GALLERY: 2016 Hyundai Tucson roadshows preview unique exterior, interior colour options for M’sia

Spotted recently at the Sunway Carnival Mall in Seberang Jaya, Penang, here is the 2016 Hyundai Tucson making another appearance, in the Klang Valley this time, and on a much larger scale too — three units of the third-gen SUV have popped up at three different malls, all at once.

Fortunately, they’re all equipped with different body and interior colours so as to give you a glimpse of what options Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) will have for you when the car is officially launched here.

The only common theme among the three Tucsons on show here is that they all appear as the top-spec variant of the third-gen SUV. Tell-tale signs of this surround the inclusion of LED daytime running lights and chrome accents surrounding front grille, just like we saw at the vehicle’s last public appearance.

The car here is also powered by a 2.0 litre multi-point injection (MPi) four-cylinder engine which yields 155 PS at 6,200 rpm and 192 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The engine is paired with a six-speed torque converter automatic transmission that sends power to the front wheels.

Remember, though, that there was also a lesser-equipped third-gen Tucson that was spied on the back of a trailer not too long ago, without the DRLs and chrome accents on the front grille.

The top-spec models also appear to be fully covered at all corners with silver-coloured body toughening panels. There also appear to be silver door handles and five twin-spoke alloy wheels to match — it’s the same case for all three cars here.

Focusing on the newly previewed exterior and interior colour options now, the white Tucson, available for viewing at the Sunway Pyramid shopping mall, is seen with a bright red upholstery that extends from the seats to the door cards, and even to the dashboard. The leather-wrapped seats have honeycomb design stitching on the inner section of the seats.

The blue Tucson that can be found in the Paradigm Mall in Kelana Jaya is seen with a black interior, with the leather-wrapped seats sharing a similar honeycomb design to the ones you see in the white car.

Finally, there a red Tucson which can be found at the Bangsar Shopping Centre, with a white interior and leather seats that are designed slightly differently to the other two examples on show. The upper parts of the seat backs (front and back) feature a quilted design, forming a more “expensive” look.

So, which exterior-interior combo would you have? For those who are seriously considering signing on the dotted line for one, head on over here to register your interest.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Aaron on Oct 21, 2015 at 7:44 pm

Where is the LED headlamps and the LED tailamps and where is the 19 inch rims and where is 4WD do you actually call this top-spec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Prefer US spec on Oct 21, 2015 at 7:49 pm

I prefer the US spec with basic look that is without the chrome accents, silver-coloured body toughening panels and US spec 19 inch wheels.
      http://paultan.org/2015/04/02/2016-hyundai-tucson-us-ny-debut/

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:38 pm

After one year, you cry and bet me to take this junk at RM25k. Even my son saga worth more than RM25k after one year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
        • 2013 Altis 1.8 Rm65k on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:33 am

Are you sure? Still spreading false news. Actually Toyota RV the worst now. 2013 Altis 1.8 going for RM65. Ued car dealer beg me to take for RM60k. Accident free and low milegae.

Brand new Altis is RM139k. In one year 10 months, can jatuh from RM139k to Rm60k.

• OMG…This car can sell well if the price macam HRV price..if sell expensive, SORRY…

• actually yes you are right, its such a good looking car with decent specs , but if you think to buy it new just wait few months and next year buy it second hand :D

• wow.. for the first time in Malaysia we actually get to choose what we want ( kinda ) in an affordable price range car! good move!

• Prefer other variants on Oct 21, 2015 at 7:47 pm

I prefer the basic look without the chrome accents, silver-coloured body toughening panels with US spec Tucson wheels.
    http://paultan.org/2015/04/02/2016-hyundai-tucson-us-ny-debut/

• eh, Avanza SUV?

• Richard Jonathan Lim on Oct 21, 2015 at 8:14 pm

RED LEATHER!?!?! Thank you Sime Darby.My wish is to have a fully red leather interior and I am 37 y/o and not some 20 y/o petrol head.

• RON97 on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:29 am

You must be poor.
      At your age, I suggest you get a Cayenne, a Diesel unit at least.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • Richard Jonathan Lim on Oct 22, 2015 at 11:15 am

I drive an A6 Hybrid, not the best, but a good car at least.

• Why dont have 1.6t and 7 dct combo choice… this 2.0 is outdate engine and only 110 ps on wheel dyno,even avanza engine response better than this cheat ppl engine…

• Kenny on Oct 21, 2015 at 9:14 pm

Please remove the silver-coloured body toughening panels. They make the car looks ugly. :-S

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Leafable on Oct 21, 2015 at 10:54 pm

OMG! Those aftermarket leather interior and seats look horrible. Did they just pick it up from ebay.

• pxp154 on Oct 21, 2015 at 11:04 pm

looks like the new bmw X1…

• apamau on Oct 22, 2015 at 12:28 am

Do they hv a 4 wheel version or is all 2 wheel drive ?
    the santa fe have 4 wheel drive option.

• Kenny on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:54 am

According to a SA there will be a higher spec model with 4wd and sunroof. Hopefully that is true.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:14 am

I don’t think the White interior will be high on my list. I’ve had terrible experience trying to maintain white leather. You need to buff it very often and I mean almost weekly and it gets worse if you have kids.

• Muttuboleh on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:44 am

Mind to share what car you used before that come with white leather?

• tokmoh. on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:33 am

That powertrain sucks ball.

2.0L MPI n/a, lel what a joke to carry that huge heavy metal.

• Wildtrak on Oct 22, 2015 at 10:47 am

Wow red seats…. Awesome

• ti awni on Oct 24, 2015 at 6:30 am

I really do hopr there is a higher high spec which includes panorama roof, the sick 19 incher, and maybe just maybe even blind spot monitoring, and lane keep assist.. Just bring them la… Be the first in the segment even… I had been eagerly been waiting for tge tucson since day one

• ti awni on Oct 24, 2015 at 6:30 am

I really do hopr there is a higher high spec which includes panorama roof, the sick 19 incher, and maybe just maybe even blind spot monitoring, and lane keep assist.. Just bring them la… Be the first in the segment even… I had been eagerly been waiting for tge tucson since day one

• Kenny on Oct 26, 2015 at 10:06 am

Official launch at Nov 6th. Too bad the premium spec will probably not available in this launch :(

• yasser on Nov 01, 2015 at 9:19 pm

what a spoil! been looking forward for the highest spec! again sime darby??? adui

• Price for premium spec and 1.6Turbo might be high. But at least give ur buyer an option lar. So disappointed with the specs they r offering. Going to change my mind and buy CX-5 FL 2.5 CBU instead.