Suzuki Ignis – new ‘compact crossover’ for Tokyo 2015

Suzuki Ignis Concept-01

There will be quite a lot to look forward to at next month’s 2015 Tokyo Motor Show and here’s one, the new Suzuki Ignis. The small car expert calls it a compact crossover, and it should sit below the new Vitara in Suzuki’s range.

Suzuki says that the Ignis, accurately previewed by the iM-4 concept from Geneva 2015, straddles the boundary between daily life and leisure, with a high eye point and generous ground clearance that allows for “confident driving on snowy roads and rough tracks.” Unique and very cute to these eyes, like the latest Alto.

Accompanying the raised hatch is a bolder Ignis Trail Concept, which boasts “even greater rough-road ruggedness.” It sports bigger wheels and wheel-arch mouldings, along with roof rails, a black roof and plenty of red highlights.

Sounds familiar? Last seen in 2008, the Ignis had always been a raised hatchback, and was also known as the Suzuki Swift in Japan, as well as the Chevrolet Cruze and Holden Cruze in Australia. Rally fans would probably remember a three-door Ignis Sport in the JWRC.

Suzuki Ignis Trail Concept

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kcng (Member) on Sep 30, 2015 at 3:49 pm

wow that would be a nice car to be redefine by Proton with its Lotus Rides & Handling!

• Proton Can only Rebadge Still? on Sep 30, 2015 at 5:02 pm

Proton has no shame. After 30 years of sucking 30 million rakyat money, all they can do now is rebadge a Suzuki.

Shameless. We lost hundreds of billions of investments to Thailand because car companies did not want to be in a country where the Government tells what to price your cars.

We lost hundreds of thousands of jobs because of Proton.

And all Proton can do now is rebadge?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • Same L0rrrr on Oct 01, 2015 at 2:51 pm

We Malaysians are practical ppl. Pride of 100% R&D, this is just Sendiri Cakap Sendiry Syok Bullshit. We don’t care it is 100% local or Indon R&D, we only want CHEAP and RELIABLE cars. Apparently Proton rebadged give me more confident.

• SMLOK on Sep 30, 2015 at 5:03 pm

I WANT ONE

• hailthepurist on Sep 30, 2015 at 5:21 pm

protonese out here crying..

• Proton Manis

• shawals on Sep 30, 2015 at 7:29 pm

front looks awesome…but rear is super dorky…

• nice front, ugly rear, nice dashboard.