Alami Proton open day at Proton COE this Oct 3-4

It’s back! The Alami Proton open day carnival at the national carmaker’s Centre of Excellence in Shah Alam is scheduled from October 3-4, running from 10 am to 7 pm daily. Admittance to the event is free.

The event has always been about giving the public a 360-degree experience of the brand, so expect a range of activities for the whole family, such as musical performances, racing simulators to in-depth displays on every part of the design process that is uniquely Proton.

Last year, prospective customers were able to test drive Proton, R3, and Lotus models, including the new Proton Iriz. There was a lucky draw for visitors, with a variety of prizes on offer, including bicycles, motorcycles and even an Iriz.

Also showcased were products and services of its vendors – relevant offerings from companies such as Robert Bosch, TRW, Delloyd Industries and KYB-UMW Malaysia were featured in the 2014 outing.

<em>Alami Proton</em> open day at Proton COE this Oct 3-4

Previously, the manufacturer also allowed the public to have a walk-through experience at its Research & Development (R&D) centre and its Medium Volume Factory (MVF) where the Inspira and Exora are made, so hopefully this part of the tour will be retained.

If it does, there should be an opportunity for visitors to try their hand at sculpting scaled-down clay models while also experiencing what happens behind the scenes as designers make their ideas become reality.

Ultimately, there is always a surprise in store for visitors at these open day events – The Iriz Active was unveiled by Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad at the Alami Proton event last year. So what could Proton be planning this year? Well folks, block out these dates in October and find out!

Gallery of the 2014 Alami Proton event

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• brazbuz on Sep 23, 2015 at 10:42 am

Proton basher should take this opportunity to visit the rnd and go for plant tour

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 23
    • basher on Sep 23, 2015 at 10:57 am

Tak payah lah, rakyat sudah alami Proton for 30 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 21
      • Same L0rrrr on Sep 23, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Proton CEO should take this opportunity to officially apologize to Malaysian.
        Because of Proton, Malaysian have to suffer poor quality Proton or ridiculously expensive foreign cars.
        Look at VW CEO, be the man, do the right thing!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 19
        • kampung boy on Sep 23, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Karnival jom heboh syok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
          • Albert on Sep 23, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Oct 2015 Alami Proton Carnival
            Nov 2015 Jom Heboh Carnival
            Dec 2015 10K-20K Price cuts on unsold stocks…SUPER DUPER BARGAINS
            jAN/FEB 2016 CNY promotions
            April 1,2016 Announcement..Protong lost another RM600Juta…bringing a total of RM2.1 Billion 3 year in a row losses.
            June 1…Proton decides to chop off everyone,except Tun.DRB declares they have enough of losses and call it a day.SAYORNARA.

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 23, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Proton 6S principles:
            1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Selalu Discount
            5. Sales Carnival
            6. Siapa pun Tak Beli

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
    • The keybod warriors will just say P1 dun do RND just rebadge accordana, plant is like shit, kroni, korup, tongkat, ete, etc, etc. No need pry their asses from the chair to go see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
      • Ocean deep on Sep 23, 2015 at 1:10 pm

‘Alami Proton’ sounds like a horror themed show. They should rename it ‘Alamak, Proton!’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
      • Same L0rrrr on Sep 23, 2015 at 1:56 pm

Rebadge or full R&D, who care?! We only care if you can make good and cheap car. That’s why Perodua is doing so well.
        Meaningless thing like 100% R&D is just for you and Tun’s Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok only. No one give a shit!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • haha! on Sep 23, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Bought a Preve on that carnival last year. Almost a year and still happy with that car. FYI, I owned a 2010 Saga BLM and 2009 NEO. There’s lot of improvement in Proton cars. Drive to believe it. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Passerby on Sep 24, 2015 at 3:17 am

happy? r u sure? or u happy with the super duper high FC engine drink fuel like water and every month go workshop just claim a button?

• Speaking of Iris Active concept, I actually thought that it’s a good concept with brilliant play on the color combination of grey and orange (sucker for orange)… 13.3 infotainment system on top of the rooftop LCD monitor..
    Have they canned the concept? They should really introduced it though… I want one

• Same L0rrr on Sep 23, 2015 at 11:12 am

Buy Toyota better! Good RV!

Proton bad RV.. Buy Proton Preve RM60K on 2013, now only can sell RM25K on 2015! Bad RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 33
    • vw arena on Sep 23, 2015 at 1:02 pm

Hopefully u r the one who had been crashed by those rempits at kesas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • dingdong on Sep 23, 2015 at 2:15 pm

When you can’t argue on some fact, you curse ppl to death.
        Don’t embarrass VW or Arena. you piece of crap.

• Rashuk Khan2 on Sep 23, 2015 at 1:34 pm

How Same Lorr know RV for Preve so bad….r u Preve owner? but I doubt…Pls don’t create bull shit story…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • superman on Sep 23, 2015 at 11:17 am

TOTAL WASTE OF TIME. a well educated person never waste time there. what to see? cronies and outdated tech????? also seeing drb bosses thinking they are gods from Olympus!!!! get real

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
    • Pdfreader on Sep 24, 2015 at 11:07 am

You dun read kah?

• It’s not only about Proton. Last year, you have the chance to look into new technologies from international company such as Schaeffler, Bosch and many more. For engineering student like me, I even have the chance to inquire about internship with them… For me, the test drive, factory visit and other activities are just a bonus…

• quadexhaustmyvi on Sep 23, 2015 at 11:33 am

My quad exhaust myvi extreme turbo still can smoke Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • jobless on Sep 23, 2015 at 11:36 am

if they pay me Rm50 and free bus ride sure go

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Great oppurtunity for Proton Bashers to actually experience what is Proton up to! went there last year and it totally changed my mindset on Proton. Experience it for yourself before talking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • Alfian on Sep 23, 2015 at 1:06 pm

Exterior-wise, I have to say the Iriz is quite pleasing to the (well, at least my) eye :) The features aren’t bad either.

My (and this might only be me) gripe with Proton however is the ridiculous issues post purchase. The minor issues such as with wipers, even the power windows, central locks etc. should have already been phased out. Yet, many still face these ‘small’ yet annoying issues. SC’s are now dedicated to resolve these issues, and in some cases, they don’t actually get resolved.

Anywhowz, I am no basher. I love the direction Proton is taking. But I’d prefer if they focus more attention on making the car a drive-able car, with no (or less) small issues :) Exterior wise, OK laaaah for a Malaysian car. Quality kasi increase dan perbaik, then it would be EXCCELENTE!!! :D

• Passerby on Sep 24, 2015 at 3:21 am

jangan sendiri cakap sendiri syok la… go buy 1 urself than talk here like bullshit… experience the underpowered high FC engine and rosak here rosak there quality…
        i own 1 and this will be my first and last…
        same with all my friends…

• Syphere on Sep 24, 2015 at 11:03 am

Where got 2.0l n/a japs engine here does 205Nm torque? Get tour fact right. FC is more frugal. Dun compare 2.0l power equivalent engine with 1.5l engine. Thats plain stupid

• High FC. Agree, underpower? Disagree except for the automatic transmission. at first you will ‘maki’ but after about a month or so I don’t care anymore and it feels exciting actually.

• kimchian on Sep 23, 2015 at 1:56 pm

In the end you still buy Perodua. Proven Toyota quality.

• Ir Shukor on Sep 23, 2015 at 12:01 pm

COE parking is terrible. Full with unsold proton cars. No place for visitor to park.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • Aero (Member) on Sep 23, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Ahhh the timing… 2 days before by sem final Engineering exams…

Screw the exams, still gonna go. BOTH DAYS at that !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • kimchian on Sep 23, 2015 at 1:54 pm

Still got next year event again. Better go study, kiddo.

• Aero (Member) on Sep 23, 2015 at 3:33 pm

To be honest, this whole year has been one of the most demotivating and miserable years of my life, mostly because of my studies, but not exclusively. Engineering is hard, yes, but that’s not my biggest gripe. What really bothers me is that sense of uncertainty for my future; I don’t know what or where I’ll be in 2 or 3 years time, let alone 10.

Going to events like this Alami Proton provides invaluable insight, because I get to see a small part of what the automotive industry is like. Last year’s Alami Proton had a factory tour of the MVF plant, where the Exora and Inspira were made. I was honestly quite surprised at how much goes into a car… it’s not simple. When you actually see how a new car goes from an empty shell all the way to the final car wash… you will never look at a car the same way again. And don’t think any car company would simply offer public tours of their precious plants either, let alone FREE tours, like Proton had generously offered previously.

I don’t mind losing some marks in the exams if it means being offered a glimpse of a future that I’m most probably heading toward. The sooner one can realize how the world works, the better their chances will be at surviving and prospering.

• saya dah besar on Sep 24, 2015 at 6:13 am

lol budak baru nak up… study pun tak habis lagi …patut la jadi fanboy tegar proton… tak tau apa lagi… camtu la…

• jobless on Sep 23, 2015 at 2:45 pm

despite the “glowing” review by local media, i totally cannot tahan looking at the super ugly butt of Supima, Preve and nw Iriz…tis issue alone is a deal breaker…and ALAMI NIGHTMARE everyday for the rest of yur life due to the quality…look at the Iriz paint colors.looked like from ah beng shop

• Passerby on Sep 24, 2015 at 3:26 am

fullu agree… proton car is getting ugly amd ugly… same with toyota… moving backwards…
      nowadays when comparing with the korean i can feel a huge gap between them…
      last week i saw an super ugly suprimaks with a stylish i40 next to it…
      1 ugly ghost and 1 beauty baby

• Iriz is a good looking car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Fadilah on Sep 23, 2015 at 5:35 pm

Tricking all the innocent rakyaks to buy their junk crap shit products

Sick carnival

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6