Paul Walker wrongful death suit – Porsche responds

paul walker fnf screengrab

Following the wrongful death lawsuit filed against Porsche by Paul Walker’s daughter, the German automaker has issued an official response via a statement, which was provided to Entertainment Weekly.

“As we have said before, we are very sad whenever anyone is hurt in a Porsche vehicle, but we believe the authorities’ reports in this case clearly establish that this tragic crash resulted from reckless driving and excessive speed,” the automaker said in the statement to the publication.

The action taken by Meadow Walker comes nearly two years after Paul Walker’s untimely death in a road accident on November 30, 2013. Walker was riding as a passenger in a Porsche Carrera GT driven by Roger Rodas – both men lost their lives when Rodas lost control of the car and crashed into a lamp post and a tree.

The incident happened during a break in filming for Furious 7, after Walker was attending a charity event for victims of Typhoon Haiyan in Los Angeles. The film, in which he made his last box office appearance, was released posthumously on April 3, 2015.

Porsche Carrera GT

Earlier, it was reported that the lawsuit accused Stuttgart of cutting corners on safety in the pursuit of cutting weight on the 605 hp V10 hypercar. These included the fitment of weaker side impact bars in the doors, as well as the usage of a fuel hose that did not come with fittings that would enable it to break free in a crash – instead, it tore open and helped instigate a fire.

Other details of contention included the allegation that Porsche deliberately declined to install the Porsche Stability Management (PSM) system, which was standard on the company’s other cars at the time, despite acknowledging “a history of instability and control issues” with the Carrera GT.

“The vehicle lacked safety features that are found on well-designed racing cars or even Porsche’s least expensive road cars — features that could have prevented the accident or, at a minimum, allowed Paul Walker to survive the crash. The bottom line is that the Porsche Carrera GT is a dangerous car. It doesn’t belong on the street,” the lawsuit stated.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Porshe can start counter sue his daughter on reputation & image cause to firm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Same L0rrrr on Oct 01, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Over here, we also see when Proton can’t sell its junk, they blame government and demand compensation. Stupidity occurs everywhere in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Hey, don’t say like that, our Proton are better than Porsche, Proton is safer than Porsche you know? Only Malaysians are stupid to buy Porsche and not to sue them for selling unsafe cars

• steven see on Oct 01, 2015 at 2:22 pm

You bought your son saga. Thank you for supporting local brand.

• tokmoh. on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:45 am

Want safety, drive a Proton, their HPF steel even stronger than Volvo’s, so Proton is the true world’s safest car.

In fact Volvo are very dangerous. Their windscreen made in China, so it’ll break apart after 3 miles off showroom, RM300k down the drain, beg Sam Loo RM10k also he won’t accept trade in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 37
    • The more you know, the better you are. Never assume what you know now is the truth and never stop learning new things!

• weeliam on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:54 am

Made in china then have problem? Or you eat too much made in china food until your brain sick?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • tokmoh. on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:28 pm

I drive China car, that’s why.

I went on the internet, and I found out Proton is stronger than Volvo, so it must be true. I await Iriz to crush new XC90’s crash test results, it sure will cuz internet said so.

I went on the internet, and I found out Volvo’s windscreen is made in China so it must be true. Even if mine wrote “made in Sweden”, internet must be true so what’s on my windscreen must be fake, typical China cars.

Sam Loo and Proton macais are of genious!

• You’re right. We should sue Volvo for selling unsafe cars. You know why?
      Cuz they made the conscious choice to buy it over Proton. It’s Proton, you know? Not some China made cars. We all know China tipu people punya. Malaysians that don’t buy Proton are no brain weh!

• stupid remarks…i have been work in MSG safety glass in sg buluh..Volvo wind screen specially made are tougher than other car.. i have test it by my self

• tokmoh. on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:23 pm

When some people just wanna bash Volvo, they become 3.85.

Because Volvo don’t have DSGgate, dieselgate.

Volvo use Aisin 8-speed gearbox even Lexus here don’t provide, typical UMW kiam sup.

Volvo give 5+5+5 after sales, somehow Kurang Masuk Workshop.

So how to bash Volvo? Become Maslan only can find idea to bash Volvo.

#thuglife #dealwithit

• Wow, people just brain sarcasm. No wonder the country’s so messed up.

• Apple iphone all the while made in china.

• tokmoh. on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:10 pm

Sifu Sam Loo also say RM3k iphone made in China is ok. Chump change, he sell 1 Hailat, he can buy 12 iphones, so pakai buang for him.

But sifu Sam Loo say Volvo cost RM300k, tabouli ini machiem. He claimed he went to showroom, he saw on its windscreen made in China, so it must be true. The “made in Sweden” on my car must be fake, China car mar? Everything also fake.

What else I haven’t covered about stereotypes of Volvo? #thuglife #dealwithit

• Sar Kas Zem on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Some people take it too seriously. Do you even know what sarcasm is ?

• Americans no longer have brains. Even ownself fault oso wanna sue other pipu.
    Here in Malaysia, you dun find vios drivers suing UMW toyota for selling unsafe cars. You know why?
    Cuz they made the concious choice to buy it over a safer City, Preve/Suprima, Kia/Hyundai. At least they know malu for buying an unsafe car, knowingly get hurt in accident due to no safety, and sure wun have the cheek to saman UMW for their unsafe cars. Tak kan tak tau malu weh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 30
    • Topkek on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:45 am

Yes, when you drive recklessly and crash, you sue the manufacturer. Topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Now u understand why there is a big hoo haa over takata airbags? Because of litigation. No such worry in malaysia – die also nevermind. Proton rules!

• Enough of paul walker hes just a movie star not a real life hero so whats the deal?

• nabill (Member) on Oct 01, 2015 at 12:12 pm

this is just a brainless suit…i know theres a loss of life here bt u buy a porsche with a race bred v10 , lightweight body that was made to fight the Enzo , what on earth wd u expect?

• CarmenTung on Oct 01, 2015 at 1:38 pm

Irresponsible automakers !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • joys4me on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:03 pm

Another ambulance chaser….this is a race car that was racing irresponsible on the street not the track.

• Proton is the shittiest junk car in the universe

• Proton strong proton the best if it is so why the goverment still don’t ebolish AFTA? If Proton claim is true then they wouldn’t be anything to worry since proton is the best.