Mercedes-Benz Malaysia expects higher sales in 2016

2015-hss-mercedes-benz-autohaus-kk-9

On a record-breaking year and still flying high at the end of it, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s (MBM) confidence is already pouring into 2016.

Mark Raine, vice president of sales and marketing for MBM isn’t short of optimism surrounding his company’s future. Especially so, with its hot-selling locally-assembled models, the C-, E- and S-Class, on the front lines. He told Bernama reporters recently that, “I see a good opportunity next year for us to chart growth in our sales and we are eyeing to beat the record we achieve this year for 2016.”

MBM had sold a total of 8,196 passenger vehicles for the year up to September 2015 – a 65% sales increase year-on-year against 2014. According to the latest vehicle sales data, the company’s impressive run was still on track for the month of October as well.

Aiding its confidence for 2016, MBM had also recently opened a new Autohaus in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, in line with its strategies to boost sales and after-sales services in East Malaysia.

MBM had also introduced its new E-Class Edition E variants here, adding more equipment to its E 200 and E 250 variants whilst maintaining their prices as before. Prior to this, the company completed the launch of its Dream Cars line-up, spearheaded by the arrival of the new Mercedes-Maybach and the S-Class Coupe.

The company’s plans next year include the launching of its new SUVs, the GLE, GLE Coupe and GLC. Rumours also suggest that MBM is on the verge of adding more variants to its existing models, such as the C-Class and the CLA. And don’t forget, the facelifted Mercedes-Benz A-Class is also expected to arrive in 2016, and dare we say it, the next-gen Mercedes-Benz W213 E-Class as well?

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• gaviny on Dec 04, 2015 at 11:20 am

And here i am thinking whether should i join protest against ERL fees.

such is the fate of the man on the street

• tokmoh. on Dec 04, 2015 at 3:31 pm

Menteri : ERL mahal, jangan naik ERL!

Merc turun harga, beli merc!

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 04, 2015 at 11:25 am

New variant of the CLA and C? Hmm CLA250 and a diesel C? =D

• MRaine on Dec 04, 2015 at 12:37 pm

Exklusiv new launching in 2016. GLC GLE GLS E-Class & facelifts CLA A-Class GLA B-Class

• cukur selalu on Dec 04, 2015 at 11:29 am

This proof that we getting rich and totally unaffected with rising cost.

• or the rich getting richer and poor becoming poorer.. people complain price stuff getting more expensive for them every day.. open your eye..

• Jimmy on Dec 04, 2015 at 12:48 pm

It’s words of mouths.

Good aftersale service.

• BMW Tipu Sales Figures on Dec 04, 2015 at 11:42 am

Actually Mercedes has always surpassed BMW by leaps. This is even so when BMW Malaysia lies about their sales figures.

Every year, BMW Malaysia sells about 1000 cars to Sime Darby as fleet cars. They sell it to Hertz Rental, which is fully owned by Sime Darby and Hertz Rental leases these cars to Sime Darby staff, VP1 and above.

So every year, Sime Darby themselves buy about 1000 BMWs from BMW Malaysia, which they fully own.

In reality, this is not real sales as the parent company is buying from a Subsidiary.

How I know? I work with Motors Sime Darby. We know the true sales figures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 34
    • Waiting for the a45 2016 on Dec 04, 2015 at 12:48 pm

Whats the true sales figure?? Mind sharing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • Chyan on Dec 08, 2015 at 12:20 pm

He will be hunted for whistleblowing. Do you think he would want to risk that and lose his job? No right. :)

• azran on Dec 04, 2015 at 2:46 pm

Not happy then resign lah.
      Go join Hap Seng.
      Is this kinda employee Sime needs ?
      Shame on your Merc salesman trying to
      hide behind Sime, backstabbing AB and claiming to know this and that.
      Go get a life !!
      Staff of MBM also entitled & privileged to a company car or a lease programme which will then be sold off as preowned company cars.
      Go work harder and earn this privilege yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • kaizen on Dec 04, 2015 at 3:18 pm

what’s ur problem mr ‘BMW Tipu Sales Figures’? are u one f those fired staff? ya, pls publish ur ‘true sales figures’ that u claim u know.

• Legoland on Dec 04, 2015 at 3:21 pm

So most of the BMW cars i see in house driveways are rentals? And these house owners work for sime darby? How many staff does sime darby have and how can they manage to keep giving out new cars in the thousands each year? Does sime darby hire thousands of senior managers each year? Explain

• Nothing big deal on Dec 04, 2015 at 6:44 pm

Actually you can recognize the car by checking their rear window.. There is small number “1” on the rear window.. All cars under Sime’s do have it

• cendol (Member) on Dec 04, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Malaysia’s economy is doing so well and it all thanks to good leadership.

• Cater on Dec 04, 2015 at 12:49 pm

I will work hard to get one unit Mercedes-Benz C Class in my life.

• Bristol on Dec 04, 2015 at 12:52 pm

Clearly Lexus not famous in bolehland, the sale data tell the truth. Richman only choose ABM

• Legoland on Dec 04, 2015 at 3:22 pm

If lexus wants to succeed here they need to drop 30-40k off their sticker price

• Lexloss on Dec 07, 2015 at 5:35 pm

Actual I kind of like some Lexus models, but look at the prices makes me want to puke. Are they interested to sell them or what?

• Dear Mr Raine,
    Can you explain why is MBM giving price discounts to professional lawyers and doctors but not to professional architects and engineers?

• Aero (Member) on Dec 04, 2015 at 8:27 pm

MBM, please PLEASE bring the Shooting Brake models here. I am not a big Merc fan (I’m a bit like James May… I like cheap cars… and I’m a slow driver lol), but the Shooting Brake Mercs are the only ones I actually fancy. And I’m sure many Malaysians would pay good money for them, so what’s holding you guys back ?