Tokyo 2015: Toyota S-FR – new entry-level sports car

toyota-s-fr-tms2015-0012

We’re reporting to you live from the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show at the Toyota booth, where we’ve just laid eyes on the exciting S-FR concept. We have taken a few photographs for you to judge the modern day representation of the classic Toyota Sports 800 through your own eyes.

Being the smaller sibling of the Toyota 86 sports coupe, the S-FR measures 3,990 mm long, 1,695 mm wide, and 1,320 mm tall. That makes it narrower than the Mazda MX-5, the 86’s close competitor, but it is longer and taller, attributed to the 2+2 seating configuration compared to the Mazda’s strictly two-seater setup.

Although the exterior bears a striking design, the interior appears to be more conventional as you can see here. Most of the controls are positioned towards the driver for easy reach including a vertical pillar that houses the air-conditioning controls.

toyota-s-fr-tms2015-0025

It may seem odd that a standard head unit is missing here, replaced with a smartphone instead. However, according to Toyota personnel, this was a design choice and the exclusion of a head unit is done on purpose, possibly a clever solution for an all-in-one lightweight radio, music, and navigation package.

However, a neat feature found on the concept is the digital instrument panel catered towards the driver. You can watch it in action in our YouTube video below. The panel displays standard driver information including the vehicle speed, tachometer, and gauges for the fuel level, engine temperature, as well as oil temperature and pressure.

As the name possibly suggests, this small, front-engined, rear-wheel drive coupe won’t have a monstrous engine lurking under the hood, if the approachable looks aren’t already a dead giveaway. This is still the 86’s little brother after all, and serves as a cheaper entry point for customers looking to own a sports car.

toyota-s-fr-tms2015-0007

Instead, as previously leaked specifications reveal, the S-FR will reportedly receive a 2NR-FKE Atkinson-cycle 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated engine – taken from the JDM Corolla Axio. The engine features D-4S direct injection and redesigned ports, with origins related to the new Avanza’s 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i powerplant.

The leaked specifications reveals the engine be capable of achieving a fuel economy level of 20 km per litre following the JC08 test cycle. Power output is 130 PS and 148 Nm of torque, more than sufficient to propel the 980 kg coupe (10 kg lighter than the MX-5). A six-speed manual gearbox is the only option of transmitting power to the rear wheels here.

To ensure the coupe is as zippy as it looks, the suspension setup consists of MacPherson struts at the front and double wishbones at the rear. Even though it is still a concept on display at Tokyo, the earlier leaked details reveal an indicative pricing of 1.5 million yen, significantly lower than the 2,494,800 yen base model MX-5. Could this mean the concept shown is a near-production model?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• frossonice on Oct 28, 2015 at 11:27 am

Looks like its going to gnaw Sam Loo anytime.

Grrrr…

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 28, 2015 at 4:09 pm

Ugly or not, it is subjective, just like your wife. No everyone think she is hot. But who cares?

However, there are a few things for sure in this car:
      1. Reliable
      2. Good handling (double wishbone)
      3. Fuel saving
      4. Powerful
      5. Sporty
      6. Fun to drive
      7. Good RV

Other junk like the Satria can’t even come close on the specs, other than its look ONLY.

• So ugly, inside looks like Saga. When this entry level sport car come to bolehland, it will become high end car, and need more than hundred k for a recon version.

• wwwww on Oct 28, 2015 at 12:59 pm

that’s what i’m afraid of.. the car is cheap but tax so high the car is a high end car.. i hope the pricing be at most a hilux/fortuner level.. at least half of the 86

• thepolygonal on Oct 28, 2015 at 11:42 am

Aiyo so cute. Those headlights eye lashes sold in DIY will be put to good use here.

• Rusmah on Oct 28, 2015 at 11:44 am

The dashboard… looks like fiat design

• Pekasam on Oct 28, 2015 at 12:00 pm

Kereta mainan ni. Lepas pakai simpan dalam kotak.

• entry level? on Oct 28, 2015 at 12:26 pm

its funny that it’s priced at “entry level” sports car.

my understanding of entry-level is 60-80k, but i’m sure if it reaches malaysia it’s going to be priced much higher. Sad really…

• Pekasam on Oct 28, 2015 at 1:37 pm

An entry level sports car is still a sports car, ie it will always be priced much higher than a conventional car. Your rm60-80k entry is only logical for the likes of vios or altima. The porsche boxster is an entry level porsche too but is it ever cheap? Manage your expectations.

• kudos on Oct 28, 2015 at 2:01 pm

not bad though, Atkinson-cycle could get this output figure. what a nice tweak, D-4S + new port!

• Sammy Loo on Oct 29, 2015 at 9:07 pm

This is a true sport car, not like the 3 doors junk Velobster is such a failure.

That is why sushi cars are always superior and you will never get wrong with it. Work harder to get yourself a S-FR.

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 30, 2015 at 10:47 pm

S-FR? oh, it’s not Scion FR-S.