Toyota Mirai FCV reaches UK ahead of European debut

Toyota-Mirai-UK

The first Toyota Mirai fuel cell vehicles have arrived at Toyota’s import centre at Portbury, near Bristol in the UK. The cars, landed on Saturday, are part of the first consignment to reach Europe ahead of Mirai’s official launch there in September.

The world’s first mass-produced fuel cell saloon will be offered in selected European markets – the UK, Germany and Denmark – where hydrogen fuel supply and retail infrastructure is being developed. The limited units available in UK this year have already been snapped up, mainly by business and corporate customers.

“This marks the debut of a new age for clean mobility, a turning point in the history of the automobile. With Mirai and its fuel cell technology, Toyota is working on delivering clean, safe and enjoyable mobility for the next 100 years. As with Prius 15 years ago, we are proud to bring yet another ground-breaking innovation to the marketplace,” said Karl Schlicht, executive VP of Toyota Motor Europe.

Mirai – the name means “future” in Japanese – is designed to be as convenient to drive as a conventional petrol-powered car. Hydrogen fuel is stored on board in high pressure tanks and used to generate electricity in a chemical reaction with oxygen in a fuel cell stack. The energy produced is used to drive the car, with the only tailpipe emissions being water vapour.

The stack is located under the driver and front passenger seats and offers 3.1 kW/L of power output density, and other figures include a total output of 153 hp, a 0-100 km/h time of 9.0 seconds and a 40-60 km/h acceleration time of 3.0 seconds.

Refuelling from empty takes between three and five minutes at the pumps and Mirai has a driving range similar to conventionally powered vehicles. In the US, where the Mirai hit the market in the third quarter, it has an EPA-estimated driving range rating of 502 km on a single fill of hydrogen.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• UMW Lancau on Aug 14, 2015 at 10:13 am

If this car is sold in Malaysia, the VSC will be taken out and we will be given 2 airbags. If UMW can, they will give 1 airbag or take out the safety belts to save cost.

That is UMW in Malaysia, untung lebih but at the expense of the lives of Toyota owners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • pls get a life on Aug 14, 2015 at 10:21 am

screw you la. another poison comment.

• Mari Bercukur on Aug 14, 2015 at 10:42 am

Why? We must bercukur is it when we are given compromise and less safety spec?

• No Brains on Aug 14, 2015 at 11:00 am

Rm42b hilang also people say itu muslihat pembangkang and kerja Yahudi

• camtakpro on Aug 14, 2015 at 10:24 am

Can’t sell here. We are not that advance. They want you to donate to cronies (Petronas and friends) and cronies (TNB).

Unless they have assigned another relative to cater liquid hydrogen station… then yeah, it will be in.

But then again, if you could buy this, maybe you are better off with 320d on Euro5 diesel.

• ProtonExpert66 on Aug 14, 2015 at 10:25 am

UMW salesman put a gun on your forehead and forces u to buy a toyota without 6 airbags and VSC?? If not, u just refuse to buy it as simple as that..what to complain? without toyota we will die? choose our Proton ! Continental feel with Lotus DNA implanted. Zoom-Zoom-Proton!

• Dumbno Comments on Aug 14, 2015 at 10:56 am

Bodoh comment. This is why all car companies are giving us less. Please dont be dumbno

• Atas Kosong on Aug 14, 2015 at 11:04 am

Give the happy go lucky people car with no airbag also they say very good. Janji can procreate and bang

• Bad news for Petronas