Uber, GrabCar drivers required to get a PSV licence

The Transport Ministry says that as part of the move to regulate ride-sharing services such as Uber and GrabCar, its drivers will be required to obtain a Public Service Vehicle (PSV) licence, Sinar Harian reports.

“We will review, and we will impose similar conditions to Uber and GrabCar as the ones on taxis by the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD). At the same time, this will also provide healthy competition to taxis aside from Uber and GrabCar being able to operate according to SPAD rules,” deputy transport minister Datuk Ab Aziz Kaprawi said.

Abdul Aziz had previously said that these ride-sharing services will be required to purchase the same commercial insurance as regular taxis, but explained that this will only be implemented later in the year once SPAD obtains public feedback.

He was reiterating transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai’s statement earlier in the month that said that the government is studying various issues relating to ride-sharing services, including the necessity for drivers that provide the service to be registered.

Taxi groups have accused SPAD of failing to act against the two ride-sharing services, which they insist have been operating illegally, and the ongoing taxi vs ride-sharing saga has resulted in disgruntled cabbies taking several measures to ensure their voices are heard, and these have included blockade protests.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Want to do business must have commercial licence only fair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • Same L00 on Apr 25, 2016 at 3:16 pm

Typical Malaysian government, trying to milk anything from everything in the market.

• What is the point of the license though?

Pay money to govt pocket only, right? And when roadblock, if no license, then pay money also only right?

• Francis Keng on Apr 25, 2016 at 10:16 am

This will only shut the cab drivers’ mouth temporarily coz customers would still choose uber/grab over taxis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Deadpool on Apr 25, 2016 at 10:19 am

Oh yea, just another stratagy for the government to earn extra money, bloodsuckers. you are going down soon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 46
  • Teks1M on Apr 25, 2016 at 10:29 am

At last we are moving to the right direction. Bravo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
  • Kancil Hybrid on Apr 25, 2016 at 10:42 am

Baru adil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
  • Fair enough. Now taxis cannot complain about unfair treatment. Now we see how the taxi permit holders can put in a system to encourage drivers to improve services to compete with uber/grab.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Adrian on Apr 25, 2016 at 11:18 am

Hi Mr Anthony, did our minister really commented “provide health competition”?

“At the same time, this will also provide health competition to taxis aside from Uber and GrabCar being able to operate according to SPAD rules,” deputy transport minister Datuk Ab Aziz Kaprawi said.

• ADR 1417 on Apr 25, 2016 at 11:20 am

Hi Mr Anthony, did our minister really commented “provide health competition”?

“At the same time, this will also provide health competition to taxis aside from Uber and GrabCar being able to operate according to SPAD rules,” deputy transport minister Datuk Ab Aziz Kaprawi said.

• well I guess this is fair.

• Koizumi on Apr 25, 2016 at 11:49 am

I pity taxi driver who paying MYR60 per day to permit concessaire.

• LeeKowChai on Apr 25, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Why pity them? it is a matter of choice. They can quit and become a grab driver. But they chose to work with the crook and continue to fleece their passenger, refuse passenger to certain destination. They have also chose to keep their taxi smelly and dirty. All they do is just complain but refuse to change.

• Kasi taksi incentive on Apr 25, 2016 at 11:52 am

If everything want to be same like taxi, then SPAD should consider giving this to uber/grab driver :
    1. all grab/uber car also to use NGV
    2. Tax-free vehicle for grab/uber car (same as special price for taxi in malaysia! what? you don’t know? all this taxi/airport limo are sold to company at zero tax!).
    3. Special incentive for 1 Malaysia Tayar program..

can? then only fair lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 25, 2016 at 1:25 pm

Nobody stop u from using NGV lor. U cannot buy car that will be use as Uber/Grab as private car anymore if using same rules. Do you want to lose that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Agree, 75% income from uber will be used to cover fuel, maintanence (average rm0.04/km excluding wear n tear parts) and communication (msg/call or internet). But not sure if taxi also vice versa

• fahmi on Apr 25, 2016 at 12:12 pm

I was a uber driver.

With this, I probably quit from being a uber driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • kazanixm on Apr 25, 2016 at 2:33 pm

You was an uber driver

With this, you want to quit from uber driver.

Dude, are you stoned or what?
      Did you stopped from being uber driver or not?

Make up your mind

• Megane on Apr 25, 2016 at 12:41 pm

Great . All current taxi drivers should migrate to become Uber and Grab car drivers and avoid paying the blood sucking daily permits . Soon the crony taxi companies can go bust . Then the government will ban Uber and Grab car in no time .

• aBg_rOnGak on Apr 25, 2016 at 2:49 pm

I’m just afraid they still retain their bad behaviour etc…Then Uber’s/Grabcar’s name would be tainted.

• Puuchi on Apr 25, 2016 at 12:42 pm

This is fair to both parties. But regardless, people would choose uber due to its fair rate and much comfortable ride.

Everything has competition, yes, it may be rough for those really nice cabbies who is living off this income alone, but i assure you, those nice ones will continue on receiving the same customers or new satisfied ones so he would still be ok.

Out with the other money hogging drivers!

• if the list of uber/grabcar drivers from the licence database falls into the wrong hands…easy target to take one by one

• Ahmadjr on Apr 25, 2016 at 1:17 pm

If I’m a taxi driver, I am will jump to be uber/grab driver. My coworker already earn 1000+ doing part time

• velanthiran on Apr 26, 2016 at 5:39 pm

Hi,

I think it is good move but that should not stop there Minister. It should be these:-
    1. Get UBER & GRAB drivers to obtain PSV license
    2. Get their car to go Puspakom inspection
    3. Get them wear that pathetic white shirt that you gave to taxi driver to wear
    4. Get them to use Malaysian model car
    5. Fix meter on those car also.

Then only we can compare apple to apple and create healthy competition.

• Oi, all cars used by uber and grab are new cars inspected by puspakom at point of purchase. New cars bro. Creating healthy competition means competing with different service offering or better values whilst following the law. Making to competing companies APE one another is NOT healthy competition. Doink

• Khairi on Jun 04, 2016 at 7:23 pm

i agree with the psv license, and puspakom checks. safety is good. i wouldn’t mind. i see nothing wrong with the shirts – atleast you don’t have to worry what to wear every day and they make you look acceptable and professional. not all taxi vehicles are malaysian models and if so – good, the maintenance and parts wouldn’t be expensive. putting a meter is nonsense, we have a far more concise payout, tracking and navigation system – transparent and reliable… no more “meter rosak!” mentality. please do not push away competition and be close minded. my father-in-law is a taxi driver, and i am an uber partner. what i hope to see is the option for ‘hybrid insurance’ policies where we are able to apply and pay for safety extensions as a peoples’ carrier.

• if the Uber driver is illegal, but legal taxi driver hit illegal driver is it legal?