Fire extinguishers a must for your car – KL fire dept

fire extinguisher 1

The Kuala Lumpur fire and rescue department has recommended that vehicle owners invest in a fire extinguisher as an early measure against vehicle fires, Bernama reports.

The national news agency quoted the department director Khiruddin Drahman as saying that such a device would prevent fires from spreading quickly, in addition to saving lives and personal belongings.

[Translated] Victims and fellow road users can also help control and extinguish the conflagration before fire fighters arrive at the scene,” he added. Khiruddin also mentioned that while the the number of deaths caused by vehicle fires is not seen as very serious, such incidents have to be addressed by all road users.

“Although the fire department has not mandated the use of fire extinguishers on private vehicles, society has to understand that these devices plays an important role in saving lives,” he said. He added that the prices of fire extinguishers typically range between RM75 to RM100 per cylinder, depending on the size and weight.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Luxifer on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:00 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 135
    • ayooo on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:56 am

ayooo, buy small one la not the big cylinder. When expired throw away buy new one. only Rm75 one cylinder can last for 3-5 years.

Although, if you prefer to get roasted alive in your car, that is your choice la

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 3
      • 我很cute的,不会要你的 on Dec 03, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Good!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • Same L0rrr on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:16 pm

Imagine how to place the fire extinguisher in the tiny Iriz or Axia? And think more: How safe the pressurized fire extinguisher in the car under 8 hours of Malaysia sun shine (open air car park)?

Today fire extinguisher; tomorrow thermometer, blood pressure meter? Next year oxygen tank, life vest, parachute?

Not every car is like Proton quality! (anything could happened because Boleh car 100% from Bolehland) OK?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
          • 2ltr bottle on Dec 04, 2014 at 8:45 am

I have to agree with you. But some people rather keep big subwoofer system inside their car boot instead of this small fire extinguisher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Well said.

• Idiot.
      No one else benefit from it but yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
    • Battu on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:46 am

your statement is so bangang, no words can explain to you apparently. maintenance is on 3rd party side. because the statement come from bomba, immediately blame government and accuse take people money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • OMG…i think u so fed up with the gomen bcos everything is MONEY MONEY MONEY…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Heskey on Dec 03, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Lol! I came here for the comments and you sir made my day.

• escape on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:22 pm

in the case of a vehicle fire, what will you do?
      a. get your tiny fire extinguisher to put out the fire
      b. get out of your car and save your life first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • Same L0rrr on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:21 pm

With fire extinguisher, bomba will arrive 3-6 hours after your car caught in fire, because you will put out the fire yourself.

If you can put out, they no need do anything, you call tow truck yourself. If you can’t put out, they just tow away your burnt chassis, or get you to call your tow truck also.

There is a perfect term for them: GAJI KOSONG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • vehicle fire on Mar 22, 2016 at 5:06 pm

in the case of a vehicle fire due to accident, what will you do?
        (note: your leg get stuck in the car due to the accident)
        a. get your tiny fire extinguisher to put out the fire.
        b. get out of your car and save your life first (cut your stuck leg with your teeth)
        c. ask help from third party to put out the fire with your car fire extinguisher.
        d. wait for Bomba to pull out your charred remain from the car.

• makahai on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:04 am

will it explode in car boot under our hot hot sun ?

Mr bomba you sudah buat experiment sebelum buat statement ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
    • Dah dua tahun bawah seat driver…belum lagi meletup..cuma makin kurang pressurenya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • Euro Five on Dec 03, 2014 at 2:24 pm

panas bawah kerusi tak sama dalam boot la … u baca amaran botol itu… “Store in room temperature”

• kzm (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:33 pm

UAE car must equip with fire extinguisher…car there no explode how? desert country summore

• Great Hocus on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:17 pm

Hello … those used in UAE are specifically made to withstand the region’s high temperatures. Not your typical off the shelf type.

You cannot just simply buy and put any fire extinguisher in your car. And those extinguisher are not available in Malaysia or many places out of UAE yet. So remember that

So please dont advise, if you yourself is ill advised or you may cause others lives to be lost !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
      • Fireman Bill on Dec 03, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Low pressure? then its of little use in an emergency.

Pressurized canisters are NEVER to be stored in extreme hot non-ventilated places … the canister will either 1) gradually leak at the release valves due to increased pressure ( like your case) , or 2) explode, as pressure keeps building when there is no leakage

If they could put a extinguisher in a car with zero risk of explosion , wouldn’t BMW, MB, AUDI, Toyota etc done that long ago ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
        • kzm (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:41 pm

then why there is fire extinguisher for car available worldwide?

• Great Hocus on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:08 pm

Worldwide ? pls name me 5 makes of cars that provide fire extinguishers as standard equipment. Just 5

Sure you can buy after market, but those are for professional race cars, or commercial vehicles under watchful care. They are not meant to be stored long term and forgotten

Poor choice of word WORLDWIDE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • Keluar Asap on Dec 03, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Belum meletup dont mean WON’T meletup… nanti meletup… you punya buntot keluar asap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • There’s a fire extinguisher that cane from the factory under the passenger seat in my E38 7 series. Walaupun dah bertahun-tahun expired, tak meletup pun, although I doubt it still works, but it had been sitting there since we’ve first got the car in 1996. And I doubt it’ll ever explode.

• Heskey on Dec 03, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Yes the explosion is so strong you can use it as additional turbo boost. Put it at the back of your car with the nozzle facing backwards.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 3:00 pm

it show u never touch or use fire extinguisher…makahai

• makahai on Dec 04, 2014 at 10:17 am

KZM ya ya you always correct … becos i only always touch your makahai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Dua Roda Sahaja on Dec 04, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Yaya..becoz makahai pandai …gets ppl like KZM to do the dirty job for them

KZM you got a death wish issit ? like to play with fire ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Tun minister on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:15 am

Yes we do need it.

BUT for free from MITI AND MAI their makes Bolehland car price like crazy. Why can’t they provide to us too?

LOUSY Bolehland automotive industry protection policies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 38
  • ketor on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:16 am

If it’s just RM75-RM100, car manufacturers should just be mandated to put 1 in the car as it comes out of the factory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • AVH (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:07 am

Almost no ‘normal’ cars come with standard or optional fitment of fire extinguisher anywhere. and of those that provide fire extinguishers, they are usually comes as an option.

A RM500 option, if you want them in your porsche 911. Want to have them in your RM2million scuderia red Ferrari 458 Italia? Rm1400 for ferraris aptly name ‘handy fire extinguisher’ of course being an italian supercara, its best to have them.

• Good suggestion.

• Francis Keng on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:21 am

I agree with this, I have it in my car as well. But only if they don’t come up with a compulsory list of brands/makes

• cascada on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:45 am

I have one in my car for several years. And it did work by the time I needed it. So, craps for those saying need 100++ for maintenance. It costs only RM8 to replace the powder.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
  • Sigh!!! on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:54 am

I don’t understand this mentality of everything has to be provided. Why not ask for a driver and some food too while you are at it. This is OUR safety. Be responsible and stop blaming tom, dick and the Govt because you are too lazy to protect your own families.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
  • ayooo on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:00 am

Glad this is being implemented nationwide. My company already make it compulsory for personnel travelling with personal car to have a fire extinguishers inside the car years ago.

• LLembu on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:04 am

If your car on fire!
    1st thing is stay always from your car as fast as possible. Don’t try to get this to put down the fire.
    Do you know how fast & danger for the car on fire?
    Don’t do all these nonsenses to suck our money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 29
    • u should consider..why my car on fire…might be accident..if u are trapped in the car?..it will be life saving if others bring it along…how about it start from u..u can save a life if it happen in front u..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
      • U know when u mentioned trapped…. U r contradicting urself. Where will u put ur fire extinguisher? If u r trapped means u can’t move.. How u wanna grab n use it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
        • always think about yourself…ish..if you are trap..then people just looking and do nothing..typical

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
        • kzm (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 2:48 pm

lol…if u trap in ur car..other people with fire extinguisher in their car will help u to put out fire vise versa…if both u n other who want to rescue u dont have fire extinguisher..u are toast..BS

• Ya. Right.. I wonder how many will actually come n help… Never actually see ppl come n help oso every time accident happen. Ppl will slow down n look… Snap a pic then FB it… Come on.. That’s d reality.. Unless u r d 1 who always stop n help or u r total BS with ur “holy” comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • Benck (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 9:16 pm

BS: you only look at the bad part,where is the good part of peoples? Is there are non of them?
            You’re like saying:
            Everyone want to con you,everyone want to steal you belongings,everyone want to hack your online bank account,well said.
            Don’t think at negative side only. That’s very sad to live your life another 50years.

• One day, those who opposes to this, saying that if you are trapped, you can’t do anything with your fire extinguisher, finds him/herself still can run away but his/her love ones is trapped in the fire, will regret like hell…

• ayooo on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:43 am

your name correctly describe you.

You think real life is like movie where car can easily explode. How many car explosion recorded in Malaysia?

Learn about safety first before mouthing off Lembu

• Jason Lim on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:22 am

i think this is a good idea.but would it blow up(since it is high pressure inside) if park under hot sun?
    hope they can provide a cheaper price to encourage people to invest on this

• almost 2 year i have 1 small fire extinguisher inside my car..but the pressure is lowering a bit from originate..

• Benck (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 10:09 pm

agree,I have a small bottle too in my car more than 4years which cost around rm70,its just abit bigger than the usual bicycle drinking water bottle. Invest rm70(price of a tank of fuel) for 4years of insurance,it’s definitely worth it.
        Approved fire extinguisher have very strong body than those pressurized fragrance aerosol tin,so no explodsion hazard to worry about.
        Please check those truck towing oil tank,there are 2 bottles of fire extinguisher that fixed at outside of the truck head,which receive rain and hot shine everyday.
        If you want to get the big bottle 12KG,I have 3spare in my office.wechat BEN-CKY.Seriously no joking.

• Yup..every car should have 1 unit. Dont only think about ourself. We can use it ti help others too. Imagine u trap in a burning car n cannot do anything, you will be really thankful if suddenly 1 good samaritan came put out the fire using his extinguisher.. let us spare 1 unit to help ourself and other fellow drivers..who knows when our turns up..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Sparcov on Dec 03, 2014 at 11:53 am

It is mandatory for every car to be equipped with a fire extinguishers in their car. If I not mistaken, it was installed by the car manufacturer as standard accessories.

Most of the time located under the car seat.

I think it is a good move

• I dont recommend putting a fire extinguisher unless you have a proper place to put it. In an event of an accident, that thing becomes a ballistic missile.

• Benck (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 10:22 pm

Its secured under the car seat. Check the picture. The fire extinguisher is around 2-3KG(fasten under the seat),rear passenger without seat belt have 20 times more ballistic momentum than that. http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/d/da/Fire_extinguisher_in_car.jpg

• Fire fighter on Dec 03, 2014 at 12:47 pm

why everything need to be provided by gov? You should take a good care of your own safety..go and invest a couple of bucks might save you and your family from misery.

• nabill (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 1:01 pm

i remember when the waja was introuced in late 2000,it had a small fire extinguisher nicely tucked in the boot

• Energy Analyst on Dec 03, 2014 at 1:34 pm

if that is expensive, buy a baking soda and keep it in your car then,
    Baking soda is a sodium bicarbonate, will help smother and cool fires at the base of the flame.

cost = RM4. saje

http://eshop.tesco.com.my/en-GB/ProductDetail/ProductDetail/7070323232

• elpaciko on Dec 03, 2014 at 1:49 pm

stupid people who make stupid comment..

i dont mean the bomba guy.. but those stupid commenter who make hateful comment without actually reading the article.

• guilt (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Besides Fire Extinguisher, First Aid Kit is also a must.

• joyah on Dec 03, 2014 at 2:02 pm

car distributor should provide it free for every new car..

easier and better then giving a free umbrella.

• What? Fire extinguisher for car?
    There was a fatal accident along jalan loke yew just yesterday. The driver got burned in the car.
    But I doubt the Fire extinguisher would help in this case. If you can actually leave your car to grab the Fire extinguisher from the boot, please just stay away from the car for good. You are responsible to safe your own life if your car catches fire, don’t go wait for bomba to come and open door for you. And just by insurance for your car.

So, still Fire extinguisher for the car? Sounds funny when those Axia doesn’t even have ABS….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • ayooo on Dec 03, 2014 at 2:56 pm

You can place them under your seat. If people can put steering lock underneath the seat, why not a fire extinguisher?

Besides, if you’re are the one trapped in the burning car and some other driver have a fire extinguisher and managed to save you, wouldn’t you be grateful?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Pondan on Dec 03, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Fire extinguisher is a must on car but….. Can’t help to think that it’s a paying is a must to fire dept cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Jilbaber (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 3:22 pm

When I bought my second car almost 20 years ago, got very small fire extinguisher (smaller than ridsect small bottle) located near foot well on front passenger side…never use it though until I sold that car.Never know how to use it also, but at the time it’s kind a cool to show friends because their car doesn’t have one

• Daveyyy on Dec 03, 2014 at 3:24 pm

Fire Department should place more public fire hydrant (CO2 type) instead of advice car owner to keep the fire hydrant in car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Syameer (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:19 pm

Lolll you are indeed a brainy genius! let’s have them at every 5 km intervals on the Bolehland road including the highways! Based on most of the haters’ comments here, it’s gonna be a hell of ballistic missile party everyday on the road so that the fire dept would have more emergency cases to attend to right? Wtfffffffffffffff

• almighty tokong lim guan eng on Dec 03, 2014 at 3:36 pm

you see, you see!! Another way this bloodsucking gomen wanted to take our hard earn money. If Im trapped in burning car, it is fireman job to save me. That is why I pay tax. Now this no good lazy, subsidy mentality fireman dont want to do his job and expect us to save ourself?

I rather be burned alive than paying Rm100 for a fire extinguisher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 24
    • car_enthu on Dec 03, 2014 at 4:49 pm

i hope God will grant your wish to be burnt in your car. Save money no need to go to Crematorium.

• Iknowwhatyoudidlastsummer on Aug 11, 2019 at 10:55 am

May god grant your wish with all of others watching you and your loved one screaming getting stuck and burned alive in car accident since none of those drivers that stop to help have a fire extinguisher in their car at that time (thank you to your advice). So they just sympathize and shed some tears to your fate while they waiting for bomba to rush through the traffic hassle to rescue you .. amen.

• Bacapik on Dec 03, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Reading some of the hilarous comments here really made my brain go numbs. No need for a 7 eleven slurpee to do the job. Bomba give suggestion but, complaint and condemn the gomen. When Bomba keep quiet and do their job as usual, we apparently didn’t even realized Bomba exist.

What is wrong with some of us ah today…?

And to put things really into perspective of the scale of mind blowing stupidity and bloody-what-has-gotten-into-you is that one really rather be burned alive than paying rm100 for a fire extinguisher and still has the guts to blame the gomen just because he paid tax? Watttttttt??

It really is a pity that maybe someday we will have watch a man of this kind burned alive in his car because he paid his tax to the gomen and refuse to fork out rm100 for a fire extinguisher that perhaps we can somehow use and save him out of his misery trapped in his burning car.

Wat la am i doing commenting on this bloody comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • jimmy chin on Dec 03, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Yea. Agreed with it. Coz if anything happen. At least help urself or other PPL.

• darkermarker on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:11 pm

next comment…….the fire dept will ask motorbike rider to bawak fire extinguisher oso……

• Talking about gas pressure caused explosion don’t forget that the bigger explosive hazards are the oily bits all over the car starting with the various fuel lines close to a hot engine. If anything is going to explode, these are the ones we should be worried and careful about first.

• I’d practised to always carry a fire extinguisher in my car since 5 years ago. Already used up 2 tank of fire extinguisher to douse small fire not on my own vehicle, but 2 other vehicles on 2 different place. and I still remember one of the vehicle that caught fire was in a remote trunk road, midnight. Both car owners were so thankful that their car was saved from worst case.

• Benck (Member) on Dec 04, 2014 at 10:30 pm

You are our live saver! Welldone bro! Thumbs up for you!!

• intellectual Malaysia on Dec 05, 2014 at 10:04 am

Did anyone else notice that the headline and the first sentence of the article do not match?

“Must” in the headline and “recommended” in the first sentence…

• Steve Kok on Dec 08, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Claim insurance lah :)