2015-npe-pantai-dalam-toll-plaza- 001

In a bid to further ease traffic at toll plazas throughout the country, the Malaysian Highway Authority (MHA) has confirmed that 10 more toll plazas will adopt the new cashless transaction strategy beginning January 13, 2016.

A new report by The Star confirmed that the affected toll plazas are located along the Maju Expressway (MEX), New Pantai Expressway (NPE), Cheras-Kajang Highway (Grand Saga) and the Kemuning Shah Alam Expressway (LKSA).

Specifically, the toll plazas include:

  • Salak Selatan (MEX)
  • Putrajaya (MEX)
  • Seri Kembangan (MEX)
  • PJS2 (NPE)
  • PJS5 (NPE)
  • Pantai Dalam (NPE)
  • Batu 9 (Grand Saga)
  • Batu 11 (Grand Saga)
  • Seri Muda (LKSA)
  • Alam Impian (LKSA)

The news report also mentioned that in order to ease the transition from cashless to full-electronic payments at the toll plazas, highway operators will provide 24-hour Touch ’n Go sales and make sure that its staff is present to help road users.

In the future, do expect more toll plazas to adopt the electronic payment-only system, with PLUS already confirming that all 92 of its plazas will make the switch before the end of 2017. Of the 92, 14 have already been converted to the electronic toll collection (ETC) system. Further down the road, PLUS is set to implement an RFID gateless gantry toll system starting in 2018.