Toyota Corolla Hybrid – an Auris Hybrid for Australia

Toyota Corolla Hybrid 4

The Toyota Corolla Hybrid has been unveiled in Australia, but it’s not what you’d expect. Unlike the Chinese market Corolla/Levin Hybrid sedans, the car offered Down Under is essentially a rebadged Auris Hybrid – the cooking version of which is sold in Australia as the Corolla hatch.

It’s the same story under the bonnet. Whereas the Chinese models make do with a 1.5 litre petrol-electric hybrid powertrain – producing a total system output of 99 hp – from the Toyota Prius c, the Aussie one gets the bigger, more powerful 1.8 litre Dual VVT-i engine from the full-sized Prius, making 98 hp at 5,200 rpm and 142 Nm at 4,000 rpm.

Fitted with a 60 kW (80 hp) electric motor, a nickel-metal hydride battery and an eCVT, the Corolla Hybrid hatch delivers a net total of 134 hp – the same as the third-generation Prius. The car also has a pure electric range of up to two kilometres, and it can be driven in this mode at speeds of up to 45 km/h.

Sold as a single variant, the Corolla Hybrid hatch is fully-equipped with features such as bi-LED headlights, dual-zone automatic air conditioning, a Toyota Link infotainment system and navigation. The Toyota Corolla Hybrid will go on sale in Australia in the middle of this year.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Toyota - Big Disgrace in Malaysia on Feb 01, 2016 at 10:23 am

Toyota is a good car. But only in overseas. In Malaysia, UMW has been cheating Malaysians with poor safety cars. In overseas, all toyotas come with VSC an about 6 to 10 airbags.

In Malaysia, because of the fact that UMW is GLC and Government owned, UMW can do anything. In Malaysia, UMW is known as Al Capone or Mafia. They strip the Toyota to basic level and sell you the Toyota, which, in global standards are highly dangerous.

In Malaysia for example, even top of the range Camry costing now RM160k has only 2 airbags and no VSC. The global Camry, which only cost US$22k, comes with 10 bags, VSC and about 20 other safety features taken out from UMW’s version of Toyota.

Why does UMW do this? Simple. They want to reap more profits at the expense of your life. How can we stop this? We can’t. UMW is the Government. So, as you know, in Malaysia, you cannot complain against the Government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Bored on Feb 01, 2016 at 7:18 pm

OMG…Don’t you some other things to complain other than cut and paste the same article all the time.

• Syukurlah UMW jujur dan amanah. Bukan macam Party Hard, tipu rakyat.

Syukur syukur!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • Janwy on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:29 pm

Gosh! What the hell is going wrong inside the head of Toyota Chief of Design? Muslim won’t buy their car in the future. If you know what I mean… :E