Shell easiGO American Express Prepaid Card debuts

shell easigo amex

Shell Malaysia recently introduced the Shell easiGO American Express Prepaid Card issued by Maybank. The reloadable card offers holders full flexibility and control of their spending, as they determine the amount they load and use on the card.

Cardholders will enjoy double reward points, namely Maybank Treatpoints (RM3 = 1 point) and BonusLink points (1 litre = 1 point) at Shell. The card is also valid at any merchant that accepts Amex worldwide.

The prepaid card includes complimentary first year Total Permanent Disability Personal Accident insurance coverage of RM15,000 and savings of up to 10% on Shell lubricants at Shell Select. There will also be exclusive periodic offers and promotions to encourage usage.

shell easigo prepaid

The easiGO card can be reloaded at all Shell stations as well as at over 3,000 Maybank ATMs or cash deposit machines nationwide, online funds transfer via M2U and via Interbank GIRO. One can also withdraw cash via Maybank ATMs at no additional charge with a valid PIN and check balance via SMS, Maybank ATMs or at M2U. The maximum reload limit is RM5,000 and limit for each withdrawal is RM1,000.

In conjunction with the launch, easiGO cardholders stand a chance to win cash prizes totalling RM450,000 by spending a minimum of RM5 at Shell. Driven by Maybank, the contest will run over the next three months where 1,500 winners will be selected monthly to win cash prizes.

The Shell easiGO American Express Prepaid Card is available to everyone above 18 years of age, without any requirement for pre-screening of income statements or credit checks. The starter pack is priced at RM15.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• naz1803 on Nov 11, 2014 at 9:59 am

where can i get the card? and can it be use at any shell worldwide?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Yes..I’m the 1st ^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Clarence on Nov 11, 2014 at 10:25 am

The design is wrong. Too cartoon. Credit cards must look like luxury products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • sad to say, most of the shell stations around my area, their cc terminals are always out of order. in one year timespan, i think 90% of the time i am unable to use my cc.

compare to petronas, their cc terminal is always working, no matter where and when.

• Joker on Nov 11, 2014 at 10:33 am

errr… no real benefits for me.. using credit card have 6-7% rebate..

• Steve Jobs on Nov 11, 2014 at 11:18 am

no real benefits,

better go for Maybank 2 Cards/Maybank Mastercard Ikhwan/UOB One Card

• dan dan dan on Nov 11, 2014 at 1:40 pm

with maybank 2 cards (AMEX) on weekend:
    5X treat point & 5% rebate
    Why wana used this card? #_#||

• pekerjashellpemalas on Nov 11, 2014 at 2:12 pm

everytime i went to shell to pump fuel, when i want to swipe my cc at the counter the cashier will say cc only can be used at the pump terminal, wth?? i dont know if the worker are lazy or its order from the manager. cause i think its stupid. i will not pump fuel at shell and will go to another station. see how shell lost profit there. i really dont want to use my cc at terminal because the system will pre authorized your rm200. and it takes more than 2 weeks to get it back to your acc. EVERYTIME I GO TO SHELL, I GOT THIS PROBLEM. other pump stations, i dont have this problem though. especially petronas n bhp. so i doubt how people can use this prepaid card to pump their fuels, even cc pun tak boleh! recently, i went to shell in pj beside inceif, the worker are filipino and myanmar, dont know how to speak english and malay. so i have to use sign language to make them understand. i think its better if the manager take our malaysian OKU to work there. i really impressed with OKU, despite of kurang upaya, the have determination and really hardworking to do any job.

• shellcashier on Nov 16, 2014 at 11:22 am

just bought easiGo card….went to Maybank to obtain my pin no. for the card…i stay in BP Johor but i hv to get my pin in either in JB or KL…WTF….thumbs down for this card…and no refund for purchasing this useless card….

• Mazlan on Dec 04, 2014 at 2:39 pm

The worst card i ever had.

1st: need to wait almost 4 days for card activation.
    2nd: need to wait another 7 days to have a link with maybank2u account.for this, you have to go to atm or deposit machine to reload this card.
    3rd: auto deduction rm6 every month for the annual fee. total 1 years: rm72

Conclusion: no reason to buy this type of card. waste your time and your money.

• suzana on Dec 17, 2014 at 3:27 pm

The card design make me intrested and i quickly apply…im very happy get it..after read n understand the particular it make me more happier.

• DENNIS on Jun 28, 2017 at 12:58 am

Yes..nice but coming soon Shell easigo Amex card no more cause shell discontinued…

• Abdul Halim on Apr 01, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Easigo kad dah active tapi Rm200 shell yg dimenangi tak dimasukan…..

• Liew Chiew Chong on Sep 12, 2015 at 10:32 pm

Design so nice

• haarni on Oct 09, 2016 at 10:41 pm

What is the benefit of this card as an overall?
    looks like if I use my debit Maybank I still can pump my petrol. Besides that bonus link also can obtained points. so in this case, if I use this prepaid card, doesn’t it works similar to both bonus link and debit card?
    correct me if I’m wrong.

• DENNIS on Jun 28, 2017 at 12:55 am

This Easigo Amex card …more important for us to using at anywhere and secure d.. You didn’t get that point .. Visa and Master not secured