SPIED: 2017 Subaru Impreza hatch caught on road

Subaru Impreza hatchback

The new 2017 Subaru Impreza hatch is inching closer to production, it seems – the fifth generation of Fuji Heavy Industries’ breadwinning C-segment contender has been spotted again by our spy photographers in the United States.

While the development prototype is still heavily disguised, these new photos do show the car’s proportions a bit better. The new Impreza does look to be quite a bit longer than the rather compact current model – even though the 5-Door Concept shown in Tokyo last year was shorter than the current car – with the hatch gaining an almost Lexus CT-like look.

As for the design, not much can be seen through all that cladding, but it does look to be sharper than the current Impreza, with hawk-eye headlights that are reminiscent to those fitted to the high-performance WRX and WRX STI models. Cutouts in the cladding also show that the deep contours along the flanks, seen on the 5-Door Concept as well as the Sedan Concept on display at LA, have been retained.

Subaru Impreza hatchback

At the rear, one can spot clear-lens C-shaped tail lights – another similarity with the concept, although the design does appear to be more conventional on the actual car. This particular unit also looks to be wearing rather large 18-inch wheels off the previous-generation Legacy (the previously-spied mule was wearing 17-inch items instead).

The next-generation Subaru Impreza is scheduled to debut in 2017 and will form part of the company’s Mid-Term Management Vision “Prominence 2020” strategic vehicle plan. No further details have been disclosed about the car pertaining to its platform, although it is said to adopt the new Subaru Global Platform.

The same can be said of the powertrain that will be utilised, but expect the existing 115 PS 1.6 litre and 150 PS 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated flat-four engines as well as the 150 PS Sport Hybrid model to be retained, while the Levorg‘s 170 PS 1.6 litre Direct Injection Turbo (DIT) should be incorporated as well. Expect manual transmissions or a Lineartronic CVT to be offered.

GALLERY: Subaru Impreza 5-Door Concept
GALLERY: Subaru Impreza Sedan Concept

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• policeman on Feb 25, 2016 at 7:18 pm

This will be my next car. A shame that Proton can’t put manual transmission in the Perdana. Now I’ve got to shell out an extra 150K for the STI.

Weaklings drive automatics! Waaaa my foot hurts. Whiny wimps. Curse the day Gen Y started popping out.

Got to blame the Gen X for this though. They spoiled y’all. Gave y’all everything y’all wanted. Spoonfed all your life long. Pampered and sissified. Hopeless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 25, 2016 at 8:50 pm

don melampau…u guys gen x also kena spoil by my generation….we MIC give u all scholarship etc u pergi hisap dadah…celaka

• U oso dun melampau. If my british moyang din import ur moyang from homeland, u wud still be a wallah in keralah

• gaviny on Feb 26, 2016 at 7:34 am

subaru is also struggling hard in sales like mitsubishi , after losing their halo cars both haven’t really made anything else that is worthy of mention. In Malaysia their pricing completely out of whack , 200k and above , the subaru xv is fast losing ground just because of major discounts it’s afloat but no replacement in sight

• applegreen on Feb 26, 2016 at 9:58 am

u got really wrong info bro. Despite MI sold around 2000 Subarus per year but the sales actually up by 1000% in recent years. This brand cant compare with mitsu because mitsu have plenty models more than subaru from their popular triton to the cheapest mirage. So Mitsubishi is the one strugling in malaysia and around the world, not subaru.