Gov’t officials allowed to break speed limits if needed?

Proton_Perdana_Accord_ 003

Deputy home minister Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed has said that government vehicles may break legal speed limits when travelling between official functions. A report by The Malay Mail Online quoted the minister as having said that there are “no hard and fast rules” to this, but all final decisions are left to the discretion of the officials and authorities involved.

“Government cars, if we have to rush for official business, we can inform the police. Government car on government business, we settle it internally, but with justification,” he said at the Dewan Rakyat today.

The minister added that government officials are not entirely free to abuse such special exemptions of the law, especially in a personal capacity. “I’m not saying we can flout, what I am saying is that there are exceptions to the rules. Sometimes we have to hurry up to get to a function,” he said, adding that he himself had only just paid RM300 for a speeding fine.

Nur Jazlan’s remarks were prompted by Rasah MP Teo Kok Seong’s comments that called on ministers to set a good example on the road rather than contemplate further increasing traffic fines. Just last week, home minister Datuk Seri Zahid Hamidi said that the authorities were considering increasing the maximum fines for traffic summonses.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Annoynimouse on Mar 24, 2016 at 4:07 pm

So he’s implying that when govt officials overspeed, they don’t pose danger to other motorists?
    As always, rules apply only to the orang biasa…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 252 Thumb down 2
    • You think I care? Unless whoever the minister or person is travel in an ambulance la

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 169 Thumb down 2
      • Gargantia on Mar 24, 2016 at 5:10 pm

How many more nonsense statements that BN ministry will make next??? Only ministers are busy and urgent, WHY don’t they (ministers) “WAKE UP EARLY” to avoid being late (Ku Nan where are you now?) !!!!! Bullshit and Rakyat pay taxes to pampered this ministry???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 178 Thumb down 0
        • George Abdul on Mar 24, 2016 at 6:33 pm

Back then Deputy PM says Malaysia no double standard LAW and recent Tengku said ” wake up early to avoid traffic jam, blame Rakyat late wake up”…Now “ministers government vehicles may break legal speed limits when travelling between official functions”. All is Rakyat failed continue blame Rakyat, BN ministers themself always Righteous and High minded !!! BN supporters come and support your BN boss ass now???

• Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 24, 2016 at 5:42 pm

What a big joke. Law is law. Law is there to protect and safeguard the rakyat. Like this, there will be excuses of shooting ie trigger happy people, rape and murder.

This is the same like saying, I rape the lady because she wore provocative. Where got logic?

There is no exemption to the law. You cannot break the law. After all, most of Government meetings are usually minum teh and makan karipap. Government meetings must adjourn for few sessions cause that is the way of life of the Government.

Once we bend the law, it will be habit. And we will bend for everything.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 2
        • WT Fuchhh on Mar 24, 2016 at 6:39 pm

Everybody in Malaysia is born Equal. Except for our pm, He Who Cannot Be Named. He who cannot be charged. He who can get away with all crimes.

• WT Fuchhh on Mar 24, 2016 at 6:42 pm

VIP can speed. But pls change all Speed Limit board to Max Speed rakyat biasa 90, Max speed VIP depend on Urgency.

• Biasa dh tengok kete VVIP speeding.
      Konon nk pegi jamuan Hi-tea kat hotel. X pon shopping kat area Bkt Bintang je..ish ish

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 0
      • qwerty on Mar 24, 2016 at 5:48 pm

So in the future the speed limit will be further reduced, probably to a max of 30km/h for all highways so that they could give out more saman to make more money; but government officials will fly pass our vehicles just because they’re in a rush to the Parliament as they woke up late that morning. Yea, they have the need to go, so that they could sleep in the Dewan.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
      • OMG…Their brains got problem, pls allow them break the speed limit law….why we care…hahahah

• hahaha on Mar 24, 2016 at 4:42 pm

kalau eksiden sapa salah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • thepolygonal on Mar 24, 2016 at 5:09 pm

So it is true, one rule for the government, and another for the people. Next they probably can illegal park because they are late for function.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 0
      • camtakpro on Mar 24, 2016 at 9:24 pm

There are always “cacat akal” parking space for them.

• Policeman on Mar 24, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Government officials speed in cars that can handle the speed. But you wanna speed in your viva?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
      • funny policeman on Mar 25, 2016 at 11:24 am

true, you have your point. those milo tins are truly dangerous for speeding.
        by the way, how about other cars such as BMW, Mercedes-Benz, etc?

• His speeding ticket he received is most probably anak dia yang speeding. You think a police dare to give him a ticket ar?….especially in this country.

• Ah Kai on Mar 24, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Playing golf at KLGCC with other datuk/tan sri is considered as a function too? GTFO..!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 0
  • haih~ on Mar 24, 2016 at 4:12 pm

orang lain pun nak cepat juga en. menteri oii….adoiiii~

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 0
  • abe we on Mar 24, 2016 at 4:12 pm

govt officials are advised to depart early so that they can reach destination on time.sarcasm…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 1
  • Samang on Mar 24, 2016 at 4:13 pm

Wake up early la

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 1
  • x-city on Mar 24, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Don’t care if you’re red, blue, green or else, when you’re in public road just obey the LAW!! that’s all…Thank You

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 0
  • hahahaha on Mar 24, 2016 at 4:18 pm

Matlamat tidak menghalalkan cara.. as they say.
    Reduce the usage of taxpayers’ funds to pay for the traffic police escorts & leave earlylah! That should be the best solution. If you tell rakyat to do that, then you should also do it.
    Wonder if they actually use their own pocket money to pay for their summonses.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 0
  • Wiwiwiwiw on Mar 24, 2016 at 4:18 pm

Travelling 90km/h 110km/h and 150km/h only differs just a few minutes.
    What makes you above the rakyat?
    ABUSE OF POWER!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 0
    • Policeman on Mar 24, 2016 at 7:57 pm

They are ranked higher than you so respect is due. I’m arrogant but I too salute and respect those above me.

You being a peon should bow down to all government officials. They have something you don’t. Rank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
      • funny policeman on Mar 25, 2016 at 11:32 am

Get a life!
        If you wanna be respected, be a person who can contribute to the society and done this right!
        Get respect because of your rank?? It’s not respect!

• In b4 its ok for other politikus to speed in his Alphard but then kena KO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
  • what menteri cannot do?
    please choose wisely during general election.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 0
  • Samseng berlesen on Mar 24, 2016 at 4:22 pm

no diff la, our M’sian cops are Samseng berlesen anyway, any of you HAVE NOT seen police cars or motorbikes break rules when they are on the road ?

now talk about the higher grade Samseng berlesen, apa lagi ??!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
  • malaysian view on Mar 24, 2016 at 4:22 pm

“Government cars, if we have to rush for official business, we can inform the police. Government car on government business, we settle it internally, but with justification,” he said at the Dewan Rakyat today.

why rush when you can plan ahead come out earlier according to some minister.

if minister can, everyone also got official event to attend, so everyone can break the speed limit, reason = need to attend official event…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
  • pelik on Mar 24, 2016 at 4:30 pm

we know speed kills. So if u speed and kill someone it is still ok?
    so you are above the law now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • They always needed.. If not why need police open road for them? Even goin to work in the early morning. Always saw a perdana open road by police at Sri petaling

• Other countries practice the same?

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 24, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Nope…in other countries even the PM takes the train to work.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
      • George Abdul on Mar 24, 2016 at 6:37 pm

True that based on human rights country…. Back in Malaysia(3rd world country) based on Government ministry Rights ONLY !!!

• he might be the victim of zica virus….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • saladin on Mar 24, 2016 at 5:10 pm

kena saman bayar jer la. Jangan banyak cerita pulak. macam la penting sangat goverment business. Ko ingat keje ko je yang penting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Napoleon on Mar 24, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Only 2 legged animals are allow to speed above the regulated limit just because need to attend a very important event. 4 legged animals must maintain regulated rules at all time. And if 4 legged animals are late, they must wake up early and set off early. 2 legged animals must be given the best of everything at all times because they need the energy, the brains, the time, and occasionally break certain rules given the occasion outcome. Reminded me of this story from animal farm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • nabill (Member) on Mar 24, 2016 at 5:17 pm

That doesnt stop me from waving my middle finger wen thy pass me…basic human rights!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Have you ever been in a event with menteri? have you ever encountered them showing up early at the event? Absolutely NO! Break speed limit or not, they will show up late anyway. It’s called ‘fashionably late’.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
  • sepul on Mar 24, 2016 at 5:33 pm

Menteri need for speed.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Mar 24, 2016 at 5:53 pm

My blood boils each time hearing najib and ministers talking

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
  • truthbetold on Mar 24, 2016 at 6:00 pm

govt officials should leave early if the journey will take long time or need to wrestle the traffic jam, just like any of the citizen…”it’s all about time planning” (BN minister, 2016)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • Menteri Dumb on Mar 24, 2016 at 6:02 pm

After we can see all of the govt vehicle break the speed limit. Malaysia full of beyond stupid ministers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr (Member) on Mar 24, 2016 at 6:14 pm

Can I speed when I have official business with the toilet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Henry on Mar 24, 2016 at 6:20 pm

What happen to “everyone is equal under the law?” Oh, I forget. Some are more equal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • another not clever statement by a minister.. u wake up early la!!! haiyaaaaaa!!!!

• tadulako on Mar 24, 2016 at 6:48 pm

govt official car can overspeed…
    govt official car can double park….
    govt official car can block one lane of the road…
    govt official car can drive “lawan arus”…
    govt official car can have police escort…
    govt official car can have black tinted windows…
    govt official car can park anywhere…
    if they needed oso ka??

The govt officials inside the car thought they are the king, VVIP konon….

but, these officals merely govt servant, civil servant elected by the rakyat, for the rakyat and to work for the rakyat….Nothing else!

In fact, the rakyat pay for their gaji, yet these govt officials are so delusioned they thought they are the master….

Only in Malaysia…The Boleh-Anything land

• yummykim on Mar 24, 2016 at 6:50 pm

As far as I am concerned, govt officials mostly ARRIVE LATE to event, DEPART EARLY from the event.

Anyway, even though the official attended the events, they are likely to be zzzzzz over the entire event….

• RakyatBiasa on Mar 24, 2016 at 6:52 pm

I think each time ministers imply a new rule , they should spend some wise time to read our comments here. So they how stupid it is to think like this. We have to leave early to avoid jam , they can speed.

• tondabanda on Mar 24, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Since March starts n bests of my knowledge statements came from miniseries which boil blood of rakyat n same time showed that how dumb n idiots r the ministers of this country:-
    1 billion govt need to pay to highway operations,
    Secondly wake up early to avoid jam
    Thirdly so call ministers can overspeed when needed .
    N wait for rests of month of upcoming idiot statements which put shame to Malaysians n downgrade already the tornish image of malaysua to rests of world .
    When changes will come ,when v become developed nation with true n professional ministers .I got zero hopes

• Painter on Mar 24, 2016 at 7:45 pm

Tak boleh. Totally setting bad example.

• Mike andrew on Mar 24, 2016 at 8:05 pm

only in malaysia, the citizen can inquiry the government officials to the max-what a madness-never happen in other countries

• FaizalMisman on Mar 24, 2016 at 8:18 pm

Good!! 2nd statement from the brainless minister in a week. Anything else?

• U know ur event at 9am.. Go out early laa..5 am already leave house..u told people to go out early..plan ur journey laa

But usually event a 9am.. 9am still at home

It ok.. Ayam VVVVIP…everybody will wait me..

• Anti-KERA on Mar 24, 2016 at 8:43 pm

Why lah we got this kind of KERAjaan…

• Another example of rules make for own conviniences.

• We_are_stupid on Mar 24, 2016 at 9:06 pm

Govt is admitting they are above the laws. The laws only apply to common people. And they forget govt is supposed to be the servant of the common people.

• Thiam Ern on Mar 24, 2016 at 9:22 pm

Mr Jazlan, all of us have reasons for driving faster and we have urgent matters to attend to. It doesn’t mean that if you are a government official, your work is more of an importance compared to a mom who’s rushing over to bring her kid back from nursery.

Therefore, wouldn’t it make more sense to propose for better roads and higher speed limit so that all of us could enjoy rather than making a statement which would cause everyone else to be unhappy?

• Jay Law on Mar 24, 2016 at 9:24 pm

they can when tax payers cannot

• Gomorrah on Mar 24, 2016 at 9:35 pm

So looks like it is too difficult for these supposed leaders to put up with what every other Malaysian has to go through. Why is their job related “function” important? The rest of us also have to work, show up on time in the morning or whatever time work starts, punch card if in a government department. If late too many times kena disciplinary action. For us we have to wake up at 5 am just to be at work on time according to certain people. These people voted in to do this job automatically can flout the road rules?
    Wake up la useless deputy minister – if there is a traffic jam it is because a) road not big enough b) too many cars c) not enough public transport options, force people into single occupant vehicle. All 3 factors directly result from poor governance which means you and the rest of the cabinet are at fault for not delivering what you are voted in to do. How hard is it to understand the social contract? WE are meant to be YOUR boss in this system of government. If not stop masquerading and call it what it is – a dictatorship no different to the former USSR.

• Can speeding & violate the law with reason nak cepat??

Kerja lambat jugak.

Bod*h!

• Minah on Mar 25, 2016 at 8:53 am

Oi oi oi.. The law should be fair la.

• If needed break the speed limit…
    If needed take donation…
    If needed increase and impose new tax…
    If needed sack and appoint new minister….
    If needed just do what ever you want……..

• what so great about them anyway ? they tend to forget they are chosen by the RAKYAT ! Speeding and zooming in and out, flashing from behind and sounding the sirens are a real nuisance !

• poor rakyat on Mar 25, 2016 at 12:05 pm

rakyat can only do….pay gst, pay taxes, pay higher charges of thins, pay summons or fine, pay tolls, donate kopi…

• Well, “Avoid traffic jams by coming out earlier – Ku Nan”.

• Ben yap on Mar 25, 2016 at 2:17 pm

BN thinking:
    1) if jam use outrider
    2) if late just speed