Penang government urged to fix broken roads by CAP

Bad-road-2

The Consumers Association of Penang (CAP) has urged the state government to review the quality of road construction works there. Several areas in Penang have been pinpointed by the association for having poorly-built roads that are uneven, rough and considered dangerous.

According to Bernama, CAP president S.M. Mohamed Idris revealed that a recent survey highlighted poor-constructed roads along Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Jalan Thean Teik, Jalan Paya Terubong, Jalan Jelutong, Jalan Perak and Jalan Hutton.

“These damaged roads will endanger road users, especially when Penang is expecting more tourists during the school holidays and festivals,” said the CAP president. “Speedy restoration measures need to be taken to ensure that our roads do not expose road users to any danger.”

second-penang-bridge

Mohamed explained that given the state’s 120% increase in motor vehicles recorded between 2002 and 2012, proper road conditions were vital. He added that contractors must comply with standard operating procedures in carrying out necessary checks to ensure its roads were safe.

Supporting Mohamed’s statements, Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) Civil Engineering and Urban Transport Department deputy senior director, Sabudin Mohd Salleh, said in a previous report that poorly resurfaced roads have been identified as one of the causes of road accidents.

“A study by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research also finds that mishaps are not only due to the human factor but also due to the condition of roads and vehicles,” Sabudin said. He was speaking on the subject of Kuala Lumpur becoming a pothole-free city by 2017.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• kereta_lembu on Apr 12, 2016 at 1:35 pm

Thank you CAP for highlighting this! The road condition in certain parts of Penang are less that desirable. Potholes are really a nuisance because it can cause damage to vehicles and also cause accidents because road users will have to suddenly slow down or swerve to avoid it. Sometimes this is due to poor planning as sometimes they will dig up newly tarred roads to do some things. And the patch up job after that is usually bad and makes the road uneven. But to be fair, this is not only exclusive to Penang. I believe the overall road condition in Malaysia is not very good. Something needs to be done quickly before someone loses their loved ones because of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Road User on Apr 12, 2016 at 1:35 pm

Can Consumer Association of KL and Selangor come to review the condition of the road in KL and Selangor too? I think it is 10 times worse than the road in Penang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Apr 12, 2016 at 5:52 pm

Be efficient.
      Penang please prove yourself to be Singapore No2.
      Sarawak to be Singapore No3.
      I support you, don’t think I am an onmumcamcimacai.

KL, please don’t become Bangladesh No2. Your home, and you don’t take care. Or you want to shift the whole megacity to Putrajaya, where no Bangla is allowed there in future?

• In PJ is worst…..one-way loop nobody working on

• Jangan persoal Party Hard. Nanti Dear Leader come gag order lu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
  • Kxlim on Apr 12, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Why is Penang targetted? i seriously doubt the condition of roads in KL is any better. The contractors laying fibre network cables or other utilities should be made liable to ensure roads are surfaced properly after work done. Also, MRT construction had also damaged key roads in town that are not repaired after construction is done.. Where is DBKL?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
    • Yes. Why focus only Penang? Is it cuz Opposition? Or izit cuz CAP means Consumer Association of PENANG and not KL or Selangor?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • opposition on Apr 12, 2016 at 6:06 pm

In Penang, BN is the opposition. SM Mohamed Idris talking about things that Penangites is normal. I don’t think roads become well-maintained or not because of which party is holding power. I think it depends on the people holding the power wanting to do their job well or not, or that they just want to look for opportunities to enrich themselves.

• Look who the stooges r running the municipal in Penang. 70% belongs to Party Hard, while 30% from Party Hard-friendly NGOs. Sendri cakap, so of course sendri never wrong lah!

• kukuray on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:43 pm

8 years after pakatan take over they never resurface the jalan pencala road ever again

• penang? pfttt. come to sarawak, then you know what is bad road. no CAP nobody complain.

• Yes, got complain. Got pipu complain Najib wanna gip Sarawak better roads for free.

• Don’t jilat tokong too much. Your saliva really stinks.

What’s wrong is wrong.

• Penang boi on Apr 12, 2016 at 7:14 pm

Guys, try download penang CAT apps from google play or ios apps store. They will reply once u complain and can followup the complain status fr the apps too

• Penang boi on Apr 12, 2016 at 7:15 pm

Able to complain for penang n seberang perai issues also

• Richard Loh on Apr 13, 2016 at 1:34 am

Hello everyone! Which government department is responsible for public roads in the country? Is it not the responsibility of JKR? So JKR is directly under which Ministry’s responsibility? So those roads that CAP highlighted, are they the state’s or the Federal government’s responsibility?

• I went back to Penang once or twice a year. The pothole I came across last year is still there only bigger this year.
    Then I found out not all roads in Penang are under the jurisdiction of State Government. You go figure!