Nissan to receive nine-speed transmission, three-cylinder engine from Daimler in partnership – report

daimler renault-nissan logo

According to a report by Automotive News Europe, Nissan, or more specifically Infiniti, is set to receive a nine-speed transmission from Daimler as part of a product-sharing partnership between the German automaker and the Renault-Nissan Alliance.

Apart from a nine-speed gearbox, Nissan is in line to receive a three-cylinder engine, according to Jacques Verdonck, director of said collaboration between Daimler and Nissan. The engine will be making an appearance in the jointly-developed city cars by Renault and smart in the near future.

However, Nissan has yet to reveal the extent to which it plans to use the provided powertrain. For 2014, Daimler and the Renault-Nissan Alliance are engaged in two operations in which Infiniti will open an engine plant in America, producing small-displacement engines for Infiniti and Mercedes for North America.

An assembly plant in Mexico is also in the pipeline. The facility, co-owned by the two companies, will have a maximum operating capacity of up to 300,000 units a year starting in 2017.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• holofanboi on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:29 pm

O_O…………

*Looks at my 6 speed auto*

T_T..

*Cries in one corner*

• AVH (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Crying in a six speeder? I only have, at best, 5 speed to make with….and think about the poor blokes and lass in 4 speeders, one got even so angry she start hitting other people with a steering lock.

Grab some Apples and cheer up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Obviously (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 6:58 pm

Crying?? You don’t deserve to cry. Hahaha! Buck up, laddie!

(Plus, you’ll never want to have to pay for a 9AT gearbox replacement unless you’re filthy, stinkin’ rich.)

• holofanboi on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:07 pm

@AVH

LOL at #CDM25 reference! xD and your 5 speeder dont count, manual > all.

@Obviously

Actually..i’ve been wondering, are dual-clutch gearboxes serviceable like manuals or the entire thing needs to be replaced like a conventional auto? The ones I often read about are just clutch pack changes but what if the gears itself are screwed?

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:59 pm

@holofanboi

I’d have to be honest with you and say that I have no clue as I’ve not read much beyond what you have about what gets changed. I can offer you my speculation, though, so take it for what it’s worth.

It’s a fair assumption that every parts maker have their own ways of doing things, so it stands to reason that whether a component is serviceable or not depends on how the parts maker designed it. I firmly believe, though, that with the right skills and equipment, anything can be serviced but down at the SC, they might not have the expertise nor equipment to service everything. I also think that the parts maker doesn’t expect the SC to service the gears within as well so I think the gearbox has to be swapped out entirely by the SC if the gears are whacked and send the faulty unit back to the factory for refurbishing. Clutch packs, as high stress wear-and-tear components, should have been designed to be changed relatively easily without or with few specialized tools by the average SC mechanic. The gears are a whole lot tougher and I think it’s not easy to wreck them in an automatic transmission, unlike in a manual where you can make an error during a shift and grind your gears.

Again, I am not claiming that I know for sure what I am saying. Purely my opinion based on how I understand companies do things.

• Jupiter & Mars on Oct 22, 2014 at 11:36 am

At least I’m already driving an 8 speed now. Hhahahahhahahaha !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• taj_03 on Oct 23, 2014 at 3:54 pm

even Preve and Suprima, 7 speed.

• Matrix on Oct 21, 2014 at 6:04 pm

SO WHAT?
    my honda city is CVT leh.
    Good FC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • nabill (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Haha,even nissan is ditching their cvts….
    most aweful invention ever….
    Long live conventional auto!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • AVH (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 6:41 pm

F*** conventional Auto
      LONG LIVE MANUAL GEARBOX

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • nabill (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:39 pm

no doubt , i was comparing between cvts and conventional auto’s . manuals are totally different topic!

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 6:51 pm

I think this only really applies to Infiniti cars. Their engines are generally MONSTERS which definitely exceed the torque limits of CVTs. Even the chain ones. I do wonder what happened to their toroid CVTs.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 21, 2014 at 10:38 pm

im nt sure abt that , last month if im not mistaken , nissan USA did announce that all their cvts will be reprogrammed to mimic the conventional auto rpm rise and fall(like those in toyota and subaru) due to customer feedback….or maybe this announcement only applies in the US ??

• zamzama on Oct 21, 2014 at 8:27 pm

daimler renault nissan toyota hoda ferrari chery….
    the more the merrier… pfft…

• techart on Oct 21, 2014 at 11:41 pm

Is it good as the ZF 8-Speed in BMW…