Public says no to legalised bike street racing in poll

2015-mat-rempit-5-e1444095620332a

An overwhelming 97% of the public have said no to the government’s proposal to hold legalised motorcycle street races on certain closed roads in Kuala Lumpur, in a Tuesday online poll (which can be found here) that was shared on social media, reported The Sun.

The ballot, which asked, “Do you agree with the plan to close certain roads in Kuala Lumpur to allow mat rempits to race?” racked up a total of 72,389 votes as of 10:30 am today, with 69,923 people disagreeing with the plan and only 2,466 wanting the government to go ahead with the proposal.

This comes after the federal territories minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Mansor said on Monday that he was considering closing specific roads once a week to allow motorcyclists to race, adding that the objective was to prevent motorcyclists from speeding in housing areas.

However, he explained that Putrajaya was not promoting illegal racing but was trying to curb it by encouraging alternative methods. His reasoning was not to encourage the Mat Rempits to race, but to control the situation, adding that motorists needed to entertain themselves without harming the general public.

2015-mat-rempit-tolak-motor

In response to this, mayor Datuk Seri Mohd Amin Nordin Abd Aziz said that he was open to the idea and wanted bikers to submit proposals, adding that DBKL would assist in road closures and other matters. However, the police were more cautious on the matter, with Bukit Aman Internal Security and Public Order director Comm Datuk Muhammad Fuad Abu Zarim saying that a proper discussion with the federal territories ministry needed to be held.

The Road Safety Department (JKJR) was also wary of the plan, raising concerns about traffic jams and the safety of people gathered on the pavement, as well as comparing it to the problems that arose from last year’s inaugural KL City Grand Prix. Soon after, Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar has said he will meet with the federal territories minister to discuss the matter further.

What do you think of the idea of introducing organised street races in the city? Will it help in curbing the issue of illegal motorcycle racing, or will it make such bikers more brazen in their behaviour? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• eVaz88 on Feb 26, 2016 at 11:01 am

Bangun lah Malaysian Ministry! Apa benda yang terjadi kat Malaysia ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Nak tengok poll result dgn “patut ke PM di-charge?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
      • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 26, 2016 at 2:43 pm

Big boss sudah songlap RM2.6 billion and already escape. But what is more shocking is the 2 million members in his party. All keep quiet like mouse and condone and approve his songlapping. Do you know why they approve his songlapping? Cause they are the same also.

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 26, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Mat rempit race = more accident
        More accident = more death
        More death = more funeral
        More funeral = more GST.

• George Abdul on Feb 26, 2016 at 12:18 pm

Wasted tax payer money on the ministry… Wondering where’s the REAL government that really helps Rakyat ??!!! Please Rakyat time to abolish the AP cronies !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • alldisc on Feb 26, 2016 at 12:31 pm

i like all mat rempits to see this. how their small so-called community is very much hated by the majority population.

wake up rempits!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 26, 2016 at 1:23 pm

97% of the Rakyat say it is a bad idea. Obviously, the 3% who said it was a good idea are the Rempits themselves who must have voted YES.

This alone shows, the Minister, the Mayor and the IGP have nothing in their heads. Minister himself can propose such a dumb idea. Can you believe that? And he is a senior Minister int he Cabinet.

And the IGP, got time to meet Mayor and Ku Nan to discuss the matter.

I suggest to the IGP, spend your time patrolling the neighborhoods and catching snatch thieves. If you are so free to meet the Minister to have meetings (we all know, meetings is minum teh, makan karipap and kuih lapis and bersurai with nothing done) I hope th eIGP himself and take a patrol car and go patrolling and do some real police work.

Anyway, Malaysians are shocked that a Minister, a full Mayor and the IGP are entertainig such a dumb idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • UMGGOK on Feb 26, 2016 at 1:27 pm

our minister has no future foresee brain.
      Eventually they consider as no brainer.
      Look at how singapore has provided good and safe enviroment without hassle.
      But resourceful Malaysia still far behind to beat singapore.
      Because of those cronies with otak katak!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Tudor on Feb 26, 2016 at 2:05 pm

I think we should let the gov try a few races first and see how it turns out. If the public want to stop these initiatives, then all road closures for walking, running, cycling and other sports activities on weekends should be stopped too.

Many of these people are young, not well educated and obviously do not care to vote for online polls but many of them are employed in low paying jobs serving the city’s elites.

Rempit culture is a significant underground influence in KL and we should to try to assimilate them to mainstream culture or else they will forever be clashes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • Saitam on Feb 26, 2016 at 11:05 am

In Malaysia, we legalised everything illegal so that it will no longer be a problem…

We have illegal foreign workers problem, then the G have a program to legalise them. Viola!, no more illegal foreign worker.

Now you wonder, how come the Pemandu always manage to show improving statistics on all social problems.

Maybe is time they consider prostitution to be legal, judging by the amount of massage center growing.

And hey guys, if all cars have dark tinting, maybe 1 day it will be legal!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • anonymous on Feb 26, 2016 at 11:06 am

Is this minister has absolute zero knowledge regarding the short-term and long-term consequences or simply trying to achieve the title of “World First”?

• In reality, these kids, racing has been their interest. You ban them, they will still find their way.

You can’t ask a person with a particular interest to change it just like that. It takes time. A long time.

But, how to feed their interest? Build tracks for them, it doesn’t have to be that of Sepang standard. Make them pay nominal sum for the track usage. Make them pay for personal insurance. Make them learn about race ethics. An industry can be created out of this. A legit one that is.

If you leave them be, they set their own rules.

If government don’t spend money on them, they will incur more cost on the public – property damage, security, you name it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
    • Nasi lemak mentality on Feb 26, 2016 at 12:35 pm

This kids oso having interest to rob ppl… Please ask ur family to stadby to get robbed. Thanks in advance!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Really bodoh ah you.

Racing and illegal racing are not similar. One is pure interest, the other is a crime.

Robbing people is purely a crime.

That kind of difference also cannot see?

• Rip betul on Feb 29, 2016 at 2:24 pm

U bangang ke ape.. Racing to be take place in racing track not in public road

• wtf r u saying
      thats mean to reduce the rape case the best way is to legalise the prostitution? wake up la

• That’s a stupid analogy. Speaks volume of your perverted mind.

Kids want to race. Build them a race track. You ignore them, they let loose in your neighborhood.

Which do you prefer?

• I agree but do it at Putrajaya. The roads are better and less congestion there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • FireAce on Feb 26, 2016 at 12:15 pm

Totally agreed. Use the road right in front of Government Offices. Najib and gangs can then enjoy the the show every night after 12am, having rempits doing wheelie beside their car when they go out, maybe bang a few of their side mirrors. That will be REAL FUN!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Bonkers on Feb 26, 2016 at 11:14 am

As reported by fake news, lets also curb snatch thief and host a snatch theft marathon in KL. I say how about strict enforcement? I heard it’s the law.

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 26, 2016 at 11:14 am

Not a good idea I think. There will be no run off areas. Imagine if they crash out, they’d hit lamp posts, buildings, etc. Badly injuring themselves and also destroying property. At least a circuit has adequate run off areas.

Its too bad that they demolished Batu Tiga circuit. It would make a good choice for novice racers or those looking for some fun. The short straights, narrow width makes it more challenging than Sepang. Sepang is too wide and too many long straights, its only fun if you drive a supercar, but not a low powered bike or car. It feels like it takes forever to complete the straights. Hopefully, when Pasir Gudang completes renovation, can be a suitable track too for the novice racers, as its an old school circuit, and not a huge Tilke circuit like Sepang.

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 26, 2016 at 11:14 am

The purpose if not encourage mat rempit to race, what if this road closure for “closing specific roads once a week to allow motorcyclists to race” the participates become higher and higher. So authority should close more roads to cater to this kind of dangerous activity?

Besides, how the minister able guarantee this road closure for motorcyclist to race idea able to prevent the motorcyclist race in residence area.

Authority should prohibit the mat rempits racing no matter in housing area or highway coz all road users are accountable to obey rule and regulation. And also find out the root cause why young people especially Malay (not racism but it is fact) wanted to become mat rempits instead should direct this kind of people focus in contribution to society and country.

• hahaha on Feb 26, 2016 at 11:21 am

of course no street racing….!!!

Only people with certain level of intelligence can muster such an idea. We have many in govt.

• Mahai-Leel on Feb 26, 2016 at 11:38 am

DUH … OBVIOUSLY NO RIGHT MR GOVT ??

WHO ARE U SERVING? REALLY? RAKYAT OR REMPITS?

IF YOU WANNA LEGALISE THINGS – we can give you a long list of other priorities, OBVIOUSLY UR NOW DESPERATE TO EARN VOTES!!

• Mat Gila on Feb 26, 2016 at 11:53 am

I am glad that M’sian public have more sense that our gila MPs.

• dumbfounded citizen on Feb 26, 2016 at 11:54 am

another fact that the people we “elected” to govern our home, are incompetent at doing their jobs.

• Kemudian on Feb 26, 2016 at 12:25 pm

Do you really think legalizing this will attract Mat Rempit to race in that particular area? I dont think so lah. Its no fun, no adrenaline rush. They will go somewhere else to race and get their back chase by the police, now that’s the definition of fun to them. Hahaha

• Umasaikiran on Feb 26, 2016 at 12:30 pm

There is no need to look at the content of the proposal by just looking at the title. Those who still want to debate about it is a total failure in common general justification.

• Taba Midon on Feb 26, 2016 at 2:11 pm

The idea is too extreme..

• Please allow.. them to rempit in front of Ministers and IGP house? Can be 24h. TQ very much!

• Kalau aku anak Tengku Adnan, dah terus lempang kepala dia.

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 28, 2016 at 9:40 am

Actually, why not? As long as they don’t endanger others, let them kill themselves. In the US they try to move street racers to places where it is legal. Even with the cops racing against them. Means less illegal racing.