Hyundai Creta not coming to Malaysia anytime soon, “to be considered” after 2017; new Tucson this year

Creta_1

Bad news, folks. It appears that the Hyundai Creta will not be coming to Malaysia anytime soon. A Hyundai official told paultan.org that the compact SUV will only “be considered” for our market after 2017. That’s no confirmation – it just means that a local introduction will be studied two years from now.

Why the delay? Apparently, it will take some time to bring the Creta – which was designed for the Indian market and is already on sale there – aligned to European regulations, which Malaysian-bound vehicles now have to adhere too. So if you’re interested in buying one, you’ll have to wait a little while longer.

The Hyundai Creta is an instant success in India. It topped 30,000 bookings within months of its launch, and the waiting period for certain models is now as long as 10 months. We’ve seen a similarly immediate, unprecedented response to the Honda HR-V here, which, interestingly, is also a B-segment compact SUV.

hyundai_tucson_2

On a more positive note, we’ve been told that the third-generation Hyundai Tucson is likely to arrive here in Malaysia sometime this year. That’s not such a surprise, of course, as we’ve already seen the new CR-V-sized SUV being transported on local roads.

On the question of engine variants, the latest Tucson will arrive with standard 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated motors first, similar to the American markets. Whether we will see the turbocharged 1.6 litre T-GDI and diesel engine options that are offered in Europe is yet undecided, so don’t hold your breath just yet.

So, that’s one good news, one bad one. What’s your take on this?

Hyundai Creta

Third-generation Hyundai Tucson

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Dannielle on Aug 20, 2015 at 2:12 pm

I don’t think that’s a bad news at all because Hyundai Creta is only for sell in a country that needs a budget car like India and I am please that Hyundai doesn’t think our country is “budget”

• Lawak Bodoh on Aug 20, 2015 at 2:18 pm

G: U pickup I nanti pakai apa?
    B: Creta lah.
    G: Yer kereta apa?
    B: Creta lah.
    G: …. (Merajuk!)

• mohsin on Aug 20, 2015 at 2:48 pm

I thought that Santa Fe is always same size with CRV! that’s mean Tucson is not a compact SUV!
    my mistake

• Knowing HSDM well, the new tucson would probably be an underspecced overpriced suv. If there is any plan for a ckd, it would likely be in the market after 4 years which by that time the suv would be outdated.