Works Ministry sets zero potholes target, 24hr repairs

Bad-road-2

Last week, DBKL declared that by 2017, Kuala Lumpur will be a pothole-free city. Now, the Works Ministry has set a target of zero potholes for all roads under its management, according to Bernama. Efforts had already been initiated, minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof said.

An audit team will monitor the condition of roads and direct the concessionaires responsible to carry out immediate maintenance and repair works.

“We have already started a ‘Rakan JKR’ programme where we engage consumers in monitoring and channeling information with regard to potholes, for the concession company concerned to act upon. If a concession company delays in acting on a report, it can be imposed a penalty or fine for failing to satisfy the conditions and terms of the agreement it had signed,” Fadillah told reporters yesterday.

He added that the ministry had set a key performance indicator to ensure that reports of potholes or simple damages are acted on within 24 hours by the concessionaire. As for major or complicated damages, the concessionaire must act within 14 days after receiving a report, or not more than one year for other damages.

“We also need public cooperation to give us information through Twitter, the Public Works Department complaints website and Facebook page that we have set up,” he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kenneth Fook on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:29 am

Talk like how a tin kosong sounds. Most noise, empty content. It is called target for a reason and not wish.

• Singapore Brain vs Malaysia Brain on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:39 am

Singapore is so clever. 30 years ago they put a big huge piping all over the country. When ever new tech comes in like fibre optic etc, they just pull the cable into the big pipe all over the country. No digging at all. That also they do it from 12 am to 5am. No traffic is disrupted.

In Malaysia, the Nasi Lemak brain don’t think far ahead. Every new technology and wiring, we dig dig dig. That also, dig for 1 whole year like Jalan Gasing. Dig the whole day. Each company dig separately. Syabas, TNB, Telekom, Indah Water and MBPJ. etc etc. So digging is whole year and every year.

No co-ordination between all these companies. Dig as and when they like. And most of the time, 2 days work, 3 days no work. Then another 2 days work, then 3 days no work. But park the big tractor in the middle of the road with barriers eating half the road.

This is the difference between Singapore and Malaysia brain. Just look at how long MBPJ is taking to make 1 way system in PJ. Already 2 years and still like bodoh. Singapore would have done this 1 way system in 1 month. Everyday, hundreds of accidents happen in PJ now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
      • hahaha on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:57 pm

dare not put phone number there oso…

telephone sure explode!!!

• Another Way to Songlap on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:41 am

Ha ha ha. This is like Syabas. Government gave Syabas 10 yrs ago many many many billions to Syabas to upgrade all the water pipes, until today, everyday also got so many burst pipes.

Here the same. Government will allocate say RM20 billion for this project, RM15 billion go into crony pockets. Then only RM5 billion is used to really upgrade roads.

This is Malaysian style. And all the contracts are given to the UMNO cowboys.

• At least they have the intention to improve themselves which should be encouraged. Before we comment on how they made empty promises, we have to do our parts by reporting potholes. You may drive pass a lot of potholes in your area, but have you filed your complaint with them?

• ben yap on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:39 am

I can bet my balls that they will fail to achieve the target.

• Repair within 24 hours sounds better. Don’t come out with something like the road will be defect free in 2025 or 2250 hoping that you will still on the job until retire.

• guest on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:57 am

They better do since they’re charging a premium on roadtax for so many years

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:01 pm

So why does our roads have so much issues with pot holes?

We don’t have snow and ice.

Points the fingers squarely at the people that does the roads in the first place. Corners were cut.

Where are enforcements? You have grossly overladen lorries plying the roads and highway daily, making mince meat of your roads. Even newly paved highways feel like riding a rollercoaster after a few months.

• Ben Lim on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:15 pm

*yawn*

• hailthepurist on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:18 pm

‘not just speed, but the quality of the job..’

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:18 pm

according to my real life experience. every 1km i traveled, and each 24 hours will create one pothole at each km, and our funny government now working backward trying to repair every pothole in 24hours? i think Pm 26 mil money also not enough for that

• 8sg7ls on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:41 pm

We’re just going to see more shoddy patch up works in the future, that’s all

• syukurlah

• kereta_lembu on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:06 pm

Many people are skeptical and I don’t blame them because of what they see day in day out throughout the years and empty promises. The vision of a pothole free city is a great one, but quite unrealistic to make that sort of statement. There’s only one way to keep people quiet and that is to make this a reality. Come on, prove us wrong!

• gaviny on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:22 pm

this area not our jurisdiction, that is contractor job to patch after they dig, no manpower, bla bla bla

just pick a line from the book of excuses

but

budget allocated to the exercise is all spent

• donno on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:27 pm

Hats off to lando zawawi and the brotherhood in getting the jkr out of their comfy chairs and going to actually do their work.

• Stallone on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:21 pm

What again, another tasteless jokes from the minister…
    Haihhhh yawnnnnn… B4 you remove all the potholes, remove all the ministers with a##holes first.

everything else will come nicely naturally.

• Hadi75 on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:23 am

Really dbkl…by 2017 no more potholes???for how many days???2 weeks??3 weeks??? With the kind of coordination that we have between different service providers today….i doubt it..

• Observe on Feb 22, 2016 at 9:17 am

What about manhole?why are some like f’ing 4 inches deep its gonna burst tyres and shocks like nobody’s business pluss its suicide to bikers!