2016 Yamaha MT-10 specs revealed – 158 hp, RM59k

2016-Yamaha-MT-10-EU-Night-Fluo-Static-001

Since its unveiling at the EICMA Milan bike show in November last year, the 2016 Yamaha MT-10 has been widely anticipated by the riding public, notably in Europe. Yamaha, however, refused to divulge any details about the impending naked sports bike, till now.

In a Motorcycle News report, Yamaha has taken into account feedback from its customers and the “de-tuned” naked actually isn’t, not all that much anyway. One of the biggest bug-bears about full-on sports bikes being turned into nakeds in the litre-class is that the de-tuning goes too far the wrong way, with all that was exciting about the sports bike’s engine being lost in translation.

This isn’t the case with Yamaha’s latest naked litre-bike. The 2016 MT-10 has 158.2 hp at 11,500 rpm and 111 Nm of torque at 9,000 rpm on tap from its four-cylinder, liquid-cooled engine, compared to the 200 hp and 112.4 Nm from the YZF-R1. Coupled with a 210 kg dry weight, this would make the MT-10 a sharp-handling, do-anything, go-anywhere bike.

Taking a host of items directly from the fully-faired YZF-R1, the MT-10 carries over the engine which has been re-tuned for better mid-range, the chassis, swing-arm and suspension. The R1’s electronics suite also makes the transfer to the MT-10, with traction control, rider modes, cruise control, slipper clutch and LCD instrumentation. Missing is the inertial measurement unit, that allows for cornering ABS.

Yamaha have also said that the MT-10 will have a full accessories package available when it goes on sale at dealers in May. The goodies include an Akrapovic silencer, quickshifter and various billet components, as well as a bigger screen, soft panniers, heated grips and a softer seat for those riders wanting their bike with riding comfort in mind.

It was reported that the 2016 Yamaha MT-10 will be officially revealed in or around April, with the litre-bike hitting the showrooms in May. The Yamaha MT-10 will retail for 9,999 pounds sterling (RM59,200), which will put it up directly against other nakeds such as the BMW S1000R, Kawasaki Z-1000, Suzuki GSX-S1000 and Triumph’s up-coming Speed Triple R.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 23, 2016 at 1:25 pm

Now people like john and donkeykong can buy more powerful bikes and rempit in KL. Federal Minister also now say they can lumba at allocated places. How lucky.

They still can go about without jobs, rely on Government help and still win their prize….an awek if they win the race at Kesas.

Syukurlah Malaysia sekarang ada banyak superbike untuk lumba haram.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 54
    • Put Keymark on Feb 23, 2016 at 2:06 pm

Politician retard sudahlah… until u also going full retard…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Ah heck. If I can ride a bike, this is something to drool at. Blistering speed with barebones disguise. A no nonsense speed demon.
      The front light clusters look like bayformers bumblebee eyes & digi meter must be stolen from Mospeada’s cyclone armor bike.
      If the blue panels came in mazda soulful red, oh boy! What a gal!

• mak we on Feb 23, 2016 at 3:36 pm

r u sure superbike owners join illegal racing?

• oklar on Feb 24, 2016 at 2:36 am

my mum doesnt allow me to ride.
      pity. that y i hate it. lol.

• policeman on Feb 23, 2016 at 3:27 pm

sudahlah. rempit punya barang pun mau post.

indah water lori pun post next time. both same. kakka transportation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 29
  • Gracke on Feb 23, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Oh my god!!!!! Damn nice looking, with such price this creature can be hot selling soon!!! :-)

• bryan on Feb 23, 2016 at 5:00 pm

I don’t think that is the final price when it reach our shore right?

• Jashonda on Feb 23, 2016 at 8:13 pm

Yamaha Malaysia will hv the final say abt that.

• Benjamin on Feb 24, 2016 at 4:20 pm

Yamaha is quite aggressive on pricing, I dont think the price will be very high though.

• FZ'der on Feb 23, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Too bad it’s so ugly. I was hoping to trade up my FZ-09 for this, but when I saw it………..

• Jonn Dol on Feb 23, 2016 at 5:30 pm

The Yammy MT-10’s other deadly rivals include KTM Super Duke 1290 R, Aprilia Tuono V4 1100, MV Agusta Brutale RR & Ducati Monster 1200R..

• Gracke on Feb 23, 2016 at 6:51 pm

It does look like Megatron!!!! Really like the face and nake body cause it feels alive… :-)

• Benjamin on Feb 23, 2016 at 7:42 pm

CKD should be cheaper than 59k maybe? MT09 only 45k

• oklar on Feb 24, 2016 at 2:42 am

i calculated.

in UK,
    MT-09 : £ 7,349.00
    MT-10 : £ 9,999.00

in MY,
    MT-09 : RM 45,000 (Should be lower but I include OTR)
    MT-10 : x

If do a simple Math,

x = (45/7349)*9999
    = RM 61,226

So in short, I estimated it selling around RM59-61k

• Benjamin on Feb 24, 2016 at 4:21 pm

wah bro you so serious haha. 61k if OTR still a fair price

• Aziman on Feb 26, 2016 at 7:32 pm

If the price is really 59k, im seriously thinking of getting one. Just got back from welly’s hoping they might have one on display.. nope. Cant wait to get on the bike n start touring the country on it. Heard its better than bmw r1000s touring bike

• Aziman on Feb 26, 2016 at 7:42 pm

A few dealers in the klang valley are offering mt09 at rm40,500. Check it out at mudah.my

• Valentino Rossi on Apr 12, 2016 at 9:01 pm

Heated grips for comfort similar like Ducati multistrada lol, im trying to win motogp this year hahaha.

• michelin on Jun 02, 2016 at 9:38 am

drooling and tempting… can start bid for Putrajaya’s plate F210 i.e.FZ-10… hehehe!