Avoid traffic jams by coming out earlier – Ku Nan

PJ Traffic Jam

Here’s a great way to avoid traffic jams – take the gridlock guesswork out of the equation by leaving for your destination earlier. So says Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor, who explained that motorists should learn to recognise the peak and non-peak hours of their route to avoid the perennial issue, The Sun reports.

“We will usually say that we were late as a result of the traffic condition. If we know the time (peak and non-peak hours), we should come out earlier. We must know how to manage our time,” he said. He added that people should use public transportation when moving around in the city.

Tengku Adnan said this while addressing the Dewan Rakyat in response to a supplementary question from Teresa Kok, the MP from Seputeh, who asked if the KL City Council had a proper development plan to avoid congestion in the city.

She was comparing the city planning in the capital to that in Selangor, where each of the local councils were provided with guidelines as a measure to control traffic flow. To this, Tengku Adnan responded that the development plan in KL was “better than Selangor.” Do you think it is? Share your thoughts on the matter with us in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ketam ajar anak on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:04 am

Ministers should stop using outriders

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 220 Thumb down 0
    • thepolygonal on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:22 am

Yes, they should practice what they preach.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 1
      • Kereta Kena Tendang!!! - Abuse on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:13 pm

Another absurd statement by Minister who wants to legalize Rempit.

The truth is, the Ministers and Polis have no idea about traffic jams because they BOTH abuse outriders and sirens. By right, outriders are for ONLY 2 people. The King and PM. Even Ministers should not have outriders

Lately, there has been so much abuse. Everyday, nearly every Minister or Deputy or PDRM officer abuses this privilege. Everyday you can see countless times this happening all over Klang Valley. The Polis also, don’t use Polis cars with Sirens. They use normal cars and put that blue siren to go through traffic.

Another conjob also is the banduan van and the polis escort. One day I folled the Banduan van (lorry) with siren and escort and finally they ended up at the warong. The PDRM guys were having kopi and wanted free outrider sirens to go through the morning hour rush jam.

Another drama also is the Minister or the big shot in the Lexus LX570 who goes aroundwith sirens and have his outriders kick cars. I am an old man of 80 yrs old and I take a while to move my car suddenly during traffic. Outriders kicked my car until got dent.

It is high time the Ministers, Deputy and PDRM come down to earth. Show by example. Abuses, kicks and going for breakfasts using sirens is not a good example to show the rakyat!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 188 Thumb down 1
        • UK Ministers VS Msian Ministers on Mar 23, 2016 at 1:26 pm

Do you know in the UK, full Ministers actually take the tube to work? I lived in UK many years. Every other day I have sat beside full Ministers in the tube (London Underground). No escort. No bodyguards.

Many times, the Minister even stands if the train is sardine packed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
          • Same L0rrrr on Mar 23, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Stop your police escort then I dare you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
          • Polis Warning on Mar 23, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Polis already warn the rakyat, if you block or don’t give way to polis outriders or escort, you will be prosecuted. They will say u interfere with their work and duty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • Our ministers wouldn’t dare to rake public transport!
            … since they seldom do any right decision for the people.

• Gargantia on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:14 pm

Know why people don’t like your “self-praise” statement and “blaming Rakyat” statement… Rakyat still need this dumno Minister?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
        • Maslan would be so proud of his friends

• Really on Mar 23, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Jabba the Hutt strikes again! Looks like he is trying to replace Maslan 3.85 in our hate list.

• WT Fuchhh on Mar 24, 2016 at 11:18 am

Good advice from a person whom does not use public transport and whom do not need to wake up 2 hours before going to work.

All thinking with their butt only. SEDIH….

• dUMBO on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:24 am

Lemak bodoh! Boleh balik kalo waktu kerja ke?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 0
      • George Abdul on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:21 pm

Another example why Rakyat wasted on paying taxes including GST for monthly salaries to this dumno Minister… and the ministry. Someone please send him back to school !!! Old is not an excuses to make foolish statement…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
      • Wah lau on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:42 pm

To avoid jam, can go home earlier?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
    • Every1canTalk on Mar 23, 2016 at 1:00 pm

Oh gosh, this guy makan gaji buta je..
      Who do not know avoid peak hours, but the office hours is almost the same for all!!!
      Mat rempit also can be legalised, why not the government related offices working hours change to 3pm-11pm? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • why do you ask a dumb stupid person that question? for sure you will get a dumb and ridiculous answer…mangkuk menteris everywhere

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 2
  • Almighty Snack Bar on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:09 am

Hahahaha… Thanks for using jokes to cover up.. Hahahaha..

Sincerely,
    Almighty Snack Bar aka ICES

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • hahaha on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:09 am

cut the horsesh*t and try navigating without police escort then come back to tell me about leaving early for your destination.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 1
  • MeToo on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:11 am

Mr Minister, please practice what you preach and lead by example.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • Painter on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:11 am

One of the main problem is there’s too many cars on the road. Just look to your left and right while driving, significant number of cars with only 1 passengers only.

Avoiding peak hours will only solve part of the problem. Many other issues are still unresolved, like indiscriminately parked cars, car changing lanes so many times, inadequate public transportation etc etc

Human factors plus external factors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • alldisc on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:00 pm

Every year Malaysia registers half a million units of new cars. In 5 years that number is 2.5 mil. Where do all the cars go?

• Tengku Ciplak on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:12 am

Yes we all got nothing else to do in the morning…..no kids to send to school ……. just like “Tengku” so free

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 2
  • Kevin Henry on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:14 am

Another brainless person who does not use his brain to think before he speaks. Wait he does not have a brain. My bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
  • stupidity on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:17 am

Kuala lumpur supposed to be under pakatan rakyat every election this stupid umno governent should be ashamed cause they lost their vote. Just let this pakatan rakyat.manage the city may be its lots better .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 8
  • ku nan bapak kau on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:22 am

this cow’s brain minister should be fired ku nan or whtever your name is you should drive to work and dont used the police or escort to beat the traffic idiot will forever be idiot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • Ask him what’s the development plan, he ask you to come out ealier. Speechless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • Kaki Lepak on Mar 23, 2016 at 5:39 pm

Development plan…..what development plan ????

Oooops. Tomorrow have to call for emergency meeting.

Next day meeting ….

Chairman : Hari ni, kita nak discuss traffic plan. Sebelum kita mula, mari makan kuih dan nasi lemak. kopi pun panas dan sedap…..

After 1 hr makan,….aahhh dah kenyang. Ooops ada meeting kat putrajaya. Kita postpone lain bulan, ok.

Mesyuarat bersurai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Roger Tan on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:23 am

Tell that to those staying in USJ leaving their homes at 6.30am

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • tontonjoker on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:29 am

Minister with brainless is advised to keep their mouth shut.

Everyone know the benefit of early out, but not everyone can go to work earlier due, most of the parents have to fetch their kids to school or nanny, you can come out early to work doesn’t mean kindergarten gate open earlier for you.

Don’t simply talk without using brain to figure out the root of cause, it just reveal your stupidity to the public. Ku Nan!..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 0
    • policeman on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:57 pm

If having children is such a disadvantage, why did you have them? Instead of sissyfying your kids let them be independent. Let them ride a bike, walk to school. Is that so hard?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 102
      • Bodoh betul la kau ni. Dah ada anak belum? If you have, you will know what tontonjoker mean. There’s no problem to early out to office to me as early as 530-6 in the morning, that before i have child. To send your 4 years old child to nursery as early as 530 in the morning? gila ka? ask the 4 years old kid to ride a bike/walk? And no nursery and kindergarten here in Malaysia open up as early as 5.00 am.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
      • Agree. My 6 months old daughter already can prepare her own milk. My 7 year old son already can ride a bike in the middle of USJ traffic jam in peak hours.

In the name of independent, I seek your consideration to think on their safety & security…. unless u don’t have any of them.

Hmm… I wonder which school you went to. Hopefully not the same as KuNan’s school.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • If your kids is two years old…. You can ask your kids to walk to kindergarten… stupid

• tongku...ah...nan on Mar 23, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Are u nut? If the school is located more than 1km away from your house, would you let your kindergarten kids walk to school? When you have kids, make sure you train your kids to walk to school even for 10km away!

• Anti CO2 on Mar 23, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Poor policeman will not understand you, cos they have sirens…

• Malaysia really has lots of brainless people. Let the kids ride to school or leave them there even if the schools are not opened? Please keep quiet if you don’t have brain.

• Stupidity have no cure… It’s a disease

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • sorry boss, today i will late to work because nowaday start from 6am to 1pm already become peak hour. Menteri ask me travel on non peak hour!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Isn’t he staying in Putrajaya?

• azzrie on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:55 am

Most of the time politician do not think when they talk. If now 6.30 am is not peak hour and everybody go to office at 6.30am.then later 6.30 am become a peak hour.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • if all leave earlier…the end result is the jam starts earlier :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • sardin on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:58 am

this is really, not the first time some ‘minister’ reply with such stupidness. how are you going to go out early to send kids to school when school has not opened yet?? at my kids’ school even teachers are late because of jam!! *sigh* there are only two types of ministers left in this country. stupid and moron.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • policeman on Mar 23, 2016 at 1:00 pm

Your task is to send your kids to school. What difference does it make if it’s open or not? Can’t the little sissy wait?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 69
      • Really on Mar 23, 2016 at 1:29 pm

With the crime rates nowadays, you are not worried leaving your children to fend for themselves? Wait, I forgot. You don’t have any children of your own yet and frankly you should keep it that way, forever!

• Policeman with tiny brain on Mar 23, 2016 at 3:34 pm

As above

• Black Dog on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:01 pm

If PKR or Teresa Kok doesn’t know, Selangor has the WORST road condition in the whole of Malaysia!
    Politicians from both sides are a load of rubbish!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 29
  • Matchy on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:14 pm

Thank you Ku “Captain Obvious” Nan! Just saved my day on traffic jams!

• medic on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:14 pm

I’m curious to know if we listen to our Minister’s stupid comment too often will it damage our brain & make us as stupid as them?

• Early – I used to start at 5.15am to avoid jam for 25 km along PLUS and Lebuhraya Persekutuan. Bea realistic YB.

• vincent on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:29 pm

Come out earlier, go home later. Problem solved… in minister’s way. Now, tell me, if they deserve their pay?

• C.P. MOHAN on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:35 pm

Some/most cannot leave early because of school, school-bus and nursery hours. Like ministers, we don’t have “drivers”.

• Ask his children to take a bus instead of using luxury car.. Then make a public statement..

Ask ur wife to take let on peak hour..

• give up on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:39 pm

i used to leave home at 6.50am to beat the jam, then it became 6.45am and now 6.30am. according to his “advice”, i think one day i will have to leave before 6.00am

• kujik on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Go out early and go back lewat skit…br xjem..
    If go out normal time still jem..mean jln mmg jem..menteri jem

• Why not gov ppl woke up early to avoid traffic jam too? Everyday I saw a black proton perdana aka Honda Accord always road opening by police. Want us give way to him. He sure wake up early avoid traffic instead of wasting our tax money to do this

• nabill (Member) on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:45 pm

I can start writing a book ‘ when a politician open his mouth…’ any takers?

• Really on Mar 23, 2016 at 1:33 pm

How about ‘Collection of Comedy Quotes by Malaysian Politicians’? It will stretch to volume 10 and you will never ran out of materials due to the healthy supply of “funny” politicians we have.

• ku nan de ma no lun on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:49 pm

having tummy like pregnant woman u better dnt even take bicycle must go for walk 2 hours a day in this hot climate and v rakyat knows v well wht v should do to avoid jams.
    what i should write more …………………….yukkkk

• Selangor’s way to solve traffic problems? Build dangerous one-way loops. And add more road bumps than u can throw a stick at. Oso dun forget to sprinkle the roads with potholes and deep manholes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
  • Wonder where did he put his brain. Hmmm. Seems a lot of minister wants to jump in Ahmad Maslan route

• jontyan on Mar 23, 2016 at 2:12 pm

Who determines peak-hour? The commuters.
    If all commuters go out early, the traffic jam (peak-hour) will just be earlier.
    Based on your genius brain logic, a better solution would be camp in the office.
    Mind you, I leave home at 6am in the morning to avoid jam. But it is not the solution. Go figure out yourself after removing the fat and cholesterol from your brain.

• john is otak batu on Mar 23, 2016 at 3:39 pm

Sorry. ..too late to remove. Already choked up with lies & stupidity

• Ah Pek on Mar 23, 2016 at 2:19 pm

Even a fool look wiser if he keeps silent…

• the stiq on Mar 23, 2016 at 2:21 pm

To the ministers,
    Please don’t use your outriders and drive the car yourself to work in the morning for 1 month. Then only you deserved to speak on this issue.

If you prefer to use the public transport, by all means use it. BUT no escort or cordoned area with huge VIP entourage with you.

If David Cameron, Nick Clegg, Boris Johnson, Ed Miliband and many more other British MPs and PMs can do it, why can’t you?

• Great advice on Mar 23, 2016 at 2:29 pm

Oppsss, traffic will start soon (4pm), should be smart and go out early (11am). Thanks Mr. Minister

• akule_sapelagi on Mar 23, 2016 at 2:37 pm

how early Mr.Minister Ku Nan should we coming out? 4 a.m?….

• -BigBalls- on Mar 23, 2016 at 2:39 pm

the guts of him to call us the paying rakyat to wake up earlier

heres the scenario

minister works at 9am (assuming they even work at all), they wake up 8.30am, 8.45am leave their mansions with outrider, 9am sharp report work with 15 minutes on the road

rakyat works at 9am, we leave for work at 7am!! fight through the stressful traffic for 2 hours while giving way to these useless ministers and arrive at office ngam ngam 9am otherwise we gonna get sacked by our boss who pay us peanuts

-BigBalls-

• xoxox on Mar 23, 2016 at 2:41 pm

good idea!! make sure you don’t use traffic police to clear the jam for you! and go out earlier, follow what you suggest or else you are worst than junk!

• xoxox on Mar 23, 2016 at 2:49 pm

ministers should car pooling to go to their office!!

• wow! U r so so wise, u should call yourself Tengku “Stephen Hawking ” Adnan. According to a wise guy like u, to avoid traffic jam, go to work early and come home late.

• Hondana on Mar 23, 2016 at 3:36 pm

Stupidity is not a handicap. But this Minister is both.

• choong hui ken on Mar 23, 2016 at 3:57 pm

kunan kuman… federal highway,sudah jam masa tak menentu… kl area lagi x payah cakap.. you ade bawak kreta sendiri ke.. atau mamat bawak kreta awak.. ade ke kaki kau penat picit break ngan minyak.. ade ke kau terkejut giler bila tiba tiba disemput dari kiri ngan kanan.. klu x tau, cuba la dulu.. jgn suruh kite keluar awal.. jgn asyik suruh rakyat itu ini macam taiko..

• Wong Mun Keong on Mar 23, 2016 at 4:28 pm

From the same “genius” that came up with:
    1. Outlawing “food help” for the poor / homeless in KL City
    2. Legalizing mat rempits’ races ON THE STREETs

i’m so… underwhelmed

• longjaafar on Mar 23, 2016 at 4:33 pm

He is an embarassment to the country. His lack of intelligence is legendary..

• Kopisusu on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:12 pm

kepala hotak tengku adnan berjambul lapan.
    Ku Nan pergi kerja ada orang escort, boleh keluar lambat. Lagi setengah jam mesyuarat baru nak keluar rumah.
    Cuba Ku Nan keluar awal, tanpa escort.Baru tahu rasa macam mana.
    Macam mana Ku Nan boleh jadi menteri? Otak kosong betul. Sepatutnya menteri kena selesaikan masalah, bukan menambahkan masalah. Menteri sepatutnya berkhidmat untuk rakyat. Bukannya menyusahkan rakyat.

• Tamau itu macam on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:47 pm

This is the guy that uses a “fake” tengku for his name, right??

After what he have said (which is stupid, silly and downright offending), Now I am really believing this tengku is really a fake.

Malaysia govt ministry never short of these jokers…..

• Minister 3.85 on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:51 pm

Stupidity is a MUST when applying for a Minister post in Malaysia.

Being arrogant and ignorant will be bonus.

• If you’re the boss senanglah. Can come late to work and go home early. Us regular people can’t do that. Suka hati punya statement ni. Try coming back to earth…

• Keris Jawa on Mar 24, 2016 at 12:36 am

What you guys expect from a man who’s married to a Virgin from Hell?

• Kintakunte on Mar 24, 2016 at 12:47 am

How long more do we need to pay taxes and gst to subsidise the salary of this useless minister ? In fact all of them in the cabinet should be wiped out. The longer they stay in power, the worse off we are going to be. By the way, country does not belong to them!

• Kintakunte on Mar 24, 2016 at 12:49 am

How long more do we need to pay taxes and gst to subsidise the salary of this useless minister ? In fact all of them in the cabinet should be wiped out. The longer they stay in power, the worse off we are going to be. By the way, this country does not belong to them!

• step 1. no escorts for all government officials.

step 2. take away their drivers

step 3. take away their official vehicles.

let this useless ministers take the bus, taxi or trains to wherever they want to go.

so easy for them to say this and that.

• Stupid BN on Mar 25, 2016 at 11:45 pm

Truth is: Every BN politicians – have lost touch with reality. They sit far away from every day life – smothered in luxury and wealth stolen from Malaysians.

They do not understand reality and they will ONLY lecture from atop of their comfortable lives.

Malaysians who continue to support the pathetic BN government – like stupid Coolie- are too stupid. You are destroying Malaysia with your Inabulity to think.