LDP contraflow time period shortened from tomorrow

2014KJkontraflow_flyers_Hani_FA

The Damansara-Puchong Highway (LDP)’s three-month contraflow traffic system trial will have its time period revised tomorrow. Previously running from 6.30am to 9.30am, it will be shortened by half an hour from 6.30am to 9.00am.

The contraflow lane will start at KM21 (Kelana Jaya-bound) of the LDP in Puchong (opposite HSBC, right after IOI Mall), with the exit at KM18. The contraflow lane is for light vehicles and Touch n Go users only. Keep to the rightmost lane to enter the contraflow lane, which will take you pass the clogged stretch between Puchong Jaya and the Petaling Jaya Toll Plaza.

2014KJkontraflow_flyers_Hani_FA

Having the contraflow lane means that Plaza A at the Petaling Jaya Toll Plaza in the opposite direction (from Sunway) will be closed. Motorists from Sunway to KESAS/Puchong can continue to use Plaza B during contraflow hours.

Since the contraflow trial has been running for about two weeks now, what do you think of the contraflow system? Does it work, or is it making things worse? We’ve seen plenty of posts from unhappy LDP users on social media platforms saying it has made things worse, but we’re wondering if there are any happy users out there. Please do share your thoughts.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Please test out your contraflow during weekends, at least road users can get use to it and be well prepared during rush hours on weekdays. The traffic is so bad when you guys start it on weekdays especially Monday mornings! Kesas, LDP from puchong and even Jalan Puchong back log is horrendous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
    • driver on Dec 21, 2014 at 6:01 pm

err.. you do know that the aim of having testing the contra flow is to reduce the congestion. having testing it on weekday serves no purpose at all. anyway, now we know how it turns out: shifting the blockade from a place to another place. this signals that the capacity of the road is saturated already. need other solution. any thoughts?

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 22, 2014 at 9:42 am

are you stupid or what?

the point is to find ways to mitigate the problem during peak hours, so testing must be done during peak hours, whats the point of testing on non peak hours?

whats more sad is so many ppl agreeing with you, shows the intelligence of Malaysian society, no wonder you are always barking up on the wrong tree all the time…

• It appeal that you are the most Dumm Stupid Malaysia in this forum…tak mampu Maserati pi nak tunjuk dia Maserati pula..biar gi mati la !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • Aiya..don’t just dislike me only..come la exchange your emotional & any harsh words that are most welcome !!!! 3 little idiots !!!!

• LDP User on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:39 pm

They should study first before do this testing because now all the car coming from bukit jalil stuck more than normal. Just imagine if all the student back to school. Now they testing during school holiday and the car is lesser than usual. I saw the traffic still same nothing change to the traffic especially from putrajaya or puchong.

• frossonice on Dec 21, 2014 at 8:37 am

Just end the whole bloody thing la. It causes more traffic jams both way. My wife used to take about 30 minutes to reach her office and now take about 40 minutes just to get out from the contraflow exit near the bridge. I end up stuck in traffic jams going to puchong now where it was non existant before. Stupid test I must say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • driver on Dec 21, 2014 at 5:58 pm

that’s what we call “experimenting” to find a better solution. if they didn’t try this, we will never know that it’s a “stupid test” from your say. why so pessimist?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • frossonice on Dec 21, 2014 at 9:33 pm

Well, you certainly don’t need 3 months to know the test is not working. Even regular users like me know it won’t work because all it do is letting more cars into a bottleneck just looking at the route design. What makes you think it will help with anything?

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 22, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Its quite obvious you are not an LDP user.

Any LDP user going past there will tell you the bottle neck is federal highway.

Force feeding traffic into the bottle neck isn’t helping much is it? You don’t need a 3 month trial to figure it out. They should have more brains…. Perhaps I’m thinking too highly off them.

• LDP-user-NO-more on Dec 21, 2014 at 11:05 am

made things worse obviously. bottle neck’s always been at the sunway to federal highway exits. contra flow re entry is smack at the sweet spot of where the bottle neck is. made it worse. waze has been taking me away from the stupid contra flow on my daily commute. it’s faster to go around the contra flow area.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 22, 2014 at 12:17 am

Yeah they need to address the bottleneck problem @ the bridge leading on to federal which is also jam…

• franxis on Dec 21, 2014 at 12:49 pm

I live in sunway. Usually i took 30mins to reach pj. But now i took almost 1 hr to reach pj with this unfair contra flow tested. I stuck in sunway about 30 mins just to get into LDP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Pls put Malaysian benefit on top of ldp business. Just get rid of ldp toll and it can solved the traffic jamm. Ldp has earned enough. It is time to let go of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • kenny on Dec 21, 2014 at 3:32 pm

it bottle neck up everything, furthermore this is school holiday and there is already jam, imagine what if the school start?….hope LDP management can end this trial ASAP……the reason for the jammed is everything when comes back to the exit it bottled necks up……

• LDP User on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:42 pm

I already sent email to Litrak but their response is this contra flow just for testing. Agreed with you that this testing is done during school break. What kind of stupid.

• The process of collecting back the cones which jave been placed earlier on the road when the system is reverted bavk again at 9.30 am has caused bad and further unnecessary traffic jam.
    So now if they revert back on the timing to collect back the cones at 9am it will be event worst.
    9 am is still peak rush hour and if one lane is purposely closed at this time just to allow a lorry and workers to collect the cones it will cause enormous chaos and unspeakable traffic jam.

• As mentioned by a few people already, the issue is the bottle neck at Sunway/Federal Highway flyover. There’s only a 2 lane way leading away from Sunway and yet it’s already congested as it is. Having the additional contra flow would just pump more vehicles into an already congested zone. The tollway already splits the road into 20 lanes, with the addition of the contra flow, another 6 lanes is added and all these are funneled into 3 lanes, then 2.
    How is it not possible to foresee this disaster when designing the contra flow is beyond me. I guess it’s the same people who claim that the traffic volume is not up to expectation, so they have to raise the toll rates to compensate.

• Brendan Chan on Dec 22, 2014 at 11:54 am

The trial is so far a disaster. Unless they have a solution for the re-entry, I can’t imagine the chaos when school starts next month.

• darrez on Dec 23, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Just remove the toll on both ldp and federal highway….that is the ultimate solution for most if not all traffic jam on both highways