VW extends ‘Polo Goes Zero’ deal to Uber drivers

CKD_VW_Polo_1.6_review_Malaysia_ 091

Have you seen Uber’s driver recruitment ads on Facebook? Some, like yours truly, see it every day, and it’s clear that the private driver app is on a expansion drive in Malaysia after clearing some roadblocks.

Volkswagen Malaysia is now working with Uber to give existing Uber Partners (that’s what they call their drivers) an opportunity to buy a Polo under a special package valid until April 30.

Basically, it’s the ongoing ‘Polo Goes Zero’ campaign offering the Polo 1.6 and Polo Sedan at zero interest and zero down payment, from RM999 monthly for seven years. In addition, this collaboration will enable Uber Partners to receive a RM200 discount on their first scheduled maintenance and free first year road tax.

2014 Volkswagen Polo Sedan CKD 8

“Uber seamlessly connects riders to drivers who provide a safe, comfortable and reliable service. With our partners potentially using Volkswagen’s high quality cars we know our riders would appreciate its finesse associated with the brand,” said Leon Foong, GM of Uber Kuala Lumpur.

The Polo variants, which are locally-assembled in Pekan, are powered by a 1.6 litre MPI normally-aspirated engine (105 PS/153 Nm) paired to a six-speed torque converter automatic transmission with Tiptronic. The five-door hatch, launched in January 2014, is priced at RM89,888. The Honda City/Toyota Vios-rivalling Polo Sedan retails for RM91,888.

To be eligible, Uber Partners have to provide their latest Uber statement for verification. One can also log on to partners.uber.com to sign up as an Uber partner with the promo code ubervwpolo.

Volkswagen Polo Hatch 1.6

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 23, 2015 at 1:07 pm

I want Passat to be the taxi car!

• drMpower on Apr 23, 2015 at 2:08 pm

why paultan does NOT highlight a case in the States about a woman charged for ‘car ride from a hell’ costed $16,000 (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3050281/Uber-passenger-s-New-York-car-ride-hell-compounded-sent-12-000-bill.html)

i have nothing against Uber. i want a service that can be a trustworthy alternative to the existing system. uber wants to do business then do what it takes to do business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • RazifGti on Apr 23, 2015 at 2:26 pm

Why must forever pick on that 1 rare occurrence issue all the time mate? Look at the bigger picture lah… typical malaysian mentality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • drMpower on Apr 23, 2015 at 8:10 pm

U want more?
        I cant give more because i dont want to be seen anti uber

Missing the point boy
        Uber must not let the service to fail
        For example under taxi service there are procedures to get some to drive one taxi. They follow or not thats another story. Taxi service suckks even with such procedure thats also another story

Uber must comply with whatever rules there to ferry people. Or if they dont then uber is just another sapu car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • Neutral on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:21 am

“I cant give more because i dont want to be seen anti uber”

Either that, or you don’t have these extra cases to speak of. I doubt you’ve taken Uber before to be honest.

• tokmoh. on Apr 23, 2015 at 3:19 pm

dailymail = UK version of utushit.

• old dog on Apr 23, 2015 at 9:34 pm

how about all those local taxi drivers turn rapist, killer, kidnappers? I bet they are so much more cases than Uber. In Bolehland, how many falling apart Protong taxis on the streets are guaranteed registered? and they can pass Puspakom safety?
      I hardly get any local taxi’s that rear windows can be open now.

• tokmoh. on Apr 23, 2015 at 3:03 pm

No ESP, tabouli ini machiem

• anonymous on Apr 23, 2015 at 3:50 pm

Oh no. Now prepare for hopping on a uber and be late due to breakdown! Cannot sell all the VWs think of all means to sell. Let’s see uber drivers got so stupid or not!

• UBER also scare to own one.

lousy Quality + Outdated Uncle Design by VOLKSWAGEN.