Toyota Land Cruiser 70 set to be 5-star ANCAP-rated

Toyota Land Cruiser 70 series-05

Going on strong for over three decades now, the Toyota Land Cruiser 70-series still remain viable vehicles today, and no more so than Down Under – Toyota Australia recently announced that the 70-series will be getting significant safety updates come middle of next year.

Updates include vehicle stability control, brake assist and cruise control, which will be added across the range to the LC79 (both single and double cab), the LC76 Wagon and the LC78 Troop Carrier.

The updates are designed to deliver the maximum five-star ANCAP safety rating for the best-selling 70 Series single cab, which will also gain curtain-shield and driver’s knee airbags as part of the improvements. Driver and front-passenger airbags were made standard across the range in 2009, with ABS added in 2012.

Toyota Australia said that the brand worked closely with employees in the mining, agriculture, construction, communication support and recreation to bring about these developments, stating that the changes will secure the future of the 70-series, Toyota’s “heartland vehicle” in Australia.

Since 1985, Toyota has sold over 250,000 Land Cruiser 70 series in Australia. Throughout those years, the range has been extensively updated with turbodiesel engines, coil front springs and now even with Bluetooth connectivity. Today, the entire 4×4 range is equipped with a 1VD-FTV 4.5 litre V8 turbodiesel engine paired to a five-speed manual.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Unknown anonymous on Sep 25, 2015 at 11:52 am

Sure it was rated 5 star ancap ?? Is there a video ??

• My father used to have one of this model in the 90s but bad since sold it off for the newer FJ100… He ferried me to school with LC 70 (sweet memories)… Should the grey importer brings it in, I’ll consider buying one for the emotion and not $$$ purpose.

• Good, just don’t cheat emission test.

• jim labu on Sep 25, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Toyota’s SUV’s never really caught my eyes but the 4Runner TRD Pro…damn, what a beauty!

• Good, Toyota is becoming safer

• Chee Huat on Sep 25, 2015 at 3:14 pm

Toyota has been safe all this while. Just the Toyota Malaysia has different case here, cutting off the safety features to suit the price range

• gaviny on Sep 25, 2015 at 1:30 pm

legendary if specced with full diff locks fron, rear, centre

• albag on Sep 25, 2015 at 2:15 pm

classic yet reliable

• The legendary that sustain longer than Landrover Defender.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 25, 2015 at 2:40 pm

ISIS wdnt have existed without those ridiculously robust and reliable Cruisers !
    i guarantee you will smile when u see one on the road , its comes with bags of nostalgia with it , love this thing…!

• I rather buy Land Wind than Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Head Hunter on Sep 26, 2015 at 4:47 am

If only they sell the twin cab and single cab commercial variants, I’d buy them in a heartbeat. Dependable and reliable for business, it is miles better than the Hilux. The Hilux is good for a few years, then you change to a new one. This one lasts forever, my uncle still has 3, rusty but still running like it was only bought yesterday. A contractor’s dream truck.