JPJ’s computerised systems go offline – all counter services suspended nationwide for the time being

jpj system down

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) has announced that its computerised systems have gone offline due to a technical disruption brought about by building works at and around its data centre located in Cyberjaya.

The department – through a notice – said that as of 4.30 pm yesterday all counter services at all its offices and branches nationwide have been suspended because of this interruption.

It added that applications through its online portal are also affected by this service disruption. No timeframe has been given as to when full services will resume.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Use cloud servers la.. pay millions to dunno who to develop this fragile system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • MANUAL MANUAL MANUAL on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Memalukan betul. Malaysia can build fancy Putrajaya and Cyberjaya and all that, spend billions making twin tower and show off to the world.

But basic hiccup also cannot solve in IT.

Lazy lazy lazy lazy. Instead of tutup counter, take manual applications. Road tax, licence all still can be issued manually. When systems go up, verify each licence, road tax etc you issued out manually.

Why close the counter? Are we paying you in JPJ to go to sleep or relax?

Systems down, life still goes on. Like airport, if Airport Control Tower is down, you still have to land planes the manual way ie the man with the flag.

So shameful JPJ close their counters just because of a computer glitch.

So if Immigration department systems down, we send away all the tourist who just landed in KLIA? Ask them to back to their own countries?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrr on Nov 26, 2014 at 4:00 pm

When G is implementing cloud services, the data is really stored in the CLOUD, with sky high price.

You can log in and check your data in the cloud after you taking off from KLIA 2.

• Mark Chong on Nov 26, 2014 at 3:37 pm

If you use cloud services you will not know where is your data stored, lagi scary. :P

• Hemi 426 on Nov 26, 2014 at 10:56 am

WTF???!!!

This nationwide man,this is ridiculous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • Low Budget on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:36 am

Their I.T. manager should be given the boot! The online database should be 24/7 and if there is a crash it should be restored within a few hours through backup procedures.
      If it is not the database problem then the hardware hosting company or the lease line provider should be sued for compensation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • st3wpid on Nov 26, 2014 at 1:09 pm

Bukan db crash le..buta kayu tul…kan tulis terang2 kat situ ada renovation works near main dc at cyberj.not a system problem but a 3rd world mentality infra renovation works.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
        • Low Budget on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Hai Yah! Sistem yang sangat penting ni mesti nak ada ‘live mirror backup’ kak dua atau tiga tempat mah. Contoh backup terbaik ade lah se buah syarikat Mobile operator di Malaysia, dia ade backup subscriber database di Selangor, Kuching,Penang dan Kota Kinabalu.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Where got Datacentre so poorly equipped for this type of distruption? Only one data line ah?

• dodgeviper88 on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:10 am

Hopefully the samans database all gone! :p

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 0
  • Kancil Hybrid on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:12 am

Kena karma already.. To rakyat impose macam2. The boss himself tak ikut rules.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Matchy on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:14 am

The usual “system offline” excuse that we get when we go to gov department… aren’t they sick of this issue?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:15 am

Baru I nak bayar saman, offline pulak!!!!! hehehe……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Mega ridiculous… Doubt there was any redundancy built in. Would be good to know which company was given this project…

Now all JPJ offices can have public holiday!

• leh zainal on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:22 am

been waiting all morning im about to lose my religion right now

• swoosh3553 on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:22 am

Yippee… a break from all JPJ roadblocks and operasi. Cannot issue saman because cannot record in system

• Kruel on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:57 pm

System down, Then lagi dia orang suruh u ‘settle’ on the spot

• leh zainal on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:22 am

been waiting all morning, im about to lose my religion right now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Saman banyak but don’t know how to fully utilize the money to implement a better system.. Where is all the saman’s money goes? God know!

• azrai on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:25 am

Really hope the server which hold the saman’s data went kaput.

• truely malaysian on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:31 am

some backhoe cut the fiber cable isn’t… ha ha

• Pierre on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:44 am

Shouldn’t the JPJ server had a backup site for disaster recovery. Imagine if the whole server room is on fire, then it would take more than a week to rebuild all their servers. Everyone no need to renew roadtax, pay summon or get a new car.

• amek kaw… saman banyak sgt smp server pon meletop.. hhaha

• Johnny on Nov 26, 2014 at 11:52 am

Disaster Recovery ? High Availability ?
    it is critical system laa..

• Maserati(Official) on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:04 pm

when government strive to improve their IT system resulting in little convenience, everyone complain

u all should be ashamed of urselves, memalukan saja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
  • ultimately nature shows the level of corruption,corrupt,corrupt and corrupt,job assign to company who showed its really capable to create jpj online system but in reality they have less capable staff to coup unforeseen circumstances like this offline.
    my question is “”WHERE IS BACKUP PLAN””???? n obviously there is no answer y bez CORRUPTION,CORRUPTION AND CORRUPT STAFF.DEVELOPED NATIONS DNT HAVE THIS OFFLINE ISSUES AT ALL BEZ OF SOLID BACKUP PLAN IN PLACE

• Dirtrun on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:11 pm

LOL,

Wat if your license or road tax expiring in a few days? Will the boys in blue take this for an excuse??

Only in Bolehland
    D

• You mean to say they don’t have a backup/DR site???

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Only in Malaysia, a large department can go completely offline. Don’t these people have backup servers?

• nabill (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Ya thy backup on an old 2gb usb thumb drive that one of them lost in a mamak stall…

• AVH (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 1:07 pm

I don’t know, maybe is due to the road name change in KL….. “Saman in Jalan Ipoh? What Jalan Ipoh?”

• Stm32 on Nov 26, 2014 at 1:14 pm

the IT peoples living in their own comfort zone … see their work altitude know … the UTC ads just a bull shit thing

• Luckily not JPN.. later all citizenship record gone…

• kealta on Nov 26, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Common … don’t they have a redundancy if the network down. If the system down they should point to their DRC center for recovery. What sort of SOP IT Data center JPJ have. I’ve been taking care data center for more than 13 year, this kind of thing should not be happening.

• rocky balboa on Nov 26, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Proves that corruption kills….

• lepak staff on Nov 26, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Not surprising lor. It is holiday with the system down. Can go out and woo kak minah and main guli.

Even though got Sla signed, I doubt the vendor get penalised since it could be another crony. Abang adik…

If this is private organisations, the vendor would have kena penalised big time.

• IrizX on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:06 pm

Suddenly half of the saman records all gone….(for those paid undertable money)….

That’s the plan.

• physco cat on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:14 pm

The issue is about how to get the Main Frame Up and Running.
    The Solution
    The PIC
    Proactive Action Needed Here.

• sewell on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Next the JPJ ask all to bring their original Car Registration Card to re-enter into their system.

• HaIrI on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:30 pm

JPJ has a backup system somewhere in KV, but it tooks time to recover all data and get all the staff to run their system back to normal. But maybe this failure did not involve the system infra itself, might something else. And DR services require a lot of money, later ppl blame JPJ spend lavishly on their system but they dont know actually the money spend goes to the big IT MNC companies who bullied our govt with their ridiculous mainframe price. Thats the best thing when u operated a company who monopoly IT market.

• Low Budget on Nov 26, 2014 at 4:27 pm

In thIs case the gomen can ask the vendor for compensation.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:42 pm

WTF. What sort of IT manager is employed by JPJ.

Such a disgrace to the profession.

How can the entire system go down. No redundency? no mirror servers, no disaster recovery??? The data centre catch fire die lor?

My IT system down for 1 hour also my head on a chopping block.

• Low Budget on Nov 26, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Ya lah. Seems like they kena tipu by vendor with unreliable cheapo backup solution, that is why they are not able to recover from disaster very quickly. May be backup servers and the working ones all installed at same site to cut cost

• the real taiko on Nov 26, 2014 at 2:55 pm

This is what we call TRANSFORMATION.Cheers

• Dr. Doom on Nov 26, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Bcos they play too much facebook games or other xxxx?? hehehee…….who sent this Virus?

• nabill (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Hacked by Anonymous!
    Let those bright intelligent ppl in umno assembly settle this issue rather than bicker about othr ppl being grateful n how much each on of them should get a raise…

• Twinsturbo on Nov 26, 2014 at 3:42 pm

What a disgraceful system !!! Only happen in Malaysia. They should have backup server to cope with this instead of shuting down the whole system !!! Hopeless and useless jpj !

• mfendi on Nov 26, 2014 at 4:56 pm

I supposed to get my new motorcycle yesterday. I am so disappointed. Now I don’t even know when.

• same with me lor… should settled by yesterday… i hope the server problem will resolve by tomorrow…

• Primi on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:36 pm

No word from the Ministry. I need to register my new car today.

• Upset on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Mangkuk Hayun JPJ ni.. Server cap ayam ke… Backup tak de..??
    DR punya lame… Someone has to take responsibility and face the MUSIC

• sachs on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:45 pm

The worst affected from corruption is the common man.
    Kailash Kher

• Super Fed Up on Nov 26, 2014 at 6:43 pm

Totally speechless
    i suppose to register my car on today !
    The server down totally ruin all my plan .
    And not even any update and words from JPJ.
    Hello ! at least an update please !
    Such a big system can crash and without backup plan !
    come on JPJ, don’t only capable to SAMAN this and that , do something on your stupid system !

• Upset Citizen on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:25 pm

my road tax is expiring tomorrow and I couldnt renew my road tax.. How If i got stopped by Police.. Can I give this excuse…

• Kroni on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Good DR costs money. IT budget not enough cos big chunk goes to kroni middleman..

Hope therell be an AG audit report on this.

• Moses Lee on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:45 pm

We first have the planes down and now now the computer down. What next? Also what happens to the Minister of transport? Is he aware of the issue?
    I also wonder why the newspaper never report on this issue?

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Nak cari makan tu, sampai keluar pembaris nak ukur plate number to the last 0.01mm pun boleh…

Nak jaga server mysikap haram jaddah diorang tu… gi mampos!!

• Twinsturbo on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:55 pm

GET YOUR F**King USELESS SYSTEM SORTED ASAP !!!! I need to register my car since yesterday. Only in Malaysia that didn’t provide the estimate down time !!! S**tty and rubbish bunch of ppl !!!

• habis tu bila sistem akan okay???dah 2 ari tunggu ni..aduh…bende mcam ni buat rakyat susah la…

• bolehland on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:43 pm

The supplier for their data centre probably is an alibaba company, dunno subcontracting for how many layers

• Apa kejadahnya JPJ ni? bullshit betoi la…

• Cyberjaya centralized air conditioning chilled water supply down due to a contractor handling sewerage expansion knocked on to the main pipe of the chilled water supplies. JPJ DC used these water for the aircond. No chilled water, no air cond…..no server running. Shouldn’t such kind of DC where their data is used used nation wide have its own aircond and power backup? Hopeless government.

• akang wawie on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:04 am

Wheres your BCP- Business Continuity Plan and Business Recovery plan, JPJ ?. Today has entered its second day… and no solution or option whatsoever has been offered to the tax payer. Someone need to speak up and responsible for this. MALAYSIA BOLEH !!!

• tahniah. ini servis yg kami sebagai rakyat mahu

• Arthur on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Damn it… Invest to the sea better… This system down for so many times and no total solutions.,, and this time affected my new car cannot get in time… :(

• Amir Arafat on Jul 16, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Harini pergi 3 jpj, semua offline. Kau rasa? Memalukan. Dah la. Takpayah la sembang pasal wawasan 2020. Cari salah pengguna jalan raya no 1. Skrang ni, pihak korang salah, takda sapa pun boleh ambik tindakan. Korang je betul. Ye ah pakai uniform kan apa lagi.