SPYSHOTS: 2016 Subaru Forester facelift in Malaysia

2016 Subaru Forester 2.0i-P spyshots 2

Not long now until the 2016 Subaru Forester facelift makes its Malaysian debut. The facelifted crossover, which was present at the recent Bangkok Motor Show, is slated to be launched here on April 14. Before that takes place, paultan.org reader Calvin Loong managed to snap the Forester as it makes its way around town.

At launch, the Forester will be offered with two locally-assembled (CKD) variants – 2.0i and 2.0i-P (as seen here). Also part of the line-up is a sole imported from Japan (CBU) turbocharged XT variant. Prices (inclusive of GST, but without insurance and road tax) start at RM144,160 for the 2.0i, progressing to RM153,700 for the 2.0i-P and RM210,940 for the XT. If you’re interested, bookings for the crossover are now open.

Obvious indicators that this is indeed the facelifted Forester begin with the car’s headlamps, which are of the LED variety and feature bright, C-shaped DRLs. Elsewhere, the car sports a new three-bar grille (previously a honeycomb design) and thinner silver trim piece running across it, with the Subaru badge positioned in the middle.

The bumper remains unchanged from the previous XT, still fitted with LED DRLs at its corners. Only the 2.0i receives the new bumper design as per what we saw at the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show. However, the 2.0i gets halogen reflectors instead of LED units.

2016 Subaru Forester 2.0i-P spyshots 4

The Forester seen here also sports the new fan-style wheel design as per what we saw in Bangkok, which are 17-inch in size. From the rear, the new tail lamps are also present as well, now adopting a C-shaped design to match up with the headlamps.

The cabin meanwhile, will be more upmarket than before. Leather upholstery, a new TFT LCD colour display, double-DIN touchscreen head-unit, new steering wheel and powered seats are just the start of things. NVH is improved here as well, thanks to additional soundproofing and thicker windows. One nifty feature here is a PIN code access function, allows customers to access their Subaru without a key fob.

On the safety front, the Subaru is well-equipped, packing seven airbags (dual front, sides and curtains, driver’s knee), Vehicle Dynamics Control (VDC), Hill Start Assist, ring-shaped reinforcement frame and ABS (with EBD and BA). The impressive safety kit is standard on all variants.

Powering the locally-assembled models (2.0i and 2.0i-P) is a 2.0 litre FB20 four-cylinder DOHC boxer naturally-aspirated petrol engine (150 PS at 6,200 rpm and 198 Nm at 4,200 rpm). The XT’s engine (FA20) meanwhile, gains direct-injection and turbocharging to produce 241 PS at 5,600 rpm and 350 Nm at 2,400 to 3,600 rpm.

GALLERY: 2016 Subaru Forester 2.0i-P at the Bangkok Motor Show

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 07, 2016 at 5:05 pm

This car is so expensive. Is this what Azalina means by Government has reduced prices? Rm155k before OTR. After OTR, about RM160k?

What happened to Najib’s promise to reduce car prices?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • subaluuuu on Apr 07, 2016 at 5:16 pm

Motorimage brings the N/A engine so customer can purchase compared to XT which are more expensive compared to the local assembled Forester.

• 160k version is 30% cheaper than 210k version. So means najib has fulfilled his promise here. Next!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Airbag guy on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:55 pm

Haha that’s funny. Anyone want to pointed out the 7 airbag?

• OMG…seriously look boring and outdated for the rear design and interior (copy XV?)…The front look OK.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Apr 07, 2016 at 5:10 pm

The LED at bumper look ah beng.

• Ongtk on Apr 07, 2016 at 5:20 pm

It’s already in the showroom!

• Sub Shite on Apr 07, 2016 at 5:42 pm

It can be crowned as one ugly suv.

• car kaki on Apr 07, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Muniandy, don’t worry about the price. The subaluuu dealers are well known for their discounts. Shop around and show the discounts you get to the next dealer and they will out do each other. They will lelong till you happy. My colleague just bought one XV. Final discount RM3800 plus lots of free gifts.

• Airbag guy on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:58 pm

True. Don’t buy yet. Wait for price to drop. One thing for sure the facelift XV gonna be cheaper after this. I mean, why take a 137k XV when u can get base forester with 7 airbag by adding 6k more?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 07, 2016 at 11:05 pm

just last year subaru xv sales got hit so hard by kia sportage, crv and mazda cx5….and now hrv….they were selling at 89k before insurance….now they go jack up price for facelift….i know its a well engineered car with awd….but sorry la for 132k…i can get fully imported 6 airbags cx3 or other cars for less

• Tamau itu macam on Apr 07, 2016 at 6:14 pm

instead of cars getting cheaper….nowadays everything becoming expensive.

Even susu tepung for babies are GST-ed…..

• wtfsubaru on Apr 07, 2016 at 6:17 pm

I never knew subaru designers could make uglier designs than the ones they already have…
    This is so effing ugly it makes the BLM look more subaru haha

• Airbag guy on Apr 07, 2016 at 11:01 pm

I think their target is customer with 2-3 children added 7 airbag as safety feature.

• Kancil Hybrid on Apr 07, 2016 at 6:34 pm

Wait until 2018 la. Azalina tomboy said 30% car price reduction by that time. XT become RM140k.

• subaru’s design is always unique…what matter most is the awd all symmetrical system that they have which make subaru’s handling excellent with stability while driving in rough terrain..i actually like the design of forester though…i’m owning xv and so far…very very satisfied.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Gojira on Apr 08, 2016 at 7:33 pm

Please lar. 99% of subaru owners are city slickers. Got snow? Got mud? I guess the only time you engage awd probably when you wanna climb the curb and park illegally.

Better stability, most sedan and hatch back cars are equipped with stability system nowadays and some are 6 airbags.

• wajib on Apr 08, 2016 at 12:27 am

Just wait for Forester STI performance package like what they did for XV to attract more sales

• xxxxxxx on Apr 08, 2016 at 8:47 am

I love the XT, please reduce 30%

• Why the top photo is mirrored? Using selfie stick?

• Harakiri on Apr 10, 2016 at 8:46 pm

I’ll give 3 out of 5 for design. With such a price offered, Sportage or other SUVs ranging less than RM130k will be the absolute winner with quite similar specs.

• SUVfan on Apr 10, 2016 at 11:35 pm

Sportage
      Price from RM120,888 (2W) – RM139,888
      Engine Type NU 2.0 MPI DOHC DCVVT
      Displacement 1,999 cc
      Bore X Stroke 81mm x 97mm
      Max Power 113 kw (154 ps)/6,200 rpm
      Max Torque 191 Nm (19.5kg.m)/4,700 rpm
      Transmission 6-Speed Automatic with All-Wheel Drive (AWD)
      Fuel Tank Capacity (Liter) 55 liter

• HotWheels on Apr 10, 2016 at 11:48 pm

All-New 2016 Kia Sportage Officially Revealed For The First Time

http://m.carlist.my/news/all-new-2016-kia-sportage-officially-revealed-first-time/19420