Rolls-Royce aluminium space-frame now in test phase

Rolls-Royce-Test-Mule

Rolls-Royce announced in February 2015 the development of an all-new aluminium space-frame architecture that will underpin all its future models arriving from early 2018, including an SUV. The testing phase of this new architecture has now begun, with early preparatory activity seeing new engineering mules tested in public around the world.

The current testing phase aims to ensure that the new proprietary space-frame structure perfectly delivers Rolls-Royce’s trademark “magic-carpet ride” on a variety of surfaces and that it is resilient to extreme weather conditions. If so, Malaysia sounds like a good test bed for R-R as we fulfil both requirements.

“Since 2003, Rolls-Royce has reset the benchmark for luxury motoring. Now it is time to take the next step in the luxury journey. This is why I am announcing today that on-road testing of our all-new proprietary architecture is beginning. This new architecture of pure luxury represents considerable investment in the future of our great brand,” said CEO Torsten Müller-Ötvös.

GALLERY: Rolls-Royce Dawn

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Now RR oso use surat khabar lama to stick on their car. So now P1 same league as Audi, MB, RR liao!

• Jobless said is newspaper stick on it

• Jimmy on Jan 06, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Don’t lose focus on your Phantom; you must maintain or increase its position as No 1 saloon car in the World, and hence you can increase your profit margin. Rich people do not care much to pay more for the status.