmarie, Shah Alam this weekend.

It’s like a mini motor show, with eight car brands, two motorcycle brands and one commercial vehicle brand all under one roof. We hear that there are good deals in store, and there’s a lucky draw with a Proton Saga SV as the main prize, if you need extra motivation.

We dropped by yesterday afternoon and found a 2014 Honda City at Honda’s booth, publicly displayed in white for the first time. Click here to see the pics, or go see it in the metal and tell us what you think.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• The chicks!!!!! woohoo!!!

• norman on Mar 01, 2014 at 11:45 am

Sidenote:Modenas should venture into 250cc,650cc market if they were to compete into Motorcycle share..Since they rely heavily into Kawasaki and SYM engines why not use the Ninja parallel twin cylinders 250cc and 650cc for their new naked sport/cruiser sport and supersport models?

• Chris on Mar 03, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Modenas uses SYM engine? Hmm, they should re-create the Jaguh using the 250cc single :D

In fact, I think they should venture into street/sport motorcycles, fuel tank between legs and all. Start from a small one and slowly move onto something bigger, allowing aspiring riders to grow together with the brand.

There’s a rather big chance young rider stick to the same brand when upgrading bikes. Think I read that somewhere about how Kawasaki and Honda is trying to cultivate future riders with their 250cc bikes.

• Albert Lee on Mar 01, 2014 at 11:48 am

Do you know why DRB(belonging to the great Arab mamak)
    has interests in 10 other vehicle brands?
    SIMPLE.The answer is ” Pump money into loss making Proton ,from other marques that church out profits.”
    The Arab tycoon controls almost everything from rice to sugar to double tracking.Proton is his COMPULSORY NATIONAL SERVICE.Cancer striken Protong is unprofitable,its nobody”s child.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 70
    • Brayokmokmong on Mar 01, 2014 at 7:33 pm

Boooo…..Albert Lee jealous..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 34
      • Albert Lee on Mar 01, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Mr.MokMong, what is there to be jealous?
        Jealous of the Mamak’s achievements?He is fleecing u Mr.Dumbo, by controlling so many entities in our boleh land just because he has the right connections.The price of sugar is raised while world prices have decreased.Tell me ,are u so dumb n naive not knowing that monopolies raise prices of essentials for the rakyat to suffer?
        Why should jealousy arise,at all?You should put a stop to monopolistic MEGACRONIES.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 36
        • salambangi on Mar 01, 2014 at 10:12 pm

What does robert control? What about vincent tan? Have u forgotten Ananada Krishnan? Dumbus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 18
          • albert lee on Mar 02, 2014 at 7:26 pm

We r talking about Proton,the mamak is forced to take over.Other tycoons like the anaconda have to give something in return after obtaining so much from another mamak.It not about race.It is about GREED and CRONYISM.Why are u so scared of people criticising yr race,if u can stand tall without gomen bailouts?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • cm8 turbo on Mar 02, 2014 at 4:07 am

wht rank r u..private or sargeant?

• FamilyControlPKR on Mar 02, 2014 at 12:34 pm

DRB cannot go far.. malaysia is control by severals chinese billionaire maaa.. all monopoly punya..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Savvy88 on Mar 01, 2014 at 8:07 pm

Wrong facts la bro.. Proton is one of the most Profitable subsidiaries. silap2 duit proton yg kene kebas backup sub brand lain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 26
      • Low Budget on Mar 02, 2014 at 9:48 am

Why do the Gomen ‘pumped’ in at lest RM 250 million ‘buta money’ to Proton if Proton is profitable?

Besides Proton, ‘Lain-Lain’ brand are actually brought in with the APs, so no need Proton’s profit to subsidize those brands.

• So what? US govt even pump billions of dollar into GM and Ford.

• Low Budget on Mar 02, 2014 at 9:59 pm

At that time, Ford/GM are facing the prospect of bankruptcy and these brands do export their cars globally and the Gringos Gomen think its worth while to protect these car company though many US citizens criticized it, is Proton in the same league as Ford/GM in brand recognition globally?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • How can big brand recognition globally car company with their market big need bail out?

• Enthu on Mar 03, 2014 at 9:59 am

A proton employee? Comparing Ford/GM to Proton? Joke of the year.

• Ewww…Audi high class brand thrown mixed up with other miscellaneous brands eg.Proton in such cheap sale pasar malam….wonder Audi Germany approved this kind of silly fun fair or not…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
    • true car enthusiasts and car lovers will love anything abt cars, doesn’t matter what brand is involved and it’s reputation. If Audi Germany disapproved this, it shows that they’re an unethical, ungentleman-ish arrogant car manufacturer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • Low Budget on Mar 02, 2014 at 9:54 am

THe truth probably being Audi have no choice but to go through crony companies bcos only crony companies have the APs, get it? The other choice is withdrawn from Malaysian market completely, without APs from Crony Companies no hope for any foreign companies to sell cars in Boleh Land.

On the positive side is, the crony might be able to lower the price of any of the 10 brands by re-badge and morph it into Proton, so an Audi can be a Proton in the future.

• fast5 on Mar 01, 2014 at 12:56 pm

Suzuki babe nice photo :)
    Really attract me going….. woo…..

• Horny Sam on Mar 03, 2014 at 12:55 am

I already book a dozen suzuki swifts from her. I get a good price n some extras… :D

• I was there just now 10:15 to around 11:30am !

Surprisingly, was quite packed. It’s not so bad actually, whole lot of cars to test drive there ! They even provide a free shuttle service so parking is not an issue.

Saw Tengku Djan too, just chilling beside the S2000 Satria Neo…. was too shy to ask for a photograph LOL totally wasted the opportunity…. -__-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • Archangel on Mar 01, 2014 at 9:02 pm

I went there from 2.30 pm until 5.00 pm. During that time, two artist; Sharnaaz Ahmad and Yana Samsudin was there. Hehe.

• Pack? are you kidding? nothing to see there. Girls also not pretty. And got to park somewhere and take the shuttle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
    • Eh ? What time you went ? Idk but there were more people there than I expected at least.

Also, why go to car shows for the girls ? Want to see leng lui, go to Bangkok or something lah LOL. Point is, car show = cars. Anything else is added bonus only.

Isn’t the shuttle service a good thing ? When I went to KLIMS, it was all walking and more walking. Some more, they shuttle visitors in nice cars, not some old van, bus or kapcai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • dominic on Mar 01, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Why no BMW & Mercedes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
  • the super sam lol on Mar 01, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Is not bad for the parking , beacause if you park in very far,got somecar will come to bring you.But the lotus expierience is very expensive,it is cost about RM30,is very expensive and you cant drive your self ,got somebody bring you . Better i let you drive my hiluk and camry for free,and you can drive yourself.If you want todrive,come to my showroom.

• 321go on Mar 01, 2014 at 8:15 pm

Is not bad for the parking , beacause if you park in very far,got somecar will come to bring you.But the lotus expierience is very expensive,it is cost about RM30,is very expensive and you cant drive your self ,got somebody bring you . Better i let you drive my hiluk and camry for free,and you can drive yourself.If you want todrive,come to my showroom.

• donuts on Mar 01, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Malaysia peak Cronies at the hight!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • spongewai on Mar 01, 2014 at 10:17 pm

DRB Hicom or Euromobile should reduced the price of Audi A1 3-door and 5-door immediately cause i saw this cute car very few on the road

• sime darby ceo on Mar 02, 2014 at 2:37 pm

where inokom,hyundai,ckd bmw?

• Drb Auto Fest.. Some said hyundai/bmw/inokom.. Why lah all this people.. Go learn something lah.
    They said 8 brand joining for the fest.. So only that we can see. Some more who is looking for nice girl in autofest meaning they do not know girl and car. If people said’bodoh’u people get angry for sure.
    Another thing.. That clever Man call’albert Lee’
    i think the most stupid.
    It is not arab mamak or else.. It is Malaysian who gain from his work hard. Do you know who is Vincent Tan/YtL/robert kuok/jefrey chia/the goh tong family/and so many to
    Mention.. How all this people get rich? Is it you great grand father left money for them? They rich bcoz of they getting job/ land from government. What they give to people in return? Nothing except’tipu orang’. Makan untung. You by the name of albert Lee also not a real malaysian. U only know how to condemn malay. Please go to miror and check ur blood…do not simply ‘bakar’than u ll get burned. If feel malaysia is not good than u move to other place .. We dont need ‘dump and stupid’like u.