Ride-sharing services should be banned, not licenced; SPAD should focus on our welfare – taxi drivers

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 6

While the authorities are seeking to find a peaceful solution to the “ride-sharing vs taxi” saga, a group of taxi drivers are looking to the government to ban Uber and Grab services totally, and not legalise them at all.

In a report by The Malay Mail, the Klang Valley Taxi Drivers Action Committee said the government is “wrong” to make it mandatory for Uber and GrabCar drivers to obtain a Public Service Vehicle (PSV) licence, when they have been allowed to operate freely without them. Last week, deputy Transport Minister Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi said the ministry is reviewing the move as a means to legalise ride-sharing services in the country.

“The government said they will review Uber, we do not want to hear that. If they are legal or illegal, say it,” said the committee’s president Zailani Isa Usuluddin. “Do not say you will give them licence, this is wrong. Do not fool us! We are directing this message to Aziz Kaprawi.”

Taxi drivers protest jalan bukit bintang 4

In a related matter, the Malaysian Taxi Drivers Transformation Association (PERS1M) said that the thousands of unresolved complaints against taxi drivers is a sign that transport regulators are in over their heads to consider they can enforce the proposed PSV licensing requirements for ride-sharing services.

“If SPAD cannot act on this issue (taxi drivers disciplinary problems), how are they going to act on these Uber and GrabCar drivers should they not take the PSV licence?” said PERS1M vice president Kamaruddin Mohd Hussain. “What if Uber and GrabCar refuse to follow to this? Will SPAD (Land Public Transport Commission) take any action on them? Because I doubt that would happen.”

He also criticised the authorities for considering that the proposed licensing requirement would relieve the anger that disgruntled taxi drivers have against Uber and Grab. He added that the authorities had ignored over 33,000 applications for taxi permits, and that they should focus on the welfare of existing taxi drivers rather than the “plight” of these kereta sapu drivers.

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 1

Kamaruddin also condemned the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) for releasing the results of an online survey that revealed over 80% of public transport users preferred Uber and GrabCar to conventional taxis. “SPAD should have gone down to meet the people and not conduct an online survey. How do you know if the respondents are not planted?” he questioned.

Taxi drivers are crying foul over the operations of ride-sharing services, where they claim are competing unfairly as they are not bound by any legal requirements. The ongoing fiasco has resulted in not just legal action being taken against ride-sharing providers, but also street protests that incurred massive traffic jams in the city.

What are your thoughts on the matter? Should the authorities focus on resolving the woes of current taxi drivers before attempting to regulate ride-sharing services in the country? Or should these services be outright banned? Let us know in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sewel on Apr 28, 2016 at 1:59 pm

Ubah perangai korg abg driver taxi..br bleh maju..bkn buat mcm ni..kalau perangai mcm dlu jgk..uber n etc akan sentiasa di depan

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 1
    • aBg_rOnGak on Apr 28, 2016 at 2:46 pm

Nak buat macam mana? Dah nasib badan, benak macam tuu…

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:14 pm

Bunch of lazy fools. This what happens when you charge RM300 to a white man for a teksi ride from KL Sentral to KLCC at 10 am in the morning. This is what you call karma.

Malaysian teksi drivers have lots of dosa ie sin. For years, most of them (not all) but 90% of them were cheating Mat Sallehs with exorbitant pricing. Every Mat Salleh who has ever sat foot in Malaysia has got cheated from these idiots.

Besides that they all cheat Malaysians. Most of them modify their meters. It runs faster. Most Malaysians kena double charge all the time. Then, you have the clowns who don’t use meter and just drive away.

I have seen a pregnant mother carrying another baby in her hand asking the teksi driver for a ride. the guy said “Tak pergi sana, banyak jam” and drove off before the lady closed her door.

Now it is karma. A bigger karma is the fact that 90% of teksi drivers are promoting KL as the sex city of Asia. They all receive commissions from pimps and brothel owners when they bring clients to them. Every single male passenger has been asked “Mahu perempuan?”

Now, pay for your sins.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 3
        • WT Fuchhh on Apr 28, 2016 at 7:58 pm

Want to jaga welfare, jagalah orang miskin…..not a bunch of Robber’s like the public taxis.

• squall_shinoda on Apr 29, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Totally agreed bro.

We do have an ex-MAS pilot who becomes a successful taxi driver. While most other taxi drivers treat passengers like trash, the ex-pilot treats his passengers like in an aeroplane. That’s how he can make money while most other taxi drivers are losing money.

Even the late Mr. Os was also a successful taxi driver. He could even pay zakat from his earnings as a taxi driver. How can Mr. Os and the ex-pilot make money from being taxi drivers while others cannot…? They can make money from being taxi drivers because they love their job and have a huge passion in it. They put their hearts in their job, not like those other heartless taxi drivers out there. They don’t have love and passion in their jobs and treat their passengers like shit. That’s why most taxi drivers in KL are losing their customers.

• Black Dog on Apr 28, 2016 at 2:51 pm

My opinion, TAXI should be BAN in Malaysia because they are giving our country a bad name!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 1
      • ProtonGSC on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:57 pm

What’s the problem with shared ride… my friend fetch me home and I “belanja” him/her tips can’t ah??? Lousy taxi gangsters bodo !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • HAHAHAHAHA… Welfare? Your argument is flawed from the ground up. If I have a restaurant and another guy opens a more popular one beside me, I demand that he be shut down because he’s eating into my profits.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 1
  • wankj on Apr 28, 2016 at 2:21 pm

Teksi Jilake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • Remus on Apr 28, 2016 at 2:22 pm

So sad to see that these taxi drivers are not aware of what they can do to improve. Instead they want to continue making noise and curse. The smart ones are already using Grab or Uber. Obviously these “protesters” are not so well educated on the matter/cause they are fighting for.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
    • ikan bilis on Apr 28, 2016 at 4:46 pm

the real culprit is the taxi company, not the drivers, if the license are issue to individual, wont have this problem, this rent-seeking strategy is applied everywhere in bolehland that ransom the driver, and passenger, thats why we have so many ganster drivers NOT being caught.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Diesel-Power!!! on Apr 28, 2016 at 11:42 pm

To solve this issue, i suggest SPAD shld consider:
        A. Allow individual permit application for taxi.
        B. Cooperate with P1 /P2 to come with a low mthly installment for vehicle use as taxi so no need rent from anyone. And provide trade in scheme for cars older than 7 years old.
        C. UBer/Grabcar must include taxi as well to the fleet. To create a healthy competition between private owner & taxi.
        D. Compulsory etiquette & manners class must be attend by the taxi /uber driver.

Like that all can cari makan..no need argue..

• Wee fuk yew on Apr 29, 2016 at 1:09 am

I disagree with your opinion. Whilst taxi companies may or may not contribute towards some of the problem being faced by the drivers, it does not force them to cheat or be rude to passengers. These type of behaviour rests squarely with the drivers themselves. If its such a hassle to drive for a taxi company,theres always a choice for them to be a lorry, bus or a personal driver. Ample vacancies exists unless you are truly lazy good for nothing always complaing about how unfair the world is to you.

• lol. just lol

• Wrong!

SPAD should focus on the welfare of road users and general public.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
  • Screw the taxi drivers la. They should just buck up instead of wasting time rallying here & there. The reason why the rakyat turn to Uber or Grab is of their own doing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
  • I’m an Indian. But looking at these people in the pictures even i myself would be afraid of taking rides with them. I mean c’mon uber drivers are so friendly we can even have nic conversations with them. These taxi drivers look like they just wanna mug you and not give you any service or whatsoever.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 1
    • waters on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Nothing to do with being Indian, bro. Taxi drivers suck. It cuts across race!
      I will never-ever step into a taxicab.

If Uber and Grab go away, I’ll drive. So the taxis are not losing customers to Uber/Grab. It was never their customers from the start!!!

There is no way anyone who has used Uber/Grab once would ever even think about using a taxi.

Never give money to taxi drivers. They don’t deserve a penny!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Hapuskan teksi di Malusial on Apr 28, 2016 at 2:38 pm

Benci pemandu teksi, kebanyakan samseng dan gangster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Anti Public Taxi on Apr 28, 2016 at 2:42 pm

oi ubah lah perangai busuk engkau dulu la, dah lama aku sabar dgn perangai si si taxi yg mcm gangster ni.. kalau tak boleh ubah, buat la kerja lain, jgn kacau rakyat

• Cheah on Apr 28, 2016 at 2:49 pm

Those taxi drivers looked like and acted like gangsters. Do you dare to sit inside the car of those gangsters? Especially if you are a lady.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • rockybalboa on Apr 28, 2016 at 2:54 pm

Taxi driver or thug?

• LittleMin on Apr 28, 2016 at 3:00 pm

So they thought ban Uber and Grabcar then the public will choose to take taxi…..

BODOH peh KAMBING.

• dodgeviper88 on Apr 28, 2016 at 3:16 pm

Haha Grabcar/Uber is technically legal, if not they would be banned long time ago. They are still having the same rent-seeking mentality, no wonder they are so scared of Grabcar/Uber. Wonder when they’ll ever get it

• Stupid taxi drivers…u wan ur welfare to been take k off den u shud think for urself too how to improve ur services…not always ask for welfare without doing anyting…it seem like u al taxi drivers like ORANG CACAT (OKU)

• Improve service to get support.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 28, 2016 at 3:26 pm

Like if wanna show them how a middle finger looks like!

• alldisc on Apr 28, 2016 at 3:34 pm

To all taxi drivers. You should unite. And, we all know u cannot afford to buy new cars to become uber driver.

Let me suggest. 10,000 of you can combine to set up a co-op, under kementerian koperasi or something like that. Each contribute rm1,000 as a member of the koperasi. The collection can comes up to 10 million ringgit. With that, you can buy 40 new myvi, 40 new persona, 40 Almera, 40 Saga flx etc either cash, lease of hire purchase. Some of these cars can be used as uber. Some as grab cars. Drivers can take turn to use the cars. Some maybe 6 hours in the morning… Some perhaps 5 hours in the evening.

With 10 million ringgit can buy 250 new cars at 40k each. Or create a facility to buy 1,000 new cars every 3 month. Koperasi is safer than a sdn bhd company with lower risks.

Do not entertain the greedy permit holders anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • The main problem here is not about the vehicle but the drivers themselves. I have taken taxis that are rundown but the driver was earning an honest wage. Getting news vehicles while maintaining existing attitude will change nothing.

• azrai on Apr 28, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Banned those UBER & GRAB driver. Instead, use the UBER & GRAB app for taxis. It should work this way like MyTaxi before. I agree with the fact in our country law, the UBER + GRAB is not deemed illegal since it is just an app (just like ulat or broker), but the driver of private car use as taxi sapu is unlawful. They don’t have PSV, they are not licensed to bring people with payment, and lastly they are not insured against anything. Even PIAM have their says on this. I believe insurance company won’t compensate UBER + GRAB driver if they met with an accident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 49
    • Karthig on Apr 28, 2016 at 10:10 pm

Hi taxi drived, go drive la…dun waste time here.
      ..owait no business

• Ravi Kumar on Apr 28, 2016 at 3:36 pm

Ash, you mean mamak is more like it. By the way, take care of their welfare so that they can continue to screw Joe public?? They deserve what they get.

• the driver on Apr 28, 2016 at 3:42 pm

Our anger to the drivers, no matter what they look like, might be misdirected. In reality, most of the taxis are not owned by the driver but by some consortium that charges high daily rates that forces a number of the drivers to go the way the crooked way. Fix the law to restrict the power of the consortiums and give a fairer deal for the drivers. Enable the drivers to own their own taxis instead or better still, get some of the taxi drivers,… a job. Too many drivers become taxi drivers because there are no other jobs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • waters on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:13 pm

There are drivers who have an individual license. They rent it out to other drivers…charging the same RM50-100 per day as the taxi companies.
      Giving them licenses will not solve the issue.
      They will rent it out…and the driver will then complain that the owner is charging daily rental la, susah nak makan la, mahal la, kena kerja 7 hari la, sakit pun kena byr la…etc.

We will still end up with the same problem.

• RejimKejamGanas on Apr 28, 2016 at 7:58 pm

Then those who rent out their license must face jail time. If they don’t use it, it must be revoked. Enforcement needs to be there and the real drivers must stand up for their rights. Fair laws and enforcement is the only way to put an end to ali baba business.

• kzm (Member) on Apr 28, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Why govt want to ban Uber when they already invest in Uber? Instead taxi might be phase out by govt.

• Latuk BN supporters on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:54 pm

You dont like AP system get out from here… BN only like supporters that follow BN rules and continue pay taxes. BN always care for Rakyat look at the petrol price so cheap !!!! BN dont like talk about car price the end.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • The public have spoken that close to 80% of them prefer Uber and Grab Car. I am sure the majority of us would like you taxi drivers to be banned from providing us shitty rides, shitty mannerism and shitty fare charged.

• Batak on Apr 28, 2016 at 3:55 pm

These issues are blown out of proportion by those individuals.
    The more they strike, less available taxi to take, the less money they make, and more opportunity for grab/uber to pick up passengers.
    Don’t like being a taxi driver with no income and no other skills for other work? Then apply to be Uber/Grab drivers, “jump ship” as they say.

• goonerstoner on Apr 28, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Geng teksi bodo

• tan.poo.keon on Apr 28, 2016 at 4:19 pm

ask 10 people 10 people will hope taxi go down the drain. Malaysian taxi shouldnt exist at all.

• azrai on Apr 28, 2016 at 4:42 pm

To people who put the blame entirely to the taxi’s driver please, put oneself in taxi’s drivers’ shoes. You will know exactly why they are so mad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • No..taxi drivers should be aangry at those cronnies that created taxi license. Why should a taxi driver need to go to a company who has these permits. Taxi permits should be made available directly from the government and individuals can apply for it.

• Confirmed Grabcar is more expensive then uber. Took a grabcar recently, basically a taxi (iswara), condition of the cab was as if it went to hell and back. Drive drove like a rally driver. Even ran through one red light.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:03 pm

Can Paul Tan.Org stop posting such news in a car lovers site. It is already irritating enough seeing it in the news and other medias. We need peace not chaos created by these complete fools

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
  • Cynical on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Hapuskan teksi, we have enough gangster on the road already

• JB_KIA on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:26 pm

plz dun shut down uber/grab…I hate to drive

• Concern Citizen on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Who cares about your bloody welfare? Earn it by providing good service instead of asking no competition.

• Ahmadjr on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:50 pm

Thug life

• Deadpool on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:58 pm

THESE TAXI DRIVERS NEVER BLAME THE PERMIT HOLDER LENDERS, BLOOD SUCKERS CRONIES, INSTEAD OF THAT, THEY BLAME OTHERS FOR PROVIDING GOOD SERVICES. I ACTUALLY AT FIRST PITY TAXI DRIVERS BECAUSE THEY ARE ALSO A VICTIM FROM THOSE BLOOD SUCKERS, BUT NOW LOOK AT THEM, NOT WORTH ANY MERCY, JUST BAN THEM. A STUPID IDIOT STILL GAVE A STATEMENT TAXI COMPANY NO MONEY TO REPAIR THE TAXI CARS, CAN’T MAINTAIN LIKE UBER OR GRABCAR, LIKE SERIOUSLY WTF. THIS IS THEIR ATTITUDE, JUST WANT TO SQUEEZE MORE MONEY OUT OF PEOPLE, AND KEEP BLAMING OTHERS, NEVER SELF IMPROVE BUNCH OF FOOLS.

• tokmoh. on Apr 28, 2016 at 6:51 pm

And they claimed these badly maintained taxi are safe, but the tiptop maintained uber/grabcar is dangerous.

Sure.

• Sarjit Singh on Apr 28, 2016 at 6:13 pm

That fist in the air reminisce something evil…

• Need to be fair on Apr 28, 2016 at 6:42 pm

Everything need to be fair. We all like Uber and Grab. I use it myself. But in my heart this is not a fair competition as the licence taxi driver need to pay all mandatory extra cost while the Uber and Grab dont have to. So I think either government ebolish all taxi licence from the lintah darat consortium and let them join the Uber and Grab or the government must regulate Uber and Grab, in other words Uber and Grab car also need to pay the same licence and necessary cost as the taxi. Then only it will be fair playing field. Then you all competelah.

• waters on Apr 29, 2016 at 2:05 pm

Ya, but the cab drivers want uber/grab banned, not regulated.
      They know that even on a level playing field, they’re still gone!

• crash on Apr 28, 2016 at 7:31 pm

If you cannot survive driving taxi, then go take E license and drive bus for RapidKL instead. RapidKL has too many buses but not enough drivers.

• Taxi from Calcutta on Apr 28, 2016 at 7:32 pm

Why don’t they get their “caring” majikan to create an app for local taxi drivers. Then everybody can see if these taxi drivers are up to the task. My bet is they will still complain without improving their service one single bit.

• Pondan on Apr 28, 2016 at 8:03 pm

Ubah la… Join uber atau grab… Buat apa stick on with the looser.

Unless, u r the cronies gang

• Donald Tramp on Apr 28, 2016 at 8:08 pm

Losers always blame others, and used by smarter people for their own agenda

• dude! Majority rules!

• Malaysian boyz on Apr 28, 2016 at 11:11 pm

Hooligan or those no use meter taxi should be ban.

Taxi driver should stop being spoon feed, why need gov to care your welfare when you are cheating ur customer without using meter.
    Look at the mirror before ask so.

• James on Apr 29, 2016 at 3:51 am

Taxi driver you deserve all this…most of you all are super corky and full of cheater and always con people…I have been using Grab car and I will always use Grab car…I ban taxi so long ago. By the way every single time during peak hours 9 out of 10 will never use meter. Anyone don’t believe me pls test it especially weekday after work or raining time. You will never get a cab or of u r lucky to get you must go through the 2 term from them 1. No meter 2. Location if location one hulu place dream on they will pick u up. Anyone can try this because I’m sick and tired of bunch of taxi driver in Klang Valley. I will get more people to boikot you taxi driver

• Anonymous on Apr 29, 2016 at 9:17 am

If government allow taxi to ban share ride providers… Than Apple can ban Samsung, MAS can ban air asia, Proton can ban ALL imported cars, KTM can ban LRT, TM can ban all telco providers, Mcd can ban KFC! A bunch of peoples who lose the ability to compete demand a monopolization of the market. So childish.

• Ben yap on Apr 29, 2016 at 9:36 am

Ban taxi, uber and grab.

Provide more free buses and lower lrt / mrt rates.

Lower car excise and import duty by 70%.

Taxi drivers that lost their jobs can work as toll booth collector or sweepers.

All problem solved.

• Robotcar on Apr 29, 2016 at 11:15 am

This is only the peak of an iceberg, once the autonomous car runs the road, these jokers will be out of job…
    wait…still can be driver for lori or chauffeur.

NOPE, these vehicle will be autonomous too. You can’t even apply for pizza delivery boy, the drones will be doing that.

Time to change, Time to go back to school and learn a new skill, Time for career change

• orang biasa on Apr 29, 2016 at 12:42 pm

share ride to reduce air pollution and traffic jam then i will belanja my rider for “minum makan” with reasonable price. Like this also cannot meh?!

• normal citizen on Apr 29, 2016 at 2:07 pm

always protest here and there, look at your ownself cabbies, your bad attitude makes uber and grab thriving, even uber and grab fare is same as taxi, they still have lotsa passengers, you guys simply doesn’t up on par with them.

• Najib on Apr 29, 2016 at 3:17 pm

Instead of banning ride-sharing services, the public should do mass protest to ban Taxis in Malaysia.

What these drivers don’t realise is that its not UBER or GRAB affecting their livelihood, it;s he whole CRONY Taxi Permit system!

The guys said that he don;t believe the online survey saying 80% ppl prefers the ride sharing apps over taxis. WHY THE HELL NOT? It’s cheaper, safer, more convenient and you don;t have to BARGAIN.

• Alvin on Apr 29, 2016 at 8:57 pm

Uber or grabcar definitely my choice of rides when im in KL… They deserve it!!! way to go uber!! And grabcar!! Kipidap!!

• Dominic on Apr 30, 2016 at 8:38 am

Behaviour issue, reluctant to change and keep up-to-date. Always want to find somebody to help you. You think nowadays the government agency or SPAD will put an assitant. Taxis, please wake up.

• Paulz on Apr 30, 2016 at 10:16 am

If the SPAD are corrupt, so does the taxi drivers.