Maserati Ghibli – Malaysian debut teased by Naza Italia

naza-italia-ghibli-teaser

Malaysian Ferrari and Maserati distributor Naza Italia has teased the impending arrival of the new Maserati Ghibli on its Facebook page. The teaser goes “Rivals, watch your back; the Maserati Ghibli is coming.”

The Ghibli’s platform is about 200 mm shorter than the Quattroporte at 2,990 mm. It uses a double-wishbone front suspension and a multi-link rear suspension with the option of the active Skyhook system, part-time AWD, firm suspension damping and a powerful braking system.

That makes the Ghibli the same segment as the E-Class and 5 Series, but there are no entry level versions here. The base engine is a 3.0 litre turbocharged V6 produces 330 hp and 500 Nm of torque, which pits it against the E 400 and the 535i. Since the Trident badge will probably carry a premium over its German competitors, we’re expecting at least RM650k for the 330 hp Ghibli, maybe more.

Ghibli(12)

Next up is a higher-powered version of the 3.0 litre V6 producing 410 hp and 550 Nm of torque. Both these engines were developed by Maserati Powertrain in partnership with Ferrari Powertrain, and they will be built by Ferrari in Maranello. The V6 engines have direct-injection along with two low-inertia parallel turbochargers, four continuous camshaft phasers and deliver their fuel at around 200 bar of pressure.

A diesel variant is also available, though we don’t expect it to be launched here. The Ghibli Diesel does 275 hp and 600 Nm of torque, while consuming under 6.0 litres per 100 km (NEDC cycle).

While we wait for the Ghibli to be launched, read our story comparing the other cars in its class – Audi A6 vs BMW 5-Series vs Infiniti M vs Lexus GS.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• WeLuvProton on May 15, 2014 at 11:24 am

Nice one! Now the cronies have more choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • !@#$%^&*() on May 15, 2014 at 12:14 pm

Mau serati gi beli.

• AVH (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 1:07 pm

I truly question the Ghibli’s success, not that the current quality is bad but it was truly magical back in the days, and with the head animator, Hayao Miyazaki gone, I do wonder…….oh wait wrong Ghibli.

Back to the Maserati Ghibli(FF: a name of a Mediterranean wind, Studio Ghibli name on the other is inspired by an Italian WW2 bomber, which is also named after the Mediterranean wind). I dont actually forsee this thing being a stiring success, espacially in Malaysia, most mid-size Luxury sedan in Malaysia are E200 and 520i or A6 hybids, in other words, the entry level sub-RM500k version….I rarely, if not never seen an E400 or a 530i before on Malaysian roads. So basically the market that Maserati is trying to capture is small…..its made even smaller by the fact that even if one were to consider the a above half-a-million executive sedan, the Maserati would pale against the germans in terms of comfort, quality, refinement and after sales service, not to mention fuel consumption if anyone who buys these cares.

It dose however offer one of the most sexiest body design in the segment that steals attention over the usual Krauts. And the engine note even with the V6 sounds like the the war cries of Ceaser’s army. As a car enthusiast, it is an absolutely dream of a car and I do wish more of these on Malaysian roads, but as a sensible man….would you buy it? Now Maserati, wheres the 3-series rivalling SHAFT.

• W204 C63 AMG on May 15, 2014 at 3:27 pm

Maserati won’t be successful in Malaysia. Most Malaysians only flock to Germans because only the Germans offer entry level cars, like the 316i, 320i, C180, C200, 520i, E250, and these cars are cheaper compared to the competition because they are CKD-ed.

On a global scale though, Maserati had a good year in 2013, where their deliveries increased by 148%, and it was the Ghibli and Quattroporte. Maserati sold 13000 of the Ghibli and Quattroporte combined, whereas the total 2012 sales was 6300. So yes, the Ghibli is a massive success for Maserati, WORLDWIDE.

• Dont be so negative. Maserati will be a success but it will still fall behind German rivals. Even in Malaysia there are surely handful of ppl with good taste will go for this and we do not need to assume their occupation whether they are cronies or businessmen. Ordinary rich folks mayb will go for entry level. this is same across the globe. But the rich and enthusiast will go for performance and higher spec across the range.

• I have seen alot of E400 and A6 or A7 around KL and Klang Valley road. Its actually depending where you see those cars. Like KL or Penang Or JB. Easily u can spot at least 528i M-sport or E250 which is not entry level at all. And to be honest,I have seen one latest Quattroporte in my housing area at Country Heights and boy…Its so sexy. So far I have seen 2 maser Quattroporte on the road. (The latest one.)

• LeYuv on May 16, 2014 at 12:19 pm

I don’t speak for the general public but if I was in the range of 5-Series and E-Class, I’d honestly opt for a Maserati over the others. Like, seriously. It’s a Maserati.

Next person which brings up ‘resale value’ should go jump off the second Penang bridge.

• pak ali on May 15, 2014 at 1:08 pm

headlights almost look alike bmw..kan?

• Maserati, please make one for our beloved PM and name it Jibli

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Jamie on May 15, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Maserati = Weapon Zeus, The Creation of Man.

• pintu on May 15, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Exterior and interior 3 series look alike. Maserati pun nak tiru BMW ke adoyai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • Battu on May 15, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Celah mana sama. your eye need fix? maybe a trident stab in the eye can fixed it.
      side profile, back and front design, at one glance also can tell this is not a beemer.
      just because it have headlight, 4 tires, 4 doors, mean all copy? adoyaiiii

• heybadigol on May 15, 2014 at 2:09 pm

The E Class has more interior space, and the Lexus GS is more luxurious. But none of them have the style of the Ghibli. Just look at that thing, and listen to the exhaust in sport mode. You’d think it was a Ferrari. Oh wait, it was co-developed with Maranello, so it has the performance credentials to back its sexy Italian looks. And it will smoke the 5 series in the twisties. What more could you ask for, other than a cheaper price tag?

• Lamusiqa on May 15, 2014 at 2:12 pm

I’ve seen one in the flesh last month while I was on holiday. This beast is a stunner in real-life. It looks way better than a 3-series or 5-series, IMO.

• shawal on May 15, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Carbuyer reviewd it…
    It is nowhere near as comfortable, practical and better built than its german rivals…

But it is still a ferrari powered maserati tho…

• The Real Maserati on May 15, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Now this is what u shud buy instead of junk from Korea

• Jaybond on May 15, 2014 at 4:50 pm

We’ve become so accustomed to German execs. that we even say this Maserati is copying some BMW styling elements..Come on la woi. Maserati definitely is the winner in the styling department.
    Maybe the quality is not exactly on par with the Germans, but it’s very close.Some of the switches are from Fiat-Chrysler parts bin, but most car buyers won’t noticed it, and they still works solidly.The interior design is unlike anything you will find in the German execs while the exterior design is of course far more headturning. Handling-wise, it maybe ranked third behind BMW & Jaguar (but definitely better than Merc & Audi), which is still admirable.If only Maserati has done more thorough suspension tuning, it will surely match BMW for handling. And perhaps, Maserati should introduce a lower powered version (normally aspirated version of the 3.0L V6)to increase their market share.

• front = Mazda 6
    rear = Kia cerato+optima
    oh but its ok because its maserati, its not Proton

• GTR36 (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 1:06 am

Wish I could afford it, just a dream. Rich apeks would avoid it, as the name sounds like ‘Mati’.

• Mugilan on May 16, 2014 at 6:30 am

If you have “lots” of money and a cold blood stone heart you will go for German made Audi, or Beemer or Mercedes.

If you have soul and passion and wants to stand in the class of its own you will buy a Alfa Romeo.
    Or Maserati.

• Charles Lowe on May 16, 2014 at 6:36 am

This is an awesome car,better than Audi,M-Benz,Jag and BMW.

• Wait till u all see this on the road and listen to the sport exhaust note..Its so Powerful!! even their diesel is very sporty in terms of exhaust. Yes…Diesel…

• disgruntledBMWowner on May 17, 2014 at 9:37 am

Lucky not Masserati Jibby. Sure die.