MIMOS C-Concept revealed – C-segment sedan design

A2_Rendering_Black_Road

Hot on the heels of its first concept vehicle – set to be submitted for the Red Dot Design Award this year – MIMOS, the national R&D centre in information and communications technology under the purview of the Malaysian Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI), has revealed renderings of a new concept vehicle.

The C-Concept, as it’s known, is designed as a sporty C-segment sedan, created by the MIMOS Industrial Design team. Unlike the previous concept, which sported the Perodua logo, the C-Concept bears the “ID” logo of the team.

The design of the car stemmed from a research project, conducted by the industrial design departments of Universiti Putra Malaysia and Universiti Teknologi Mara, as well as the design department of the Suan Sunandha Rajabhat University, Thailand last year.

MIMOS C Concept 2

Aimed at implementing Pictorial Semantic Differential (PSD) as a research method in automotive design, the project collected research data on automotive design tastes from consumers in Malaysia and Asia.

The project was also intended to share knowledge with regards to real automotive design development processes, raising public awareness about the importance of industrial designers in the automotive industry, as well as creating new business opportunity in automotive design between Malaysia and Thailand

Based on the findings of the project, the MIMOS Industrial Design team developed the design of the car according to Malaysian tastes, going through 2D sketches, 3D modelling, rendering and the building of a scale model. So, what do you think of MIMOS’ new concept vehicle?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• FIST (Member) on Feb 26, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Doesn’t suit my taste

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • halli on Feb 26, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Front ford aston martin.
    Rear volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Pak Atan on Feb 26, 2016 at 1:22 pm

In a glance, its similar to Preve. Much lower center of gravity with strong n ‘garang’ face. But rear side, looks copied of Gen2.
    Well , good effort. Its demonstrated how hard to make a model of car works. Just to desing body its take venture of universities n coperates.
    Proton…do it by their own. Congrat PROTON
    What you say?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • shawal on Feb 26, 2016 at 1:31 pm

I’m a malaysian, and i am deeply disturbed and upset by the front fascia of the car, rear is good tho,
    But i dont like fat looking cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Moving coffin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • Can u explain the reason of ur statement? Or are u just simply a hired cybertrooper to hate anything other than proton in the internet? Please explain further

• I want your proton on Feb 26, 2016 at 2:24 pm

Sam Loo can you give me your son proton to me. You boleh upgrade your son to this mimos car.

• the stiq on Feb 26, 2016 at 2:35 pm

After glancing through the photos, noticed the 10th gen honda civic is in the background of one of the pictures. Is MIMOS team copy-and-paste the car rendering into a honda marketing photo?! OMG, that is disastrous and embarrassing if it is true!

• kobealex on Feb 26, 2016 at 4:09 pm

They have another with the facelifted Accord from the US marketing material as well.

Utterly embarrasing.

• Saitam on Feb 26, 2016 at 3:02 pm

well, i am malaysian. and I don’t find this car attractive.
    The research is obviously not working. When you let a bunch of academic nerds design a car, this is what you get. The car look so cold with no passion.

• Peter on Feb 26, 2016 at 3:32 pm

I really still don understand what these 3 universities trying to bring out of their collaboration … you mean just the design of the shell? It’s not simple stuff but not something new & aspiring either.
    … what’s the R&D aspects of this project.

• kzm (Member) on Feb 26, 2016 at 4:25 pm

R&D aspect from this project is shown by letter “D” in R&D.

• MIMOS should really start focusing on designing products that can actually be mass produced and commercialized (i.e. stuff people want, so that it can sell and make money). Leave this kind of design “work” to the students who happily do it for free.

• kobealex on Feb 26, 2016 at 4:07 pm

That’s not a design or styling I want to be seen in that is for sure. The front and the bulk just doesn’t seem right.

The entire car just seems awkward like a mix and match of different favourable designs for different parts of the car. There is no design language or “character” to the car.

• DPCraft on Feb 26, 2016 at 4:59 pm

Front style is like a nerd trying to be aggresive.

• Anonymous on Feb 26, 2016 at 7:10 pm

There is no such thing as a single design to capture the taste of all asian consumers. A design is a design… it takes more than than mere looks to make a consumer from asia to purchase it. A design also needs to imbue n embbed the manufacturer’s dna and philosophy of building a car. That is why an Aston Martin will have their own look… and jaguar, bmw n merc etc. each their own… the entry would take a different approach if it was to design for a future car for a certain make.

Again, its ridiculous to collect perceptions of current consumers… design that wows need to come from within… n made to be the best of what it could be… much like how Apple products are designed…

Personally i would love gull wing doors… or ones that splits open to the front n back for the passenger… roof material like polaroid lenses thats clear yet not let heat pass… woohooo…! :-P

• wow! this is impressive. good job!

• Tesla + Ford on Feb 26, 2016 at 11:17 pm

look’s so Tesla…

• Tesla + Ford on Feb 26, 2016 at 11:17 pm

by the way, nice job.