2016 Scion iA – it’s a big mouthed Mazda 2 Sedan!

Scion-iA-Main

This is the 2016 Scion iA, just revealed by Toyota’s North American sub-brand at the 2015 New York International Auto Show. If it looks familiar, yes, you’re looking at a Mazda 2 Sedan with a different face. And dominating Scion’s mask is a very, very big mouth. Yay or nay?

Other than Scion’s familiar brand face with a that mega hexagon lower grille, the Scion iA is pure Mazda 2 Sedan, down to the 16-inch wheels. Not much work was done to differentiate the rear end and cabin except for Scion badges replacing Mazda’s wings, but since the original car is not sold in the USA, there won’t be a case of mistaken identity.

Mazda’s 1.5 litre Skyactiv petrol engine with 106 hp lies under the hood, paired to either a six-speed manual (one of the sweetest-shifting manuals around, it is claimed) or six-speed automatic gearbox. Sport Mode is available with the flip of a switch.

The iA is pitched as an entry-level first car that will arrive in dealerships later this year for around $16,000 (RM58,838). The subcompact will ship with cruise control, keyless entry with push start, steering buttons, Bluetooth, seven-inch touchscreen stereo, reverse camera and voice recognition as standard. Plenty of music on demand with Pandora, Aha and Stitcher, too. Navigation is optional.

On the safety front, one gets six airbags and surprisingly, a low-speed laser pre-collision system. The Scion iA’s kit list is very impressive for its class in the States as many of the above are usually cost options.

The Scion iA would do well to shake up the segment like the Mazda 2 did here. Launched in January, the B-segment 2 is available in Malaysia as a sedan or hatchback, both powered by a 1.5 litre high-compression, direct-injected SkyActiv-G engine with 114 hp and 148 Nm, and priced at RM87,956 OTR with insurance. Read our launch report and test drive report.

Mazda 2 Sedan in Malaysia

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 9:33 am

Toyota so lousy, cannot produce own car. Have to rebadge.

:P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • George Abdul on Apr 02, 2015 at 9:35 am

This exactly same like a catfish… A big black catfish.

• 6 airbags – $16000
    2 airbags – RM88000

Everyone living in Malaysia must be so high income.. so high…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • car-fans on Apr 02, 2015 at 10:03 am

Name,

Indeed we all are so ‘rich’ – We need to spend our hard earn $ buying damm expensive car compare to other country.

Thanx to our ‘Caring’ Gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • This Guy on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Ever try to live within your mean?. if you cant afford expensive car then buy cheap car..its all about priority. You will find that by working hard, u will get better result financially rather than non-stop complaining about the govt. that will get u nowhere.

• Proton @ 60k with 6 airbags. You make the choice

• Nissan on Apr 02, 2015 at 9:45 am

i hate proton but this time, i had to admit that proton designer for Inspira is far better than this ugly shit. If it isn’t with Toyota badge, wander it would sell. Toyota, your designer can be thrown to fill the sea of japan.

• Mazda on Aug 09, 2017 at 11:47 pm

I would prefer it than inspira…. u will know why if u owned one….. I’m not a Toyota fan but Toyota survive for many years or maybe more to come for a reason.

• Nathan Ferdinand on Apr 02, 2015 at 9:58 am

Oh, my eyes, dat grille…

Is that the taste of Americans about small sedan?

• wow now scion rebadge mazda?

• roxas on Apr 02, 2015 at 10:15 am

now they will have the chance to know how they built the skyactive and will copy their tech ~

• fauzan on Apr 02, 2015 at 10:17 am

Omg…drop jaw!

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Apr 02, 2015 at 10:53 am

“swallow, swallow, swallow…..”

• farghmee on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:28 am

urghh..”ok”

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:32 pm

with a nicer color sideskirt etc it can also be garang

• Thats a Big BAD mouth …

• azrai on Apr 02, 2015 at 1:52 pm

Wait for scion myvi and axia in near time.

• Jules on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:11 pm

Lol…. they won’t even use their own Vios to rebadge it

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 04, 2015 at 8:20 am

Easy. The previous Vios was sold in the US. It had 6 airbags and stability control, as it was based on the 2nd gen Toyota Yaris. But the “new” Vios is based on the old Vios, but heavily revised and downgraded, as it was only meant for the ASEAN market and other 3rd world countries. So they didn’t bother developing a version with additional airbags and stability control. Creating a spec that is suitable for the US means a lot of development and redesign to make it safe enough, and that’s just not worth it.

• This is insane. Mazda allowing Scion to cannibalize its 2 and 3!

• ryad95 on Apr 03, 2015 at 12:35 am

Read the article again. The Mazda 2 isn’t sold in the US.

• SmartMaz on Apr 03, 2015 at 1:19 pm

The Scion is only for the US market where the Mazda2 will no longer be sold temporarily. Mazda US instead will focus on marketing the new CX3. Mazda also gets income from the Scion IA and has allocated 50,000 unit capacity at their Mexican plant for it. They’ve probably already calculated that they will earn more from the Scion than from the Mazda2 since America is not a big market for B segment cars. Might as well let Toyota do the selling for them. It’s a smart strategy and don’t worry, Mazda holds the patent for Skyactiv. It won’t fall into Toyota’s hands anytime soon.

• Malaysians PT readers reaction should be “what is this shiet, after 50 years still wanna rebadge, world leader oso dunno how to make a small car, real jaguh kampung, only change front & rear bumpers and put their badge, better close shop lah!”

I dare anyone who downvote me to be honest they never wrote/agree with those above about Proton.