Toyota S-FR – new baby manual RWD sports car!

Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 2.27.25 PM

Everyone loves the Toyota 86, and for good reason – the modern day hachi-roku is an entertaining drive with a lively tail. Lightweight and simple, and with a manual gearbox too. So it’s fantastic to hear that Toyota has come up with a smaller sibling for the 86. Called the S-FR (for small, front-engined, rear-wheel drive perhaps?), it’s a concept that will be officially unveiled at the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show later this month.

The ingredients will cause plenty of lip licking among driving enthusiasts. The baby coupe is below four metres in length at 3,990 mm (the 86 is 4,240 mm long) and has ‘+2’ seats at the back. The engine is behind the nose, but mounted way back for a front-mid layout. Drive goes to the rear wheels via a six-speed manual gearbox, the only transmission choice. With two up, the weight distribution is 50:50.

The S-FR is based on the keywords “compact”, “light” and “entry-level”, and it’s meant to let more people experience the joy of having a car that responds to a driver’s every wish, Toyota says. “It’s a car that’s a joy to have and one that’s always ready to talk with the driver,” the press release reads. Chatty is good.

Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 2.28.08 PM

No mention of what’s under the long hood, but it doesn’t have to be a powerhouse – the S-FR doesn’t sound like that kind of car. Instead, Toyota says that it “aims to make driving fun, which is what a lightweight sports car is all about.”

“The exhilaration in mastering corners at will. The pleasure in feeling how a car reacts as you hold the reins. Harmony linking every aspect of performance – acceleration, braking, steering. All is aimed at delivering an experience that never fails to excite,” its maker says.

This little car is pushing all the right buttons, and we’re looking forward to see it in Tokyo.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 50:50, RWD, Strong Handling.

Can keep one @ garage, this doesnt take much space.
    it is fuel saving too.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 08, 2015 at 4:00 pm

When Vios specs is lower than you expectation, you blame Toyota no new technology.
      When Toyota high tech/sport car too expensive, you blame Toyota expensive.
      Go ask Proton lar. If not to protect them, you think we couldn’t sell the 86 at RM100k?
      Proton should free condoms with their cars, coz Protection DA Best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • When Proton come out with Preve/Suprima with latest tech, you blame them for being too expensive (but actually paying B-segment price for C-segment car with better spec than Fxcktis). So then Proton continue low cost models like Saga & Persona with cheap price, you bash them for being unsafe. Go ask hypercritic Malaysians like you lar. Do you think they can sell top spec cars at bottom spec prices?
        But still got pipu buy moving coffins (although getting less and less dropping like rocks), cuz Sam Loo tipu uncles that almighty T badge can save their lives better than VSC & 6-airbags!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
        • Samelordupe on Oct 08, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Kia can sell much safer picanto than your vios at much cheaper price why not toyota? Honda also can sell city with many.more gadgets why not toyota? Why blame p1?

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 08, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Proton’s problem is never latest technology, safety or not, it is the god damn QUALITY! Latest technology so what, every 3 months need to send back SC repair. 17 airbags so what? During accident all won’t work. Yet still need jack up foreign car price to protect the junk? Ppl who buy Vios can buy Preve Yes I agree. Ask yourself why Malaysian rather buy our lower specs, smaller Vios than your “awesome” Preve?
            Told you already junk is junk, give people free also dun want. Preve RV is worse than kimchis.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 08, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Picanto is safer why ppl still buy more Vios? City got more gadgets why also more defects? No car is perfect, but a few (e.g. Proton) are junk.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 08, 2015 at 7:12 pm

Does Toyota Japan know UMW pariah does not give us VSC??? And give us low spec safety cars?

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 08, 2015 at 11:31 pm

Vios worldwide has NO VSC. Taiwan Thailand Indonesia Singapore Philippines ALL NO VSC! There is a thing call internet and you can verify it on Wikipedia. Now you can’t afford VSC equipped Altis, you blame Toyota. Why so expensive? Go ask Proton lar.

• Henry on Oct 08, 2015 at 5:43 pm

I doubt it will ever get here as an official import.

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 08, 2015 at 6:43 pm

UMW/Tan Chong brought in the Toyobaru BRZ86. why UMW can’t bring in this?

• farghmee on Oct 08, 2015 at 3:32 pm

comeyyyy

• thepolygonal on Oct 08, 2015 at 3:37 pm

The most important question…

Is it cheaper than Vios?

• brianxyz on Oct 08, 2015 at 3:37 pm

I guess UMWT will just layan Toyota Japan and sell 10 units of this S-FR at RM200K a piece and stop selling. This is what happened to the Toyota 86. Whereas Subaru still promoting their BRZ.

• Mark Tan on Oct 10, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Go to Toyota WoW road show, u can see Toyota 86.
      I just saw one Toyota 86 @ Glenmarie few days ago.
      Globally, Toyota 86 triumphed Subaru BRZ sales, even though same price. 3x better sales figure.

• Toyolfans on Oct 08, 2015 at 3:39 pm

As Sam Lor said, work harder and get a real Mini!!! Definitely not this JUNK!!!

• Wow, the rear passenger’s knee has to go through the driver’s chest?

• thepolygonal on Oct 08, 2015 at 4:30 pm

I think the correct way to sit is to stuff the rear passenger’s knee in the armpit of the front passenger. Yes that should be what was illustrated in the picture.

• mr1031 on Oct 08, 2015 at 3:48 pm

nice..but dunno la malaysia price later..sure stupid price as usual

• powershot (Member) on Oct 08, 2015 at 4:18 pm

this is what lotus used to be, no?

• Is it just me or it does smells a bit of MX-5’s underneath?

• Nenek Kau on Oct 08, 2015 at 4:31 pm

Everything with RWD is now called a sports car!

• Henry on Oct 08, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Can double as a weekend toy.

• shawal on Oct 08, 2015 at 7:01 pm

head to head with the s660 …..

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 08, 2015 at 7:24 pm

S-FR? almost confused it with Scion FR-S.

• Junk brand on Oct 08, 2015 at 9:05 pm

SFR means so fxxxing retarded????

• Alas something for the purists..

• nighttrain on Oct 09, 2015 at 9:23 am

In order to develop a healthy, inexpensive and active motorsports culture in the country, this class of small(1.6l turbo RWD manual) sports cars should be built by local automakers too. Probably at the RM60-70k range. Then we can have more competitors at trackdays, if the tracks are cheap enough to be used lah.

• Levin on Oct 09, 2015 at 11:59 am

Could this be rebirth of the MR chassis (MR-2/MR-S)?
    Looks like its almost ready for production. Finally something decent from Toyota after the GT86. Let’s just hope UMW will bring this in and price is at least half the price of the GT86, which was an epic failure here due to poor sales.

• The Archbishop of Banterbury on Oct 09, 2015 at 1:56 pm

no, it’s front-engine, rear-wheel drive.