2016 Petronas Cub Prix Rd 1 -55

A hot, sunny afternoon in Serdang at the Malaysia Agro Exposition Park (MAEPS) saw the 23rd season of the Petronas Cub Prix kick-off, with three classes – Wira, CP115 and the premier CP130 – being contested by local riders. While much has been said about legalised street racing, the Cub Prix series, which takes place in various towns and cities around Peninsular Malaysia, has seen growing popularity over the last two decades.

Based on the under-bone (kapchai) category of motorcycles, racers take to temporary circuits set up in car parks or around the streets on highly modified machines that have increased power, better handling, and improved braking. Young riders work their way up from the Wira category, moving up through the ranks through the CP115 and CP130 categories, with talented riders perhaps landing places in larger-capacity racing classes such as the Asia Road Racing Championship, riding 600 cc race machines.

Starting with the Wira category race, Selangor-born Mohd Shafiq Ezzariq of Idemitsu Kozi Yam Honda Racing emerged victorious, despite strong competition from second placed Md Qhuwarismi Md Nasir of Westar Motorsport, while privateer S Alif Nazirul S Ismail came in third. Saiful Azhary Muhamad, Shafiq’s team-mate, was fourth, and Md Aiman Tahiruddin of Petronas Yamaha pulled up in fifth place.

“Today’s race was easy, although there was strong competition in the early part of the race from the other racers. This is my last season in the Wira category, and I hope to be champion this year,” said Shafiq.

2016 Petronas Cub Prix Rd 1 -66

Meanwhile, in the CP115 category, last year’s runner-up in the CP115 Cub Prix, Tengku Amirul Haffirudin from Terengganu of Motul Zeneos Yamaha YY Pang, led the pack to clinch the win. He beat Md Fareez Afeez of Felda PB Racing who at one point was leading the race, but let the opportunity slip through his fingers.

New-comer to the CP115 category, and champion of the Wira class in 2015, Md Harith Farhan Baharin of Idemitsu Kozi Yam Honda Racing took third place, followed by Md Hazieq Md Fairues and Tengku Zaidi Mohd Zaifaizal – both of Petronas Yamaha Maju Motor – in fourth and fifth respectively.

The premier CP130 category was won by Kasma Daniel Kasmayudin of Petronas Yamaha Maju Motor, who kicked off his maiden season in grand fashion. Coming off his CP115 championship win in 2015, Kasma fended off the veteran riders in the pack -including team-mate Ahmad Fazli Sham, who came in second – to record his first CP130 win.

“I am happy with this win, although I expected a tougher race. Perhaps this was because several incidents earlier in the race allowed me to pull away from the others,” said 16-year old Kasma. Coming in third was Md Zaqhwan Zaidi of Givi Honda Yuzy Racing, who also recorded the fastest lap time during qualifying on Saturday.