Suzuki S-Cross displayed at Matrade ahead of launch

suzuki-s-cross-previewed-malaysia 717

The Suzuki S-Cross has made a surprise appearance at a roadshow held in the Matrade exhibition centre, ahead of its official Malaysian launch. The vehicle, known as the SX4 in Australia and SX4 S-Cross in Europe, was first revealed in March 2013 at the Geneva show.

The front and rear plates read S-Cross, but curiously, the tailgate badge reads SX4 S-Cross. We’re told by an SA that our car will be fully-imported (CBU) from Hungary, and the price is estimated to be between RM120k and RM140k.

If this turns out to be true, it’s a big leap from the circa-RM90k asked for the aged SX4 we’re familiar with. But, the S-Cross is 4,300 mm long, 1,770 mm wide, 1,580 mm tall and sits on a 2,600 mm wheelbase, making it 160 mm longer, 10 mm wider and 10 mm taller than the SX4, while packing an extra 100 mm between the front and rear wheels.

So the vehicle has graduated from the B- to the C-segment. This means its competitors are the likes of the Mitsubishi ASX, Subaru XV, Kia Sportage, Hyundai Tucson and Mazda CX-5, although they all have 2.0 litre engines.

Under the bonnet should sit a 1.6 litre M16A four-cylinder petrol engine that develops 118 hp at 6,000 rpm and 156 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm. The motor should be mated to a CVT with seven virtual ratios.

The vehicle pictured features projector headlamps underscored by LED DRLs, roof rails and 17-inch wheels shod in Continental rubber. There’s also a panoramic sunroof with double-sliding glass panels that open all the way to the back.

A peek inside reveals a few more goodies: engine start button, cruise control, auto lights, shift paddles and auto dual-zone air-con. We don’t see an Allgrip rotary dial beside the handbrake, so this should be a front-wheel driver.

We’ll have full details when the car is officially launched in Malaysia next week, so stay tuned!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• gary gary on Nov 14, 2014 at 6:57 pm

and HR-V still tak nak launch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Alex Lim on Nov 15, 2014 at 5:27 pm

This car can’t beat HR-V because based exterior,interior,engine performance still Honda better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Weird price on Nov 14, 2014 at 7:11 pm

Why would anyone buy this over a Subaru xv or Mitsubishi asx? With that tiny engine some more. Recipe for disaster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
    • Obviously (Member) on Nov 14, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Better wait for the official spec list first before final judgement. :)

• krs189 on Nov 14, 2014 at 8:31 pm

The S-Cross

Better fuel consumption 5.8l/100km real world driving.

Lower insurance and Roadtax cost.

The car is very light, so future tire maintenance and wear an tear on suspension will be lower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • BeemerFreak on Nov 14, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Tell me why I should not buy the Mazda CX-5 with the quoted price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • krs189 on Nov 14, 2014 at 8:31 pm

The S-Cross

Better fuel consumption 5.8l/100km real world driving.

Lower insurance and Roadtax cost.

The car is very light, so future tire maintenance and wear an tear on suspension will be lower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Jimmy on Nov 14, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Absolutely true. CX-5 has 6 airbags + ESP + TPM, best buy.

They thought panoramic roof is everything. Hey, you are kura-kura kerdil with 1.6L only under the name of Suzuki, a brand being looked down by most people in Malaysia. Your price cannot be higher than HRV lah.

CRV is RM110K only if taking resale-value into consideration, and it is four-wheel drive with two-litre engine under the name Honda. The 2L one will come with 6 airbags during facelift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • No such thing as resale value in my dictionary on Nov 15, 2014 at 1:31 am

Uncle still talking bout “RESALE VALUE” ….Which 19 Kong Kong years are you from???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • krs189 on Nov 14, 2014 at 8:33 pm

I Rarely see Suzuki Vehicle pending in their authorized workshop compared to VW, Peugeot and Mitsubishi.

I Guess Suzuki’s are pretty much reliable than those brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • Obviously (Member) on Nov 15, 2014 at 6:52 am

Another factor is just how few of them you can see on the road will translate to how few of them you’ll see in workshops. Suzuki is not doing very well in Malaysia…

• xem6861 on Nov 14, 2014 at 9:45 pm

Underpower engine to pull 17 inch wheels? Atleast 130 and above should work better. Pricey !

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 15, 2014 at 7:01 am

I’m surprised that you know that it’s underpowered without driving it.

• nabill (Member) on Nov 14, 2014 at 11:01 pm

looks dated already , im nt sure pairing this big size vehicle with a 1.6 AND a cvt is a bright idea…

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 15, 2014 at 12:24 am

Wow damn big jump in price and I bet its thanks to that panoramic glass roof plus I don’t see curtain airbags judging by the B pillar picture.

All in all bad move for Suzuki because of the massive price hike. Are they now targeting CX-5 and CRV which are in another league?

• kzm (Member) on Nov 15, 2014 at 1:14 pm

unlike current SX4 thai is CBU Japan this new SX4 is CBU from Hungry…Japan CBU has 15%(2013) n 10%(2014) import tax (Japan-Boleh FTA[0% 2016 onward])…CBU from Hungry is slap with 30% import tax

• S-cross comes with 7 airbags..

• Unique but overpriced, wait for next year-end 10K rebate.
    For those who want something not mainstream.

• Samlok on Nov 15, 2014 at 7:04 am

Looks nice, but puny engine output. I think the price will only be justified if around 90k. Otherwise vitara how to sell?

• Outdated rear lamp.

• abahko on Nov 15, 2014 at 10:44 am

its going to turn out as a cold dish like ford ecosport.

why would the people wanna both getting 1.6L displacement with RM120k-140k price offered?

nice move suzuki, you’re killing it.

• DRB Suzuki on Nov 15, 2014 at 11:28 am

Suzuki in malaysia run by a bunch of monkey that no idea of marketing and brand awareness. Flip thru the newspaper most the time you’ll only saw the advertisement of Swift.

Just see what they did to their pathetic line-up. APV, Vitara AWD and Kizashi all remove from broucher list less than 3 years.

• if rm90k i can consider one. i hope suzuki realised that their brand here is not well demanding. overpricing it will kill its brand here even more.

• krs189 on Nov 15, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Tell me which car in 90k region gets:

1. 5.8l/100km Mix Driving.
      2. Double Sliding Panoramic Roof
      3. Auto light, Rain and Auto Cruise.
      4. HID with Headlamp Washer
      5. 7 Airbag, ESP, HHA
      6. SUV practicality with car like Handling.

If you can get one , name it.

• I agree that Suzuki is not handled well in this country. But truth to be told, the brand is going through a confused period as well. It’s known for well built small cars but it has an ambition to break that mold and go upmarket. The problem is, people are not ready to pay that much for the brand. It will be the same if Daihatsu built such cars.

Infact, even MINI with its rock solid brand image is having trouble shifting cars that are not so ‘MINI’ any more.

Brand perception and image cannot be built overnight.Suzuki has to play the value card if they are going to suceed like what the Koreans are doing if they want to compete. They should have stuffed this car to the brim with tech and given it a modern turbo or a strong 2.0. In this spec, I do not expect to see many units shifted. as the rest provide better value.

• samlok on Nov 16, 2014 at 8:49 am

The priceing is a joke, it will drop to 90K eventually

• krs189 on Nov 16, 2014 at 12:56 pm

ala kalau letak 90k pun bukan ko nak beli pun.

• momocultus on Nov 20, 2014 at 12:38 am

Tell me which car in 90k region gets:

1. 5.8l/100km Mix Driving.
        2. Double Sliding Panoramic Roof
        3. Auto light, Rain and Auto Cruise.
        4. HID with Headlamp Washer
        5. 7 Airbag, ESP, HHA
        6. SUV practicality with car like Handling.

NIe mesti kena beli nie..boleh rekomen salesman bang?

• Suzuka on Nov 20, 2014 at 9:18 am

Now you already realise if put 90k price tag also nobody want to buy, so better put 50k coz Suzuki maa…’low class brand’…muahaha

• Old dog on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:44 am

Price up since DR N -1 more profit…he opened ceremony with a Suzuki dealer not long ago…