Mercedes-Benz Malaysia maintains prices in 2016, but S 400h gets RM15k hike despite hybrid tax exemptions

Click to enlarge.

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has just announced that all of its models except for the Mercedes-Benz S 400h L, will maintain their prices moving into 2016 for the foreseeable future.

The company also confirmed that its customers will continue to benefit from the import duty and excise tax exemptions placed on the locally-assembled Mercedes-Benz S 400h L and E 300h. But while the E 300h maintains its RM338,888 price tag, the S-Class hybrid will take on a RM15,000 price increase.

MBM explains that an “inflationary change” is the reason behind the RM15k price hike for the S-Class. Therefore, the S 400h L’s new price is listed at RM598,888 (OTR without insurance). It was previously listed at RM583,888, which itself was a reduction from the original RM587,888 it was listed at.

Speaking about the import duty and excise tax exemptions, MBM’s president, Dr Claus Weidner said that, “we are delighted to have been granted an extension on duty exemptions and can continue to offer our discerning Malaysian customers with leading hybrid and energy-efficient vehicles (EEVs) at attractive prices.”

W222_Mercedes_S-Class_Malaysia_ 001

He continued, “in our commitment to the Malaysian automotive market and our customers, we have invested in a sustainable manner into our production plant and have brought in the suitable technology geared to support the nation’s aspirations of becoming an EEV hub.”

Mark Raine, MBM’s vice president of Passenger Car Sales and Marketing, added that, “given the success we have seen with the Mercedes-Benz hybrids and our quest to contribute towards making Malaysia a hub for EEVs, we are always examining the possibility of expanding our range of vehicles in this country.”

“We will not increase the prices across the board at the start of 2016 but will continue to monitor all influencing factors. In the interest of our customers we continue to provide the best product experience and customer services at competitive prices,” he concluded.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• November Benz sales drop.. now cannot raise price.

• Jimmy on Jan 04, 2016 at 5:14 pm

Some Mercedes existing and some new customers are waiting for GLC in Mid January 2016, and therefore witholding their purchase. BTW, MBM achievement is already great, don’t be jealous.

Look at the new price increase of Toyota/Lexus and make some comparisons, we all know who is the utmost greediest company.
      I didn’t make any finger pointing, mind you. Don’t assume. Or should I say, ‘in USA’?

• Tun jugah on Jan 04, 2016 at 4:14 pm

15k extra is just tan sri’s mistress poket money

• Shane Loo on Jan 04, 2016 at 4:20 pm

Smart buyers will opt for Lexus with unrivalled reliability and high safety spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 33
    • Jimmy on Jan 04, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Go and buy you Citizen.
      We want Rolex.

• Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Jan 05, 2016 at 12:47 am

Nonsense!! My vios TRD is 10x more reliable than overpriced lexus. 100x cheaper to maintain and 1000x more performance than any rubbish lexus.

• George Abdul on Jan 04, 2016 at 4:31 pm

Big boys like Benz and BMW stay price, Lexus under UMW price increase like crazy… Rakyat need to boycott UMW and stop the crony ego and greed !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Albert on Jan 04, 2016 at 4:46 pm

If Benz is affordable,I would never think twice to own one.Unfortunately,it is a quarter million ringgit upwards,beyond the reach of the common folks.
      However,we suspect their profits must be immorally and damn high,until they dont mind absorbing the increase due to the worst performing currency in Asia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 04, 2016 at 5:10 pm

And UMW’s price hikes are morally justified…?

• Jimmy on Jan 04, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Oh, now I know: Lexus earns five thousand ringgit per vehicle sold, despite being a brand more luxurious than Toyota.

• George Abdul on Jan 04, 2016 at 6:35 pm

Again and again the BN “government cronies protection policy” all taxes and AP need to reduce or ABOLISH. If not RAKYAT continue suffer high price vehicle’s affordable yet unsafety car !!!

• Sammy Loo on Jan 04, 2016 at 6:08 pm

The most fuel efficient in class and leading segment sales figure Camry Hybrid is not having any price increase since launched. Load with good safety features, reliability, comfortable and good RV.

The Camry Hybrid will continue to lead the sales figure for D-segment category in 2016.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jan 04, 2016 at 6:35 pm

Hai-bird cars where got RV one…? That includes Kammuri Hai-bird.

Don’t talk cock lar…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Gilbert Ludwig Poon on Jan 04, 2016 at 6:46 pm

Phew !! Thank you MBM.

• abdul kadir niang on Feb 10, 2016 at 9:39 am

Hai all my car is C200 W205 i have problem with my door were is sound knocking while we drive hit even small bumper please share if you have a same problem i was send for rectify but only 2 weeks ok then problem repeated i believed your all have same issue please share thanks