Ford Focus Special Edition – dressed-up S+, RM132k

focus se 01

Last week, Sime Darby Auto Connexion announced the arrival of the Ford Kuga Special Edition, but the limited-run version of the SUV wasn’t the only vehicle to be introduced then – mention of a Ford Focus Special Edition variant went up quietly on the company’s website.

For this one, the Sport Plus hatch variant of the C346 provides the base car, and going the SE route brings about a new body colour, in this case Winning Blue, as well as SE ‘decals’ that are unmissable – the bonnet, roof and rear hatch garnish get a black wrap, the first two entirely covering their respective surface areas, making for a prominent dual-tone exterior.

Elsewhere, you’ll find a custom-made full bodykit and additional daytime running lights on top of the stock ones already in the Sport Plus’ headlamps. Inside, the Focus SE gets full leather seats (semi-leather on the base Sport Plus) and sport carpet mats. In all, it’s reminiscent of the dressed-up RS Sport Plus that came about last year, albeit with more garnishing this time around.

The 170 hp/202 Nm 2.0 litre Duratec Ti-VCT GDI normally-aspirated mill and six-speed, dual-clutch Powershift transmission combi continues on unchanged. As for pricing, the Ford Focus Special Edition goes for RM131,888 on-the-road with insurance, a shade cheaper than the RS Sport Plus edition. Oh, in case blue isn’t your thing, there’s also a Frozen White version – presumably, that also has the same decal layout.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• money on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:57 am

JPJ roadblock will kena or not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • ScourgePrime (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 12:11 pm

Why not change the rims too? Give a little bit sporty looks and that price still unforgivable

• JB_KIA on Dec 15, 2014 at 12:25 pm

is this the local el cheapo dress? I see OBVIOUS color tone difference!

• looking good…

• Clearing the old facelift stock? When will they bring the new facelift Focus? Maybe the sales of Fiesta is better than Focus thats why the new Fiesta facelift is already in Malaysia.

• That is absolutely hideous, only ricers will love that.

• weeee on Dec 15, 2014 at 1:39 pm

This looks like something done in some mod shop in KL. Why cant they just bring the 1.2 & 1.6 EcoBoost model here?

• Fugly and tasteless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • gary gary on Dec 15, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Enough liao. What are you thinking Ford Malaysia. Wahlau, why not throw in that useless printer again, oh, this is not a “promotion”?

• darkermarker on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:38 pm

Ricer Ah Beng will surely love the black bonnet………

The black bonnet looks like the non-painted replacement panel after being accident repair….

Ford id losing business focus……by screwing up their own focus…..

• Proton Fanboys (Official) on Dec 19, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Ford Malaysia,are you guys stuck of idea?I know you want to clear the stock but please,think first before you do.You paint the hood black,add skirt then put name S plus and put price Rm132k?Walao,only ricer take this!!!

• No more Value on Dec 19, 2014 at 4:27 pm

May I ask what is ricer? And that design…. the designer must watch too much of initial D.

• talk about tasteless on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:23 am

Man, whoever ‘designed’ this must be new to the automotive industry. It looks like someone just replaced the engine hood with one from a chopshop! at least paint the pillars in black to match the hood and side mirrors. Ford can do better. rims and antennae should be replaced. i pity the fool who buys this