SPYSHOTS: Third-gen Hyundai Tucson caught in M’sia

spyshots-hyundai-tucson-in-malaysia-6

Looks like the third-generation Hyundai Tucson has already arrived in Malaysia – this particular unit spotted on a trailer was photographed by one of our readers, Zulhairy Amiruddin. With that said, the actual launch of the all-new SUV is still far off from the looks of this relatively low-spec unit, probably brought in for the people of Hyundai Malaysia to familiarise themselves with.

So while there’s not much that we can deduce from the shots you see here, allow us to get you up to speed with the 2016 Hyundai Tucson. Said SUV made its global debut at the 2015 Geneva Motor Show in March before going on to premiere in the US at this year’s New York International Auto Show (2015 NYIAS).

Aside from a completely new look, outside and in, one should also note that the third-generation Hyundai Tucson has dropped its ix35 moniker as a whole. Up front, the Tucson sports a bold, hexagonal front grille flanked by LED projector headlights while the rear features LED tail lamps, a tailgate spoiler and twin “bevel-cut” chrome exhaust outlets.

Click to enlarge images.

Globally, a total of five engine choices are made available – two petrol and three diesels. Beginning on the gasoline side of things, a 1.6 litre GDI engine with 135 PS sits alongside a turbocharged 1.6 litre T-GDI mill with 175 PS – US models are equipped with the latter and a 2.0 litre four-cylinder petrol unit. As for diesel options, three turbodiesel mills are present, a 115 PS 1.7 litre, a 136 PS 2.0 litre and a 184 PS 2.0 litre.

On the inside, the cabin boasts a new architecture that sees a standard five-inch LCD touchscreen with reverse camera feature as standard. Other conveniences include a powered tailgate and Smart Parking Assist System (SPAS) with both parallel and head-on parking capabilities.

With such a comprehensive list of equipment, the third-generation Hyundai Tucson is more than ready to take on its rivals from Honda, Mazda, Kia and the like. Don’t keep us waiting for too long now, Hyundai Malaysia.

GALLERY: US-spec third-generation Hyundai Tucson

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 05, 2015 at 5:56 pm

Please wait patiently. Cheap used second gen Tucson will be available soon. You can expect anything but not RV from kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
  • STEEL RIMS??? The last time I check, the calendar shows it’s year 2015!

• roxas on Aug 05, 2015 at 10:26 pm

steel rims are still widely used in low spec models over the world, even europe or japan

• toyotarubbish on Aug 05, 2015 at 11:03 pm

It still better than your Prius cheapo looking rims

• das auto on Aug 06, 2015 at 1:36 pm

I’d rather have steel rims , 6-speed auto and vsc rather than alloy rims, bodykit and dino 4-speed auto with no vsc.

• Husky on Aug 05, 2015 at 6:10 pm

130k with GST is too ambitious for Tucson…RIP

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 05, 2015 at 7:19 pm

Really, good luck and God save them. The Tucson name itself gives nightmares, thanks to the first gen that looked ugh, and the second gen that was overpriced and had poor finish.

The current second generation Tucson has been a mess really. It looked good on paper and in the showroom – until you actually sat in it and played around with it. It really went downhill when the CKD started, and things just felt cheap and crappy. Not to mention the 2.0 was underpowered as… Just drive one of the Tucson Sport 2.0, it is just so unrefined, and feels like an early 2000s Hyundai.

The irony though, cause the Santa Fe was a complete opposite, which made it quite appealing as it was just quality you could feel from the seats to the fit and finish and sound deadening. The only reason why the Tucson sold ok was cause it did have the full safety suite, 6 airbags etc when at the time, the base CX-5 didn’t exist. But now with the base 2.0 CX-5 coming in at 126k, it was way cheaper than even the base Tucson. And even the Sportage was better equipped for the price (though it too had limited appeal due to the less practical but good looking design).

Hyundai could probably introduce the base 2.0, with the 6 airbags and VSM and all for about 126k as well. Anything more, and they can fly kites, cause the CX-5 would just be a much better car than the Tucson, assuming the new one will be following the current one’s quality standards.

• Joshua Chong on Aug 05, 2015 at 8:22 pm

I think the car is transport to ipoh, cos the trailer is from ipoh-based company, nikaijaya lws,which sold Nissan, mitsubishi n suzuki at jln kampar

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 05, 2015 at 10:15 pm

When it finally arrives here we’ll have a bare bone Tucson courtesy of you know who.

• You will have to thank our G and SD for the brand image and result in Bolehland.

If you come to Australia, 2nd gen Tucson (known as IX35) has been fairly popular in Australia and Hyundai as a brand has been competing well with the boys like Toyota and Mazda. I owned one of the best selling model i30, for $25K, I get 16″ alloy wheels, keyless entry, push start, dual zone air conditioning, 7″ infotainment system with GPS n reserve camera and the list goes on. Whereas compared to Bolehland, for RM130K, what are we getting?

Please don’t get me wrong, I am not trying to show off here. I merely wanted to illustrate that how a good brand can be mismanaged and wasted.

• Ken Wong on Sep 02, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Why is malaysia always having lousy components compared to the other countries? The alloy rims on the US specs is what makes the whole car looks great. I saw the spy shots above and realised, again again again, they give Malaysian Hyundais the bad alloy wheels. I am waiting to buy this car but if they come with those Malaysian version rims, it is not worth it.!!!!!!