SPYSHOTS: Trailer load of Renault Zoe, for COMOS?

renault-zoe-spotted-b

A trailer load of Renault Zoes has been spotted in Malaysia by reader Ng Quan Joe – could this be the first batch of cars for the COMOS EV car-sharing scheme?

Back in May, we told you about Cohesive Mobility Solution (COMOS), Malaysia’s first EV car-sharing programme, under which Klang Valley residents would be able to rent either a Nissan Leaf, Renault Twizy or Renault Zoe on an hourly basis.

The initial aim was to have 30-40 EV units operational in KL at the time of launch (targeted for August at the time), and 60 public charging stations. The vehicles would be purchased by COMOS, the cost of which would be recouped by rentals and revenue generated through the sale of advertising space on the cars.

The Renault Zoe is powered by a synchronous electric motor with rotor coil that produces 65 kW (87 hp) and 220 Nm of torque. Its official NEDC cycle drive range is rated at 210 km, but the real-world range is around 150 km in temperate conditions such as ours.

The B-segment hatch comes with Renault’s patented Caméléon charger, which is compatible with all power levels up to 43 kW. Charging batteries at a charging station can take between 30 minutes and nine hours.

COMOS is a partnership between CMS Consortium, Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) and Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (GreenTech Malaysia).

Private company CMS Consortium operates under the care of NADI Manufacturing, which is controlled by Proton’s ex-chairman Datuk Seri Nadzmi Salleh. COMOS’ executive chairman however, is none other than ex-Proton MD Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin.

Renault Zoe at COMOS ‘soft launch’

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Interesting new development and new business area but not very sure about the availability of required infrastucture to support this EV (i.e charging station).

It is bold but necessary move toward greener Malaysia. All the best to COSMOS.

• Annihilated (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:36 pm

como estas. estoy electrizado! ;)

if it is ‘affordable’ enough.. I wouldn’t mind test it.

• pxp154 on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Wow…really?! just batteries on the msia road !!!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 1:06 pm

when will tesla come….sigh i go order one from usa first

• Great news!!It’s about time.I support green tech all the way.Massive headache with the haze and global warming.the other main reason why I bought a Picanto is because of the low CO2 emission and carbon foot print per EU standard,but I am not sure if our society is ready to count CO2 emission as a priority in buying cars.It’s true,the world is not getting younger.On our shore is all about physical developments,and some of them do count green index in.but when the environment is affected,not only the weather will change,but biological entities as well,such as the viruses that will eventually (some of them already have) mutate and cause new pathogenicity.but enough worries,we do one step at a time.congrats COMOS.and under DS Syed, shouldn’t be a problem.sometimes we need someone with links to start this kind of project.Kudos!

• Chris (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:43 pm

I want to propose change roadtax system to be measured by CO2 emission.

First 100g/km Rm1 per gram, then RM3 per g from 101-200 and so on…

This encourages people to buy clean engine instead of small engine. What’s the point of a small dirty engine if a big V6 is a lot more cleaner? I’m sure some country is already doing similar things…

• TheDean on Sep 08, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Malaysians and cars make up a very personal relationship. Not sure about the business model here. Why not, instead, offer greater incentives for ev owners? This can be offered in free roadtax, cheaper insurance, free/reduced parking fees, etc. To go beyond, owners of ev can even be given discounts at cinemas, groceries, etc.

• i agreed sir/madam.we all know how expensive is an EV.but if the gov is committed to make our environment better (certainly not for us.It’s for those kids who are now watching ‘How to train your dragon 2’ and Yo soy Dorraa..:), they should let us make a difference.I would certainly buy a Twizy even if it is at 50k after subsidy.and I am sure if we can make this happen a lot of Twizies will be around KL.

• But better yet,make it available for the public.promote electric cars with subsidies and good trade in values for those who wants to buy electric cars.I personally like the Twizy with its scissor doors!and would definitely buy one if made available.
    But if you look around while driving in the traffic every morning,you will know why out traffic is one one the worst.Most of the car will have one person,the driver.Why?A theory.When a society matures,people will become more individualistic.It’s not a negative thing,but it actually reflects boundaries,importance of space occupation and self control.We used to have car pool campaigns,but if was not successful when people start to count for gas etc. (minyak tol ‘tong-tong’..haha)and when the other passengers refused to use their cars (wear and tear,maintenance etc.).I hope with this great effort by COMOS the users will have first class thinking.

• Good luck drive on battery…. will see a lot stop at road side on middle of road about forget charges the battery like what we facing a lot Smart Tag user forget to topup their smart tag and stop in front toll make a heavy traffics jam

• don’t worry on that…charging station suppliers have this emergency mobile charger to charge stranded depleted battery EVs.

• 220Nm of torque???!! Wow

• kalam on Sep 08, 2014 at 2:09 pm

I agree with this program. COMOS should introduce and promote this program to the university and college students at klang valley. They can use it during weekend to go to jalan imbi to purchase some computer stuffs. It will be fun to rent and drive an EV. Of course not all people have money to buy an EV, at least we can rent it.

• Yeah.

When uni students wants to do group assignment outdoors, they can share and rent a EV.

Not a lot of people can afford a car.

• driver on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:32 pm

soon the taxi drivers will launch another complain …

• Eric Chu on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:33 am

Will UMW bring back Rav4 new generation to Malaysia?
    Thanks