Volvo XC90 now with Apple CarPlay, Malaysia included

Volvo has announced that its new XC90 is now available with a software upgrade that will integrate Apple CarPlay iOS functionality into its Sensus Connect infotainment system.

The Apple iOS for cars offers iPhone owners – of models 5 and newer – the ability to take over the car’s infotainment system with a touch of a button, giving the driver direct access to their phone’s calls, messages, maps and music.

Lex Kerssemakers, president and CEO of Volvo Cars of North America, said, “the Apple CarPlay experience enhances the award-winning user interface already available on the XC90 and just announced S90 sedan.”

“The Sensus Connect touchscreen gives us flexibility to update software and add features to cars after they have been delivered to customers. This is an important part of our commitment to long-term customer satisfaction,” he continued.

The software upgrade is available for the new Volvo XC90 and S90 and will become an optional item for other future Volvo models. It also includes Pandora, Yelp and Find Parking applications via the XC90’s in-car remote update service.

In the US, XC90 owners who have taken delivery of their vehicles prior to November 23, 2015 are encouraged to schedule an appointment at their local Volvo retailers for the complementary update. However, those who take delivery of their vehicles after that date will have to purchase the Apple CarPlay software upgrade for USD$300 (RM1,280).

In Malaysia, where the new XC90 was launched with a price tag of RM453,888 recently, paultan.org understands that the software update will soon be made available at local dealerships as well. Existing owners will be able to buy it at their local Volvo dealerships, while new customers may select the option from the beginning.

GALLERY: Volvo XC90 in Malaysia

GALLERY: Volvo XC90 optional equipment in Malaysia

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 10, 2015 at 1:05 pm

Wonder who will pay for an overpriced Geely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • Volvo - No RV Car on Dec 10, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Only a real idiot will pay Rm500k for a car that will become RM200k the next year. That is why Volvo is known as Volvo For Life. Once you buy, you cannot sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • Neutral on Dec 10, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Unless you consider the many professionals driving Volvo as idiots i think you might want to change your career line. Because they can afford to lose 300k depreciation and you can’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
        • China Car on Dec 10, 2015 at 3:48 pm

Not all professionals are clever. Just like you. You cannot even afford a Saga, you talk big.

A wise rich man values his money

Volvo is dead in Malaysia. Sales are so bad cause nobody want to pay BMW prices for a china car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
        • Ex Embassy Car on Dec 10, 2015 at 4:06 pm

About 10 years ago, all Embassies use Volvo. Now, all embassies throw their junk S90 into the sampah and use other cars.

Have you wondered why embassies dropped Volvo? Think carefully why.

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 10, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Its a china car, not Swedish anymore.

Perception wise, no professional would wanna be seen driving a china make. Its just as bad as driving a KIA/Hyundai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Harga kereta di malaysia memang berpatutan. it is cheap and reasonable lah brader. Work hard and you can buy this car easily!

• Jimmy on Dec 10, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Your vote in XC90 vs Toureg shows your intelligence.

450k price bracket.

GLC + cash RM100K in bank = Toureg.

Even an Evoque or a Macan is cheaper.

Greedy = 0.4 sales.

• Neutral on Dec 10, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Can’t even spell Touareg. Xc90 7 seats vs Touareg 5. You do the maths. Performance wise also no comparison.

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 10, 2015 at 4:04 pm

Ah Bang trying to make a point. Give the man a break

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Dec 10, 2015 at 1:53 pm

Why is a normal SUV like this costing RM450k?? It is because of Songlapping. Too much of Sonlapping going on in Malaysia until normal SUV can cost nearly half a million. In Australia, this SUV is about AUD70k. Fairly priced. A house in Australia is about AUD500k. Very logical.

In Malaysia, it is a price of a house. House is RM500k. Car is RM500k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • In US, price of any degree is more than house. Is that fair? Like for like bro. Just take a chill pill and go back to Mkini, Rocket, Harakah

• Ex Embassy Car on Dec 10, 2015 at 4:09 pm

Dont forget to get up from sleep john. So many years not working and begging government for discounts and help

• You too bro. In front of dear leader dun forget one thing: Dun drop the soap!

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 10, 2015 at 4:07 pm

A 5 year old Q7 (less 100,000kms) than cannot even fetch AUD15k in open auction.

On the other hand, a 5 year old Landcruiser Prado with more than 200,000kms can easily fetch AUD30k in auction.

In developed nations, no one wants sui kwan euros

• errr T8 in Aussie starts at $113k without some of the standard options Malaysian have. I know, I live in Straya.

• THINKABOUTIT on Dec 10, 2015 at 4:44 pm

if u see a pretty girl, and u really wants to get her, but u know in 50 years later she will becomes very old, will u still marry her? the same if u like the car don’t fxxking talk about RV, u like it u own it that’s all. if u want RV, perodua MYVI good RV go get it.

• Sammy Loo on Dec 11, 2015 at 11:30 am

When you cannot afford it, you will say nobody cares RV.

In real world fact, most buyers care about RV and that is the reason why the Japs are doing very well here especially T&H.

Sales figure is the best to proof.

• THINKABOUTIT on Dec 16, 2015 at 3:11 pm

if u can afford it, what for u care about the RV? only those who cannot afford but pretend to be able to afford cares about RV because they are afraid one day they not able to pay the loan

• THINKABOUTIT on Dec 16, 2015 at 3:17 pm

if you able to afford and u like the car what for u care about the RV? only those who cannot afford but trying to pretend like they can afford cares about RV, because they scared one day they cannot pay the loan and they need to sell it off.. a good rv so what? buying something u don’t like with good RV, u driving it with a bitter gourd face everyday? i rather enjoy my ride with the car i like.

• YS Volvo on Dec 10, 2015 at 5:00 pm

For those idiots who keep critisizing Volvo then take a look of their achievement with this new XC90.
    https://www.media.volvocars.com/global/en-gb/models/all-new-xc90/2016/awards
    They earn so many awards in all aspects that i am afraid non of their competitor has ever achieved.
    No doubt, Volvo is owned by Geely but all the management and most of the manufacturing is still in Sweden or Europe.BMW or Mercedes is also assembled in Malaysia why not you also call it buatan Malaysia?
    Audi, BMW or Mercedes is priced rm50K to rm100K more expensive and if you do the math then you will realise thier RV is also very disappointing.
    Volvo is also the only car manufacturer that has all of its car sold in US awarded the safest rating by Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. http://www.iihs.org/iihs/ratings/TSP-List
    Non of the car manufacturers can protect your life like they do.
    Love yourself and the people you love, drive Volvo.

• Sonyman on Dec 11, 2015 at 2:49 am

You can’t reason with blind ppl that’s comes with deaf. They cant see or hear what others have achieved. It’s most unfortunate for them who could only be stuck in the past. Rather than moving forward. You know i know after ford. Geely was the life saver. Else this one will end up like saab. The unwanted child.

• SoftbankSucks on Dec 11, 2015 at 2:56 pm

It’s just a shallow thought linking Volvo with its Chinese parent company or even Jaguar with its Indian counterpart, in terms of product innovation and technology. Business is one thing, engineering is another story.
      Here in Japan, the idea about Volvo cars like heavy tanks remains among consumers.