VIDEO: Avanza runs red light, hits BMW M4 in Melaka

It’s very unfortunate when things go wrong on the roads. Even more so when it’s of no fault of your own. That’s exactly what this new F82 BMW M4 driver suffered in Melaka.

The dash cam video above shows the painful exchange. The M4 driver pulled away a good two seconds after the traffic light turned green, only to meet and be crashed into by a speeding Toyota Avanza from the left, as the MPV tried to run a red light. It doesn’t make for a pleasant viewing, that’s for sure.

Dear readers, let’s take this as a reminder to always obey the traffic lights. They’re there for a reason, so let’s not take chances. In this case, there was a cyclist right next to the M4 – imagine if the Avanza had hit the rider instead. Be careful on the roads, everyone.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 26, 2015 at 5:44 pm

I know how the M4 owner feels, I had someone who was texting and driving hit me when my car was still quite new (barely months old).

Sure insurance covered it, but it’s not the same. More so in the case of the M4, it appears the side airbags got deployed, cause there is a fair bit of white powder appearing as soon as the Avanza struck the M4. Honestly, for the owner of the M4, I hope they give you a new one. It’s not gonna be the same imo.

And for the Avanza driver, you deserve to pay for the damages yourself. Seriously, how stupid can you be for running the light – and worse still, killing someone. This guy was lucky he was driving an M4, if it was some Axia or Viva, I don’t know if they would have walked away…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 315 Thumb down 6
    • agent2killa on Oct 26, 2015 at 5:56 pm

Thank god for the dashcam. now we can rival the Russians for absurd dashcam videos.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 1
    • Henry IV on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Nicely said. Yes, it was quite lucky indeed that the Avanza hit on a BMW car nonetheless. Looking at perspective, the damage done to do the BMW was quite minor compared to what we kind have anticipated by that impact.

This kind of scenario often happens esp. in small city, it seems that drivers there have not encountered such fatalities involving traffic lights before. I could make a cold comparison of driving in KL and Ipoh for instance, as the traffic light turns red there are still some people trying to run off the light without having consideration on other people lives.

Yes, you were in a hurry for whatever reason but that doesn’t imply your time is more precious than anyone else. Try to be considerate because things happen when you’re being selfish and idiotic at the same time. Hope the driver of Avanza learned a ‘costly’ mistakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
      • Gold Avanza on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Avanza drivers a good bunch are either clumsy hogging soccer moms or toyota worshipper pops who think they drive a mini-harrier. Their kids love to swing the doors wide and wack poor cars parked next to them.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 2
    • Normal Guy on Oct 27, 2015 at 6:22 am

Hmm…i think i know you.

• Wildtrak on Oct 26, 2015 at 5:49 pm

DASHCAM FOR THE WIN!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • urthewinner on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:13 pm

Hahaha, gud for u avanza driver, for sure u will claim insurance..lost your ncd, n your next premium will be a bit expensive then before because of risk factor of u. well done

• i’m not so sure that the Avanza’s insurance would be sufficient to cover the cost of that accident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • Is there such thing as “not sufficient to cover”? I heard of a case where a friend’s new c200 got hit by a kancil. Slow speed, very very minor damage on the kancil, but the merc’s front left headlight, fog lights and bumper got damaged. Mercedes Benz quoted him somewhere around 20k for damages. Seems like the kancil’s insurance covered everything.

But the M4’s damage is way way way more extensive. Any sifu care to comment to provide knowledge if there are any cases of insurance not being sufficient enough to cover?

• Not enough to cover, my friend hit Porsche Cayman S by Toyota vios, insurance cover only cover 50k depend the car insurance limit u buy, total cost is 98k then the vios driver need to pay another 48k, so expensive cost for learning. Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • Akulah on Oct 26, 2015 at 9:00 pm

It will be covered.

• The limit to cover the third party property is up to 3 million. So even if you have a 10k Kancil knocking into a 1M Ferrari, the full cost of the ferrari is covered

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
        • azhar othman on Oct 28, 2015 at 2:28 pm

I’m a kancil driver, and I’m certainly do not want to hit anyone or anything. The kancil is so filmsy. Takut weiii.

• But who in the right my mind would want to caim one’s own insurance when the fail is not done by the owner of the m4 and lose his ncv

• My own experience twice…first hit by a trailer at the back and 2 months after by a Kancil at the front. According to the insurance company as long as the police report says that I am not at fault, they will cover the repair cost. They don’t claim from the party at fault. NCD is not affected. However, I did claim frm the other party insurance company on “lost of use” . Many don’t know they are entitled for it. It goes by the number if days the car is in the workshop. There is a calculation guideline . It won’t be much, depending on the car engine size but better than nothing.

• Walter on Oct 27, 2015 at 10:49 am

I don’t think the insurance will cover because the avanza driver disobey the traffic rules

• Black Rock Shooter on Oct 27, 2015 at 11:55 am

That’s too good for him. Try revoking the license and give him a few years in jail….

• I need a good dashcam. Any suggestions??

• 2cent on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:20 pm

I use Marbella. Very plasticky but full HD.

• I’m using a BlackVue DR650GW-2CH in my car. It has good clarity in day and night time.

• My heart breaks watching this vid. That sanava beach avanza driver!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Aldridge on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Seems like the norm nowadays for ppl to run the red light. Always look before moving off when the light turns green.

• Yup, I use to be like the M4’s drive step on the throttle instantly when the light turns green until someone decided to run the red light and banged me on the left, from that day I always move cautiously as if someone idiot want to beat the red light.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • M4 driver waited 2 seconds. Even the cyclists. They did the right thing. Before green, other side have to red atleast 2 to 3 seconds. Avanza at full fault. M4 driver waited.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Cyclists were two seconds early. If not, no airbags would have saved them.

• Qwerty on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Already drive a sxhxi car like avanza still wanna run red light, typical sxhxi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • iiAmgPackage on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:32 pm

Now I wonder who crashed the M4? Sam Loo?

• Annoynimouse on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:39 pm

For a high precision vehicle like the M cars, it would take extensive repair work to restore it to it’s original condition. No excuse for the Avanza driver to be beating the red light. The driver is not fit to drive and should be banned! It’s sad to see Malaysia drivers being selfish and not caring about other road users. Sign of a sick society… Some are so selfish inside that it shows through our driving.

• kenneth on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:43 pm

MBE 8153, =’D Toto anyone?
    *just kidding!*

• adique on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:53 pm

This is exactly why i always remind myself and other people that a green light only means that it is legal to go and not safe to go.

• I guess in today’s time its prudent to check before moving even if the lights are green. Not trying to be a prick but surely worth considering.

• benson on Oct 26, 2015 at 7:45 pm

i would put blame on the effort of government trying to save local automotive industries. if all less affordable ought to turn to public transport, then we would have better public transport system in place. in turn, all drivers on the road are the damn rich people, so they can afford to bang each other! peace yo :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
  • thomas edison on Oct 26, 2015 at 8:05 pm

so will the avanza dude declare bankruptcy then?

• khairil on Oct 26, 2015 at 8:58 pm

Had similar incident in my M6, but much lighter impact….Total claim 124k. I’m going to say the M4 will be 150k+ easy. I would cry, haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • ahmad on Oct 26, 2015 at 9:12 pm

Paul tan part to be blamed. Boasting cars with vsc like god saving features and driver can drive like hell drivers etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
  • Thank God it wasn’t the cylists who were waiting to cross at the lights getting hit by the Avanza or else it would have resulted in lost of lives.

• dDeenz on Oct 26, 2015 at 10:42 pm

This is Malaysian driver style. Law’s is the last numbers. Most are currently come 0 when holding steering wheel or handle bars. Big Small cc vehicles forgot the size. Right leg or hand always full trottle. Drive/Ride like “gila babi” Please……. BERHATI-HATI DI JALANRAYA.

• maybe the traffic light faulty, do the video prove the avanza lane is red light? or both green light?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • boosook on Oct 26, 2015 at 10:17 pm

im just glad it wasn’t the 2 cyclist that kena hit. but still watching this was painful…

• Sam Loo please drive carefully…

• Rahman on Oct 27, 2015 at 6:30 am

Now that there is evidence, police should take action against the avanza driver. Not only saman but also charge him in court and put him away for a few years. He/she was a few seconds away from killing someone

• lemonel on Oct 27, 2015 at 8:14 am

Perhaps can charge him/her attempted manslaughter . I have a dashcam installed few months ago, I’d gladly do it if I can submit video proof of people beating the red light to the authority

• That’s melaka for you

• What’s wrong with these people driving Perodua made cars? Are they retarded or something? First, there was the Myvi case (in fact there are already a lot of other cases involving Myvi) and now this! Just to add up to the list of ‘how crappy a Perodua car driver could be,’ huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Actually, the myvi is a popular car that is worth the price for reliability (don’t even try,it’s made mainly by Toyota).And saves fuel, certainly alot more than the saga, cough cough.. Campro. And because it is such a popular car people of different education and attitude will buy and drive it. So that’s why there are a lot of shit on the myvi

• Once a time my friend hit a jaguar at dmansara hill and obviously his fault.thinking how much he gonna suffer.then he cried out of nowhere.that jag owned by some dato.his driver on rage already.but the dato remained calm.said why did u cry?obviously repair fees gonna kill him.but then the dato give him some money to repair his motor and brought him to clinic.eh?
    Faith in Humanity Restored

• judge dredd on Oct 27, 2015 at 1:59 pm

msian traffic laws need to be beef up, running a traffic lights should be slam wt a min of 6 mths suspension of licence not just puny summons…etc. 2nd offence, re-take driving licence after a year of suspension. 3rd offence, inprisonment. only with strict law msian will be more civilised on the road.

• What a shame... on Oct 27, 2015 at 3:11 pm

That’s why it’s a waste to drive a nice car in Malaysia. The roads are bad, motorbikes swerving everywhere, people ignore traffic signs and signals, plus the worst drivers / biggest idiots probably don’t even have insurance…

• dugongx on Nov 06, 2015 at 2:03 am

Almost all toyota drivers with their godcar thinks they are king of the road. Everyone else must give way even when green light…..just like those ministers with escorts

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Nov 17, 2015 at 5:07 pm

Good job. Advanza Wira. Lets hit the rich guy and hurt their toys

• One of those rich pipu toys are riding sports bikes like those besides M4. So you saying those pipu are oso rich so the avanza so oso crash into them kah? Penipu bodoh.

• ulala on Mar 14, 2016 at 1:03 pm

just glad the cyclist wasnt hit. a car is just a car.

• Just look at the chrome on his car. This type of people are the typical ah beng, who thinks that Toyota is the shit. He probably even blamed the BMW driver for the crash, you ran a red light in a chrome coated shit box, how worthless can you get? Hope the guy declared bankruptcy