VIDEO: Toyota Mirai fuel cell car runs on sh*t, no bull

Calling the Toyota Mirai fuel cell vehicle ‘interesting’ is akin to taking a look at Prince’s fashion sense and then calling it out as ‘unique’. With its quirky, reptilian-esque aesthetics and unorthodox power source, the Toyota Mirai is an oddity in the automotive realm, to say the least.

The Japanese automaker is (probably) well aware of this and has since embarked on a campaign to position its hydrogen-powered sedan as a more relatable product to the average consumer. Said campaign, entitled ‘Fueled by Everything’, aims to highlight the various sources of hydrogen available around us.

One of the sources featured here in the (aptly christened) ‘Fueled by Bullsh*t’ video, is manure. Directed by Morgan Spurlock, of Super Size Me fame, and staring a fuel cell engineer and a dairy farmer, the video shows viewers how cow dung can be processed into useable hydrogen gas.

Without giving away too much, the three minute-long video begins with the collection of fresh waste which is then cycled through and converted into hydrogen. To further prove its credentials, the Toyota Mirai then gets topped up with dung-derived hydrogen fuel before setting off into the distance.

For those more attuned to the ongoings of the automotive industry, the spot doubles as a cheeky jab directed at the non-believers of the hydrogen mantra – most notably among them is Tesla Motors honcho, Elon Musk. The Toyota Mirai was unveiled in 2014 and has since gone on sale in the US for $57,500 (RM207,897).

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Bullshit Toyota, hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Same L0rrrr on Apr 24, 2015 at 2:54 pm

As i said, you won’t go wrong with sushi car, especially Toyota.

Why Toyota so expensive? thanks to your beloved government, almighty proton and the S classes (aka cronies)!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • blaster88 on Apr 24, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Hi Sam, Since you are so full of sh*t, aren’t you going to buy one? Free propulsion for you! How appropriate, Toyota calls this “fuelled by bullsh*t”!!! I rest my case, have a good weekend guys…

• I dun want buy shit!

• ZZalinda on Apr 24, 2015 at 4:03 pm

Now you know why they say Toyota is full of sh*t!

• UMW Mampus on Apr 24, 2015 at 11:26 am

Toyotas are actually pretty good until it reaches the shore of Malaysia and under the dirty hands of UMW.. pfft.. then you get a tin kosong with heavy price tag!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Amazing

• I definitely getting 1 if it reached malaysia. But lpoking of euro 4 fuel oso need to wait for ages.. tis will b here only when I’m in d grave la

• Toyota macai willing pay RM200k buy this golden shit, well done Toyota

• shawal on Apr 24, 2015 at 1:29 pm

When you are creating another fuel source for energy, you are basically giving existing energy companies to continue dominate the energy market and consumers would never be truly free, we would have more cows in enclosure to produce cow dung and poorer quality of life for them, more cases of animal abuse..
    Hydrolysis of water uses alot of energy and its a complex process..
    Creating and storing hydrogen is no easy task, and only conglomerates could participate in managing them…

That is why TESLA is not welcomed by many lawmakers in the US, to protect the energy companies and lobbyists, even their direct selling method to cut the middle man is not welcomed by the automotive dealer’s association of ameri a, another strong lobbyists

Elon musk is trying to create a sustainable affordable (soon) world of electric mobility in which we would have many eco powered supercharger stations, powered by solar, wind and vibrations energy source…

And (they have shown a demo of this) battery swapping tech which takes less 3 minutes, if everyone uses tesla and agrees to battery swapping, we all could save precious amounts of time and wont have to charge the cars over long journeys…

Batteries are recyclable, and available in abundance, and could be made using various source material…

I see the future of mobility consisting of pure EVs and hybrid of EVs with a range extender powered by 100% biofuel

Hydrogen is just to complex

• Josh Ling on Apr 24, 2015 at 2:49 pm

i welcome any new technology, especially technologies relating to alternative energy source, in car industry, but can they at least make the car look “normal” a bit, and not so alien-ish??

for me, this is almost like you wear a hat made of grass, a shirt in bright green colour, a short made of leaves in bright blue colour some more, with a pair of bright pink sandals, and shout to the people “hey, look at me. i am really different from you guys!”. too loud and weird.

• CarLover on Apr 24, 2015 at 2:57 pm

It looks like Steven Spielberg’s idea on put every trash inside DeLorean fuel tank will come true..hehe

• blaster88 on Apr 24, 2015 at 4:32 pm

What?!!! Why need to take from cows? I am sure Samlorrr is full of sh*t!!!!