2015 Toyota Hiace gets improved safety, from RM88k

2015 Toyota Hiace Window Van

Already one of the best-selling commercial vans in Malaysia, UMW Toyota has introduced the improved Hiace line-up for 2015 with a very welcome focus on safety. The 2015 Toyota Hiace gets upgraded with new safety features, including electronic stability control!

The new Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) with Traction Control (TRC) and Hill Start Assist Control (HAC) safety suite is reserved for the High Roof Window Van variants only, though. Priced at RM102,600 for a 2.7 litre petrol version and RM109,600 for a 2.5 litre turbodiesel, The Hiace Window Van also gets Emergency Stop Signal (ESS).

2015 Toyota Hiace Panel

The base Hiace Panel Van 2.5 turbodiesel misses out on the safety additions above, but at least gains ABS and Brake Assist (BA) for 2015. Strictly for company commercial registration only, it goes for RM87,600 (all prices on-the-road with insurance).

Dual airbags and three-point seat belts (for all 10 passengers in the Window Van models) are standard on the Hiace, as are reverse sensors. Toyota-branded window films and a portable type pump are offered as optional extras. A three-year or 100,000 km warranty is offered on all models.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Sam Loo1 on Mar 04, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Finally, we have improved our safety to meet our customer demand. Come buy one, you won’t regret and high RV also. Come

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
    • hiaceguzzler on Mar 04, 2015 at 8:16 pm

Fuel guzzler unserpowered petrol.engine – drink water worse than lembu minum air!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • At that price it is better to consider the Nissan NV350. The engine although is 2.5 but it come with Turbo and VGT.The Hiace everyday facelift, keep the engine same from first launch till now.Come on Toyota you can do better with the spec.Get the 3.0 1KD-FTV into the Hiace then we see.

• alldisc on Mar 05, 2015 at 12:33 pm

when it comes to transportation business or providing service,

most important key criteria is

1. reliability
        2. ease of maintenance (low costs, no headache, easy parts sourcing)
        3. network support

and not fancy2 things like exceptional design or funky electronics.

that is where Toyota wins. Nissan Urvan, the nearest competitor hardly make a dent on its sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Price almost same as HiLat

• Philp on Apr 05, 2015 at 5:09 pm

SAMLOO, I sell you my hilux! I promise! But, you have to tell TOYOTA to equips new or current hilux with VSC!FAST FAST FAST!

• Kenneth on Mar 04, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Walao, why give these features to comercial cars first? When is all the other passenger cars turn. But great move Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • boolah on Mar 04, 2015 at 8:21 pm

Apalagi buy this better than altis. Can ferry 12 people summore

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 8:56 pm

It does make a lot of sense for the high roof van… shame the regular doesn’t get it. They can easily topple over.

• Lorat on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:16 pm

Drive like maniacs, take corner like F1 of course la topple, akekeke.
        Most of the buyer of the high roof, window van is tours company, for relaxed sightseeing around the country.

• Kenneth on Mar 04, 2015 at 4:44 pm

why give these features to commercial cars first? When is all the other passenger cars turn. But great move Toyota.

• liteace on Mar 04, 2015 at 4:49 pm

Smaller than that luxury China van KingKong long or something.

• cendol (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:06 pm

Can modify this to become Alphard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • sewell on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:16 pm

the commercial van also got these feature how about passenger car? push start button and i-key is not the most important.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Toyotakesah on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:17 pm

Toyota doesnt want “you” the driver to die in a commercial van …. but they are okay if you die in one of their cars, because Toyota believes, “You Are Not Worth It”

• toyota hajiroku on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:24 pm

among UMW car..the cheapest to get VSC HS..TRD sportivo non of them have…what la you UMW…commersial car no need so many safety than passenger car.. they take for bisness..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • sepul on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:43 pm

I find this to be a better buy than an Alphard or Previa. it can also seats 10 people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • jarhead on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:46 pm

“commersial car no need so many safety than passenger car.. they take for bisness.”

…. Because those driving these for “bisness” aren’t human right? Awesome logic. It’s people like you who’d drive this country forward!

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Toyota has just killed the Inova.

• harajuku toyota on Mar 04, 2015 at 6:21 pm

This is the real Al-fart, minus the cosmetic surgery performed by Harajuku surgeons.

• Aero (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 6:42 pm

Toyota don’t put airbags, Malaysians complain. Toyota put airbags also, Malaysians still complain.

WTF guys ? So what if UMW Toyota is adding airbags for the HiAce which is a commercial van ? Van drivers are expendable and our lives are more important, is that what you guys are trying to say ?

I congratulate UMW Toyota for improving safety standards in their products, first the Corolla Altis with the Safety Pack option and now the 2015 HiAce with more safety gear on selected models. It is better than nothing. This makes the Toyota HiAce safer than most of those made-in-China vans like the Jinbei Haise, Joylong Komuter, Foton View, Chery Transcom etc. However, I sincerely hope that UMW Toyota can extend their emphasis on safety to their other models, especially the Vios, their best seller in Malaysia. That is all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • ppl is jelly of toyota.
      complain so toyota can reduce price.

Toyota is always no.1 good car – Advanced Reliability.
      Pppl love and hate it at the same time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Sandiwara (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Thats the problem with Malaysian CONsumer
      They are a bigger con than those car manufacturers they complaint about
      Manufacturers give 2 airbags, they complain no 6 airbags
      Manufacturer give 6 airbags they complain no 10 airbags
      Manufacturer give 10 airbags, they say cars are getting too expensive and they complain they cannot afford

Manufacturer put airbags in commercial vehicle they complain that commercial lives are not lives at all but if they dont put or put less in a passenger cars they claims manufacturer dont care about safety and its a moving coffin

Now you see why I argued about airbags when I posted under my previous unregistered nick wayangkulit
      Theres no point putting all the best safety devices in a car driving by people with that sort of mentality/logic

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 7:30 pm

The irony that the more expensive Previa has no VSC…. Toyota, wake up!

• Really on Mar 04, 2015 at 8:28 pm

Considering that the Window Van can carry up to 10 passengers, having ESC certainly go a long way in ensuring safer journeys for those passengers. Now, extend the ESC to other Toyota models.

• I say good on you UMW Toyota for taking this initiative to introduce these active safety features to commercial vehicles. Imagine 10 people lives are at risk. By adding traction control and electronic stability control, it will definitely be a safer choice albeit these features could be extended to all passenger cars as well. For instance, the very base line Toyota Yaris YRS manual in the Australia market (old model of Toyota Vios for Malaysia), have the very basic 6 air-bags, traction control and electronic stability control.

http://www.toyota.com.au/yaris/specifications/yrs-4-door-sedan-manual

• alldisc on Mar 05, 2015 at 12:45 pm

problem when it comes to many airbags and electronics in malaysia – when the cars involved in accident, the workshop not sure how to repair. often, they fixed the car and hide the electronics problems. sweep under the carpet.

this is reason not so good idea for toyota hesitate in the first place.

remember, toyota was one of the earliest to introduce airbags in local market (among japanese makes) some time in 1998 with Camry SXV20 and facelifted Corolla AE111.

Honda and Nissan followed suit later. of course, Ford Laser Lynx had airbags as standard equipment and they were from 1995.

• casta on Mar 05, 2015 at 9:16 pm

really miss the Mitsu Delica van with both side centre doors which no longer in market..

• Philp on Apr 05, 2015 at 5:06 pm

Please la guys! We should say Thank You to Toyota! I used to hate TOYOTA Malaysia because leak of safety features compared to other brands. Now we can see Hiace with VSC, Camry with VSC, Altis with VSC. Keep it up Toyota Malaysia. Equip VSC on HILUX, FORTUNER,INNOVA and VIOS. CONSUMES will appreciate it. LIFE more important. At least will be more confident on the road with VSC equipped.

• saiful on Feb 27, 2016 at 4:04 am

hopefully come with automatic transmission & not just white color only. put some more color option

• Guys, if want to buy this hiace, where can i find a place to modify this vehicle to VIP models?..where all the seats , and interior like VIP one…i try to search, but couldnt find it lah..unless need to send my car to thailand…