Land Rover Discovery Sport launched, from RM399k

Land_Rover_Discovery_Sport_Malaysia_ 001

It has been a long time coming, and finally, it’s here.

We did have a preview of the Land Rover Discovery Sport back in May, but now we can officially reveal that Jaguar Land Rover Malaysia has launched the all-new model here. Two variants of the Discovery Sport are available: a 2.0 litre Si4 Petrol with 240 PS and 340 Nm of torque and a 2.2 litre SD4 Diesel with 190 PS and 420 Nm of torque.

The petrol model gets to 100 km/h in 8.2 seconds, on to a top speed of 199 km/h. It’s claimed to consume an average of 8.2 litre per 100 km. The diesel, meanwhile, takes 8.9 seconds to reach 100 km/h, and has a lower top speed of 188 km/h. Economy is better, of course, at just 6.3 l/100 km. Both variants use a ZF 9HP48 nine-speed automatic transmission, controlled through a rotary knob.

The Discovery Sport is essentially a 5+2 seater that effectively replaces the outgoing Freelander 2. At 4,590 mm long, it’s 239 mm shorter than the Discovery 4, with a 2,741 mm wheelbase. Its overall design is bold yet progressive, and through the powered tailgate is a loading space of up to 1,698 litres with all rear seats folded. Land Rover claims that its multi-link rear axle and body shell that has a mix of high-strength steel and lightweight aluminium bring together best-in-class off-road performance and agility.

Land_Rover_Discovery_Sport_Malaysia_ 004

All-terrain performance is pretty impressive, with a wading depth of 600 mm and the Terrain Response System that allows steering, throttle response, gearbox, centre-coupling and braking/stability systems to be precisely tailored to the demands of the terrain. It has four settings, specifically, General, Grass/Gravel/Snow (for slippery conditions), Mud and Ruts, and Sand.

Moreover, JLR claims that the variants offered in Malaysia can also scale gradients of 45 degrees, which is 14 degrees more than the closest rival SUVs. Apparently, if customers wish to do so, the lower trim on the front bumper can also be removed to increase the approach angle even further.

As standard, the Discovery Sport comes with eight-way powered front seats, configurable mood lighting, electric parking brake and cruise control. Interestingly, the keyless entry for the vehicle is officially listed as a ‘passive entry system with a push start button’, so convenience is still a top priority. Alongside the 5.0-inch colour display within the instrument panel, an 8.0-inch centre touch-screen is also included, which has navigation (RM6,672), Bluetooth streaming and reverse camera functions.

Three interior colour options are offered – Ebony (all black), Cirrus/Lunar (cream and grey) and Glacier/Lunar (grey on grey) – to be matched with the 12 exterior shades available.

Available as options are Park Assist with parallel and perpendicular parking (RM4,446), automatic high beam assist, lane departure warning, panoramic roof(RM5,926) and a 17-speaker Meridian-powered sound system (RM8,886), as well as driver and passenger seats with vents for cooling (RM5,440). A ‘Black Design Pack’ is also on offer for customers at RM14,440, and it includes a gloss-black grille, door mirror caps, front fender vents, ‘Discovery’ bonnet script, contrast roof and tailgate badging and choice of 19-inch or 20-inch wheels.

As standard, the Disco Sport rolls on 18-inch wheels. It should be noted that the launch vehicle during the event sported 20-inch wheels, which is not part of the ‘Black Design Pack’, as that option only comes with 19-inch wheels.

In terms of active and passive safety advances, the vehicle has a total of seven airbags: driver and passenger, knee, side curtain and thorax airbags. Other notable features include Hill Descent Control (HDC), Gradient Release Control (GRC), Anti-Lock Braking System (ABS), Electronic Traction Control (ETC), Hill Start Assist, Roll Stability Control (RSC), and Dynamic Stability Control (DSC).

The Land Rover Discovery Sport 2.0L Si4 Petrol is priced at RM399,000 (without insurance, road tax and registration fees). The 2.2L SD4 Diesel’s pricing, meanwhile, is available on request only. Jaguar Land Rover has recently upgraded its warranty package, and the vehicle now comes with a five-year or 300,000 km warranty, five years or 80,000 km of free scheduled maintenance and a three-year roadside assistance service.

We’ve driven the L550 Land Rover Discovery Sport – read our snow-filled adventure with the new Landie in Iceland.

Land Rover Discovery Sport with Black Design Pack + options

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Jilbaber2 on Aug 21, 2015 at 11:26 am

Hmm..I’ll go for new Sorento over this one since got same but more powerful engine and bigger in size…

• tricycle on Aug 21, 2015 at 3:02 pm

The second best warranty so far after Mercedes 4 year unlimited mileage. But Land Rover better it with free service up to 80,000km or 5 year.

• OMG…Expensive crap spotted….

• sputjam on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:09 pm

sorento now very good value. hyundai santa fe also good.

• John Doe on Aug 21, 2015 at 11:29 am

399K you have gotta be joking. I’d rather buy an evoquethat looks so much better on the inside and outside. was expecting 300 and below. Really dumb move Land Rover Malaysia.

• John Doe on Aug 21, 2015 at 11:31 am

399k ?!?! Insane pricing. Rather buy an evoque which is cheaper and looks a lot more better on the outside and inside. Plus those last 2 seats are pretty cramped and uncomfortable. Really really dumb move Land Rover. Was expecting something of the likes of below 300K ! Over priced rubbish

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 21, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Uh I beg to differ, the Evoque is now selling @ RM415k no thanks to GST.

Also if you look at Land Rover UK pricing, its also retailing about the same as the Evoque too. The reason why its so expensive is because its riding on the Discovery name which essentially an upgrade in status.

But still I think they will move some units – not as many as the Evoque but we’ll see some on the road coz is the cheapest Land Rover for some.

• DonkeyKong on Aug 21, 2015 at 11:41 am

For those who are complaining about how cramped this car is while praising the Evoque, I guess you guys haven’t sat in an Evoque before?

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 21, 2015 at 1:41 pm

I think so too. The Evoque’s 2 rear doors are tiny and since its wheelbase so short the ride comfort is screwed. I didn’t like it when I swapped my car for my friend’s Evoque for a week to try it out.

I even tried carrying some Ikea stuff in it and it isn’t that easy for fear of damaging the interior as your boot opening isn’t all that wide.

• Lewis Hamilton on Aug 22, 2015 at 12:53 am

Hello all u ppl…

400k is overpriced for this piece of crap yes…

But so is Evoque… overpriced

I’d rather just top up a little bit and settle for the sweet Macan. ..

Some more don’t have to deal with stupid dealers like…. sime or sisma.

So Camon. .. let’s walk away from this one.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 21, 2015 at 11:44 am

Wow, this is really dead on arrival.

Tell me, why would anyone want to pay so much for what is essentially a Land Rover. The 5 sear Evoque is not more expensive, and is only a tad smaller – yet it looks much better, built much better and has more toys.

These guys are nuts. Just wait till the pre-registered units come.

• what a pity greedy LR

• now, there is more hue of India Styling.

This is what happened when Tata taken Land Rover.
    more and more engineer working in Land Rover, from Tata.

• Rm399k is really premium for such basic interior (plastic). In the range of a Porsche Macan. XC60 is a much better bet.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 21, 2015 at 1:36 pm

True but remember that this Land Rover is the only kid in the class that ferries 7 people n that’s what they have been talking about all this while. If you want another 7 seater SUV you will have to downgrade to some Korean brand.

But saying that I’d wait for the pre-reg units…

• nabill (Member) on Aug 21, 2015 at 1:10 pm

Very silly price… And yess the evoque is jus too small if ur anything more than 170cm…in msia nobody gives a najib(u c what i did there!) about its 4×4 credential and all terrain grandmother story… Feels like 99k overpriced…

• Adahudin on Sep 04, 2015 at 3:05 pm

You dont use 400K vehicle into the jungle anyway…why pay for accessories you dont need…

• Komenggurun on Aug 21, 2015 at 1:17 pm

Its start from rm 399…better look for porsche macan or evoqe..even these 2 suv is only 5 seater but u will get more toys from them..or probably go for opt. Current disco..even better u can buy pre-reg range rover autobiography 2010-2012..for me its out from my budget will wait for 2016 sorento then.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 21, 2015 at 1:25 pm

I guess it pretty much tallies with Land Rover UK pricing and they are pushing the fact that it seats 7 and there is nth much the lads in Land Rover Bolehland can do since the price has gone up in its home country.

Depending on spec selection it will cost more than the Evoque but Land Rover Bolehland decided to take out some features to entice people here. We’re missing the surround cameras and the keyless entry for all doors and one important thing to note is that we’re using the OLD DIESEL ENGINE while the rest of the world is on the new 2.0 Litre TD4 Diesel so that’s why the price is on request only!

• neutral on Aug 21, 2015 at 1:50 pm

doesn’t make sense that the new XC90, a car a class above this one, will come in with a tentative pricing of 460k and this is 400k. Expected Sisma to price it around 350k to compete with X3/Q5…now it’s competing with Macan. Wtf Sisma….WTF…

• Look good. Interested. But there is 1 question. Is this petrol engine from ford 2.0 ecoboost? I saw complains over the engine problems.

• shawal on Aug 21, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Haha, i remembered saying d preview unit looks hideous, with the white paint and proton preve rims, at least now they brought a proper unit on display….

But…if they really want to push few units onto the road they need to slash d price AND make the black pack standard, d car looks no different from a toyota rush without it

• Naz Bartowski on Aug 21, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Buy Dicovery 4 instead of dis dull looking disco sport. i own discovery 4 and i can say, it has comfortable handling and quite powerful torque when overtaking compared to other 4×4

• for the price i would rather get the lexus RX..

• mr_em on Aug 21, 2015 at 3:59 pm

No thanks to the worsening exchange rates too… 1 GBP = RM6.5….

But for a Landie it is a class below a Range Rover…

• As a comparison, the 2.0 Si4 is selling for less than the Lexus NX 2.0t luxury in Singapore so it should really be marketed at less than RM360k here!

• CooShyRee on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:35 pm

To be honest, I don’t mind the price. In fact it’s within the ballpark of what I was expecting, in the region of the evoque. But for that same price, u get a slightly more practical car, albeit a bit less attractive than the evoque, n without the more posh range rover name. What I can’t stand is JLR for that price, thought it was a superbly wise decision to leave out even a proper keyless entry!!!!! I mean come on JLR, even a rubbish Toyota has it now these days…. N wats up wit still bringing in the old 2.2 diesel units?? Where are the ingenium diesels???

• Mamasan on Aug 21, 2015 at 10:16 pm

Overpriced piece of crap. Period!

• I ate on Aug 21, 2015 at 10:45 pm

I think this will sell

• if u want an SUV just to lord over people who drive smaller vehicles, buy Sorento, sportage, or if ur rich can go for the pompous and preposterous macan, evoque, or BMW x3 or audi q3/q5. but if u one something that can do the same trick and can also go off-road, which is the point of SUVs after all, then this is the one u should get.

• Dash look cheap and doesn’t reflect a british car at all..no wonder china can easily copy

• sputjam on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:08 pm

too expensive thanks to the currency, british pounds. german cars cheaper thank to euro being so low.
    At RM399k, its more expensive than lexus RX with a 2 litre turbo engine which is one class bigger.
    let us wait for new VW tiguan with 7 seats to compare prices.

• Deborah Waldorf on Apr 19, 2016 at 11:18 pm

this is unbelievable… overprice ! I immediately don’t have the desire to purchase this car. Would go fr something else..
    – the seats.., engine.. omg..