Bugatti Chiron to get uprated 8.0 litre W16 engine, 1,500 PS, 1,500 Nm, 500 km/h top speed – report

bugatti-vision-gran-turismo-001-1

Bugatti first revealed a teaser for its next-generation hypercar back in August, with a short 30-second video that didn’t really reveal much about the Veyron successor. Thanks to German site Autogespot, technical details of the Bugatti Chiron (unconfirmed name) have surfaced and like before, it involves some big numbers.

Under the hood, the Bugatti Chiron is said to be powered by a heavily revised version of the Veyron’s 8.0 litre quad-turbocharged W16 engine, said to produce around 1,479 hp and 1,500 Nm of torque. Where the current Veyron’s engine has 10 radiators to keep it cool, the Chiron will get 15 instead. A seven-speed dual-clutch automatic gearbox is also paired to the massive engine.

If those numbers aren’t mind blowing enough, the Chiron is to accomplish the 0 to 100 km/h sprint in just 2.3 seconds, and from a standstill, it will hit 300 km/h in 15 seconds. To continue the brand’s dominance of having the fastest production car in the world, the top speed for the Chiron is claimed to be 500 km/h. The Veyron managed 425 km/h.

Keeping the car planted are wheels measuring 20 inches at the front and 21 inches at the rear, all wrapped in Michelin Pilot Sport PAX tyres. As for braking duties, they are handled by large 420 mm front and 400 mm rear brake discs.

Styling-wise, it is said the Chiron will receive some influence from the Bugatti Vision Gran Turismo from this year’s Frankfurt Motor Show. Auto Bild had previously spied several test mules of what is claimed to be the Chiron as it underwent testing, and as far as we can see, that claim seems to hold up for now.

In the videos below, we can see that the prototypes appear to be near production ready, wearing almost no camo and painted black. The Bugatti Veyron successor is expected to be unveiled at the 2016 Geneva Motor Show, with a production cap of just 500 units. From that total, 120 apparently have been accounted for, and they aren’t cheap at a reported £1.6 million (RM10.44 million) each.

The Bugatti Veyron is one of the most iconic cars ever made and recently ended its 450-unit run with La Finale. What do you think of its successor? Is the expected performance impressive enough?

GALLERY: Bugatti Vision Gran Turismo

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• alldisc on Nov 23, 2015 at 5:01 pm

a car capable of achieving 500kmh can only do it in 1 place – in video games.

the owner will need a totally emtpy road and arrow straight stretch as was demonstrated by James may when he drove Bugatti Veyron to about 420kmh

• Mex highway can, Elite highway to KLIA also can la.

Don’t compare your current crappy car power to this monster.

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Nov 23, 2015 at 9:53 pm

I think this car will give me a good challenge in MEX as the performance and top speed are similar to mine.

• quadexhaustmyvi on Nov 24, 2015 at 8:00 am

I ady smoked you many times until you didn’t notice. How come you are so slow?

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Nov 24, 2015 at 11:08 pm

Of course you did when I stop my car to pump petrol.

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Nov 24, 2015 at 11:09 pm

After giving you 5 min head start you still got smoked kaw kaw by me.

• This car is a junk. I rather get out Proton. I love Proton and I love Malaysia. If you are not happy with Proton or Malaysia, my advice to you is pack your bags and leave. We do not want pendatngs who are anti establishment

• fast5 on Nov 23, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Can this car fly? Or Back to Future car !

• kapchai on Nov 23, 2015 at 5:20 pm

VW group can still afford all this extravaganze? Better save the money

• Thats not a road car. Its a Le Mans car disguised as a road car.

• PembangkangJamalulKiram on Nov 23, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Rakyat : Do you need a car this fast?

Rafizi : No

Rakyat : Then why did you buy it?

Rafizi : Because i can

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • kak mah on Nov 23, 2015 at 6:15 pm

kak mah: jibby. buy me 3 of those. now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • Wan kipas: I no need 3 just 1 will do. but since kak mah has 3 I wan special gold plated edition. oso oso I wan with ogawa seats so my hubby can drive with his allegedly back problem.

• Gargantia on Nov 24, 2015 at 8:21 am

P tongkat: Support your own product and help economic.
          Kak mah: Jibby buy cbu got not tax la… 1MBD 10 years no tax too !

• Sam lolol on Nov 23, 2015 at 7:19 pm

Sam lor : both of u will regret..this car like kimchi..no rv..rv…rv…rvrvrvrvrvrvrvrvrv

• Happy Family on Nov 23, 2015 at 7:37 pm

Jibby no need buying a Chiron for wifey Rosmah.
    Rosmah has her own money…..as she had save enuf money since very young age.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • That speed is just madness!

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Nov 24, 2015 at 12:37 am

0-100 in 2.3 sec. 0-300 in 15 sec. How bout 100-0 or 300-0? How many sec and meter?

I wonder how the car stop at 500km/h? Do it need a parachute to slow it down?

• THE_MAD_BOMBER on Nov 24, 2015 at 9:27 am

500 KPH = 311 MPH.

• paparadzi (Member) on Nov 24, 2015 at 9:31 am

At 500 km/h top speed, one should start thinking about V1, Vr, V2……

• 500kmh? hope it does not lift off and fly

• powersteer on Nov 27, 2015 at 12:21 pm

500 km/h is overly optimistic.

1500hp is only an increase of 300hp over the SS which did 430? They will need a lot more power to hit 500km/h unless they reduce the Cd and / or cross-sectional area

• Da bamb on Oct 13, 2022 at 12:56 am

Can I have one I really need a car I am almost on the streets and I need to sell some stuff so that I can live.